×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Hawke (Alex Hawke Series #1)
     

Hawke (Alex Hawke Series #1)

4.0 184
by Ted Bell
 

See All Formats & Editions

Lord Alexander Hawke is a direct descendant of the legendary English pirate Blackhawke and highly skilled in the cutthroat's deadly ways himself. While still a boy, on a voyage to the Caribbean, Alex Hawke witnesses an act of unspeakable horror. Hidden in a secret compartment on his father's yacht, Alex sees his parents brutally murdered by three modern-day pirates.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Hawke (Alex Hawke Series #1) 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 184 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Mystery, romance, and great characters, all told my a master storyteller. I loved this book and can't wait for Ted Bell to write another. It really keeps you on the edge of your seat the whole way through.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read 2-3 books a week and I just discovered Ted Bell. The writing is ingenious and the fast paced action keeps you turning the pages. Recommend you read his books in chronological order, since many of the same characters appear in each book.
bvMI More than 1 year ago
A lot like Clive Cussler only slightly more believable. A lot of fun to read but it reaches too far beyond believability to make it a truly great read. The pacing is good and the story keeps you involved despite its lack of believability. When shopping for books I tend toward the thicker novels, which is what drew me to this one originally. I did some quick research on the author and the series and settled on this one since it is the first in the Alex Hawke series. The references to the fact that Alex is a direct descendant of the pirate Blackhawke become rather tedious, but it's a good action book nevertheless.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was ahead of its time. It's all about what might happen in Cuba if Fidel was out of the picture. The answer is scary. And so is the book. Wow. Highly recommended!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
For somebody who gulps down a ton of thrillers, which I definitely do, it was a thrill to find a new one. Alex Hawke could be the next James Bond in my book! Just great fun and deeply absorbing too. Like a pirate book for grown-ups. Keep 'em coming!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was beginning to think this whole genre was getting bloated and formula-ridden but this thing kept me riveted and deeply absorbed. It's a new voice and well worth buying. I'd give it six stars just for standing the thriller category on its tin ear!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book had everything. And I thought Johnny Depp was a great pirate! I'm hooked.
Mark-B More than 1 year ago
If you like a good action book that is a series where you can follow the charactors from novel to novel, this is one to read. Ted Bell was recommended to me as an author. Since reading this first book, "Hawke", I am now into book 5. I like how the author brings out the humanity in his charactors and how he combines some present day and historical facts into his writing. I'm Hooked.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Great fun in the english spy tradition, Hawke was transporting and a delight. Most appreciated were a flawed hero and a believable love interest. A coup by Cuban generalissimos was credible and timely...Alex Hawke is a modern day Captain Blood and heralds (one hopes) the beginning of a long and exciting saga. Definitely recommend.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Just kept me up all night long and thrilled, not just with the story but the idea that here is a new guy on the scene who hopefully will be around for a long time to come! The whole idea of a coup in Cuba and that it rapidly gets a whole lot worse in a post-Castro world is plausible and there is plenty of detail to make it credible too. A new hero to root for, finally, by a killer storyteller!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Whoa. Whoever said Alex Hawke is the new James Bond got that right! This thriller made my summer! Hawke goes to the Caribbean with an unforgettable cast of characters and confronts a villain to die for. Slam-bang action from the get- go. When's the movie coming out? Think Johnny Depp the pirate in a Savile Row suit. Hey, JD, call your agent!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Actor/voice performer John Shea has said, 'When I read a role, I try to find something I can bring to the role and something that the role can bring to me. Something that I don't know anything about and that the character can teach me.' Such in depth study and exploration of a character is obvious in his commanding reading of Ted Bell's debut action/adventure 'Hawke.' Directly descended from the notorious English pirate Blackhawke, Lord Alexander Hawke knows a lot about seafaring, and a bit about skullduggery himself. As a child he witnessed a horrific scene - the brutal murder of his parents aboard their yacht. Hidden in a compartment the boy was privy to the brutality of the crime and the identity of the killers. As an adult and one of the most decorated heroes in England, Hawke returns to the Caribbean waters where his parents were slain. He's on a secret mission for the U.S. government - find a Soviet built experimental sub carrying 40 nuclear warheads before there is mass destruction. Is there any connection between the criminals controlling the sub and the murderers of Blackhawke's parents? Those with a taste for seagoing adventure and international intrigue will find 'Hawke' much to their liking.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Lord Alex Hawke was seven when he witnessed the brutal murder of his parents in the Caribbean. It haunts the courageous Royal Navy commander the rest of his life. It also drives him to become a deadly, bigger than life hero in a time when most heroes are getting smaller than life. Set in the islands, and modern day Cuba, action, romance, even humor keep the pages turning deep into the night. A great cast of supporting characters and evil Cuban villains. Best adventure thriller in years. Wow. Double wow.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Seven-year-old Alex Hawke is with his parents on their yacht when his father suddenly takes him into a secret room and tells him to hide. The pirate brothers, (Manso, Juanito, and Carlos) demand the treasure map that the pirate Blackhawke made before his hanging three centuries ago. They claim that BlackHawke stole the gold from their ancestor. They torture, rape and kill the Hawkes but fail to obtain the map, which is with Alex in the secret room. Alex blocks out the tragedy and much of the first seven years of his life. He becomes a powerful and wealthy adult who does intelligence work for the British and the American governments. The de Herrera siblings become a force in the Cuban government having access to millions of dollars. They buy a stealth submarine from the Russians that is virtually undetectable and carries forty nuclear warheads. The trio obtains a biological weapon that they sneak into Guantanemo Bay, which they intend to use if the Americans don¿t vacate the base and lift the embargo. The Americans use intelligence gathered by Alex to make war plans but it is his destiny to have the final showdown with the men who killed his parents. Move over James Bond, Lord Alex Hawke is on the scene and he is more realistic, believable and personable than Ian Fleming¿s character ever was. This is an action adventure thriller with the emphasis on action. There is no chance readers will ever feel ennui reading Hawke, a twenty first century pirate novel that takes place on the high seas and in a Cuba where Castro¿s control is waning. Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the second novel I have read by Ted Bell. Just as the first one,it was difficult to put down, but at the same time, I had to put it down in order to absorb the details and take a deep breath from the tension. The book has everything-romance, mystery,adventure and so much more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My favorite king of thriller. It was exciting AND FUN. I was a little disappointed at the beginning because Mr Bell gives a lot of background and you really do need this background. The book is long and has a lot of great characters(funny, smart, brave). It was a great read for me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I kept thinking of James Bond, but it was a riveting read. I couldn't put it down for the final few chapters. I am looking forward to the next book in the series.
gardengirl1 More than 1 year ago
I read this first one years ago, but wanted to have it on my nook. I reread it and enjoyed it as much as the first time I read it. I love all his books!!
bookfanaticLA More than 1 year ago
Came upon this author by accident and I received quite a pleasant surprise. I loved this book and can't wait to get to reading the rest of the Alex Hawke series. What a great character and what a wonderful story. Loved it! And look forward to reading more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Makes me want to go back and read all the Alex Hawke series.
KinTX More than 1 year ago
This first book of the series got me hooked and I had to read the second book Assassin (Alex Hawke Series #2). Exciting and fun.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Extremely entertaining and enjoyable book. Would like to see a series built around Hawke. Will certainly look for additional books by Mr. Bell!
iscabibble More than 1 year ago
Ted Bell meanders. His attempts to make Alex Hawke "Bond like" fall short. Way short. And the story line is often lost behind the excessive delving into Hawke's impossible background. More suited to fantasy than fiction. Bell is no Fleming. Hawk is no Bond. Skipped through much of the superfluous dialog and still found it boring. Save your money.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So many things bothered me about this book. I couldn't finish it, I could only suspend my disbelief so much for this James Bond wannabe. Check out Lee Childs Jack Reacher series of Vince Flynn's Mitch Rapp series if you want a good thriller series with characters you can suspend your disbelief for.
MSMI6 More than 1 year ago
Ted Bell is an average writer. He is better than some, but nowhere near my top 5 or 10. However, I have read every book in this series and will eagerly purchase the next release. The character of Alex Hawke is very likable and I find myself wanting to know in which direction his life will turn next. His companions are all genuinely likable as well, save a few. The main problem with Bell's writings is that he follows very stereotypical guidelines when creating dialog between the characters. Stokely Jones speaks very "ghetto" despite being very intelligent and having been a Navy Seal and NYPD Detective. Hawke's closest companion Congreve is also pigeonholed as a "pip pip cheerio" Brit. I also find that bell sometimes includes information that has no relevance what so ever on the plot, setting the scene, or establishing mood. That being said, Bell is not a bad writer per se, and you too will find yourself rooting for Hawke.