×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

He Came to Set the Captives Free
     

He Came to Set the Captives Free

3.5 106
by Rebecca Brown
 

See All Formats & Editions

For seventeen years, Elaine served her master, Satan, with total commitment. Then she met Dr. Rebecca Brown, who served her master, Jesus Christ, with equal commitment. Elaine, one of the top witches in the U.S., clashed with Dr. Brown, who stood against her alone. In the titanic life-and-death struggle that followed, Dr. Brown nearly lost her life. Elaine, finding a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

He Came to Set the Captives Free 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 106 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The deffinition of ignorace is "The condition of being uneducated, unaware, or uninformed." (The American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, Fourth Edition Copyright © 2000 by Houghton Mifflin Company) That is exactly what this author, or rather, this book, is. To assume that what you hear from everybody, ANYbody is right is sense less and asinine. And for those of you who claim that this book is for the open-minded only are contradicting yourselves. This books very nature is closed-mindedness and fear. Witches donot belive in Satan, or any devil for that matter. I Suggest doing some actual research on Wicca and Witchcraft before you jump to anymore false conclusions.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I did not want to give this book any stars. I am saddened once again to see my religon represented by someone who obviously knows nothing about Wicca. It is a life affirming religon, and just for the record, we do not acknowlege Satan. That is a Judeo/Xtian belief. I just wish that those who write books would talk with those who have an accurate idea of the subject. This book is written by someone who obviously jumped off the sanity wagon and decided to blame something else for her bad choices. To put it into Xtian terms, she is bearing false witness against her neighbor. I believe that is a commandment. So, by doing this how much of a Xtian is she?
Guest More than 1 year ago
Sad. Sad and paranoid. This woman clearly has no idea what she is talking about. For instance, do any of you born again people realize that Satanists don't torture people? That causing harm in any way goes against the religious morals of most pagans? The list goes on and on. If you have a need to demonize a group of people, for God's sake, at least know what they do. Otherwise, you make yourself sound like a complete moron. If I could give this book negative stars, I would.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you are truly attempting to follow Christ; and especially if someone you love is in bondage to satan and his kingdom, this book will be the beginning of a journey that will forever change your life. The first time I read it, I didn't believe all of it. The second time I read it, after spending a lot of time learning about the Lord, more was revealed to me. The third time I was given a glimpse into the very real world of spiritual warfare. This book WILL show you a new path. Pray for the understanding that God is ready for you to have, then prepare to read cover to cover. You WON'T want to put it down, unless it's to take notes.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was a real help. Some of the situations presented in this book I've faced in my everyday life, but never realized the cause for them,now after reading this book my eyes are now opened and I'm alert, watching for my adversary. I recommend it to everyone,who is willing to fight for the crown of victory in Jesus. Read it prayerfully.
Guest More than 1 year ago
What a remarkable fairy tale. How these works can be put on the shelf and anyone of sane and sound mind could view this book as anything other than a loose mix of nonimaginative fiction and superstition is quite beyond me. Werewolves. Vampires. 'Bride of Satan'. This book should be on the shelf next to Harry Potter. What a fantasy.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The author presents a rather fantastic tale of worldwide power brokerage, arms dealing and marriage to the devil that a critical reader will find hard to swallow. It seems this book should be categorized as religious fiction, especially since there is abundant journalistic reporting available on the Internet to support this conclusion.
Guest More than 1 year ago
THIS BOOK IS THE BEST BOOK ON SPIRITUAL WARFARE EVER WRITTEN. DR. BROWN GIVES SO MUCH INFORMATION TO HELP IN OUR SPIRITUAL WALK WITH GOD. THE VERSE IN THE BIBLE THAT SAYS MY PEOPLE PARISH BECAUSE OF LACK OF KNOWLEDGE IS SO TRUE AFTER READING THIS BOOK. IF YOU HAVE NOT READ IT I RECOMMEND YOU TO READ IT TODAY. THERE ARE SOME CURSES TO BE BROKEN SO GET STARTED.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Had any of this actually been true it would have grabbed national media attention and had every law enforcement agency slobbering to solve the case and make the careers of several agents or detectives. It is an entirely fictional and frankly horrible story of hatred for anything different. If the story's 'lessons' are to be believed then no one, including tthe writer or any christian can be anything but a satanist. It is ludicris and fails to acknowledge any reality except the writers dark and oppresive paranoia. It gives christianity a horrendously bad name and should not be read with even an iota of seriousness or respect. For a work of fiction, I can forgive alot, but this definitely the single worst book I've read this year.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
No this not a good book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
*sigh* I am very sad that a person could have such a vendetta against an entire group of people that she would publish so hateful a work on them. Wiccans/Witches are very kind people. Their magick does not harm others. Quite a number of them are vegetarians so as not to harm animal life. They do not believe in Satan. They worship a god and a goddess because they see both male and female aspects in nature, and male and female spirits are definately not the same. It is truly unfortunate and disappointing that such a work could be published and believed. But, fellow pagans, do not take this to be a representation of Christians as a whole! They are kind and loving people, as we are. Sadly, a few are really misled.
falstaff1962 More than 1 year ago
Is there a way to give something negative stars? Bigoted garbage at its worst.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Being a Christian myself, I find this book to be a prime example of the self-glorifying, narcissistic, behavior that runs all too rampant throughout Christian religions today. I found the absence of accuracy and obvious lack of research into the main subject of the book to be sad and laughable. This kind of obviously blatant attack on and refusal to understand someone else's strongly held beliefs is one reason why we Christians are so vilified today, and why we find such opposition from people even to listen to what we are saying. After all, would you Christians out there who believe in this kind of hopped-up faith bashing, really want to talk religion with a Pagan or a Satanist or a Wicca (all different religions by the way) who had already made up his/her mind that Christianity (your RELIGION) is the worst possible offense there could possible be, and you are evil incarnate for believing in it? You'd be better off just throwing this book in the trash and reading something that accurately portrayed non-Christian beliefs. That way, you'd be better prepared to have, at worst, a friendly debate, and not turn them off all together with bigotry, scorn and just plain ignorance. Don't judge, listen.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Witches do not even believe in Satan, he is a primarily Christian deity and they are the ones who give him credit and power, NOT Wiccans. Whoever wrote this is very uneducated, misinformed and ignorant of the truth. Just one more example of the spread of hate, prejudice and fear in the name of God.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Wow!!! I found this really offensive. I did not like it at all. Probably the worst read in a long long time. That is a huge insult considering I read 60-70 books a year.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is truly amazing. I've read some of the reviews that were left by people who don't believe in the Lord saying that 'Christians' should not even think about the devil. You know what's funny? That's what Satan wants you to do. The Lord, Jesus Christ is real and so is the devil. We have to put our faith in the Lord to overcome the devil, which is what this book talks about. There are satanists out there and we need Christ to overcome them and the devil. The book is great. It shows in the end, Christ always lands on top and the devil will get what he deserves. The question is, 'who will you follow?'
Guest More than 1 year ago
Can I quote the Bible here? 'Assuredly I say to you, I have not found such great faith, not even in Israel!' (Matthew 8:10) Jesus said this after having met a PAGAN Roman centurion. Jesus had countless quotes about LOVING-KINDNESS (sound familiar?) to everybody. Including Pagans. Satanism is something different. True Satanism probably doesn't exist. But Jesus's path is not the One True Way. And people of other faiths REALLY don't like it if you advertise your beliefs. I was Christian but this attitude about converting the whole world pushed me out. See? It works both ways.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
How much more ignotant can you christians be. Most of us left your gaith to begin with because wr know more about it than you do. Ihave a minor in theology, have tead the bible cover to cover at least six times, and left the church because of what I know. WE leave you slone,we don't proselytize and we wish you well in your choden path. Try doing the dame thinh.
Cerridwyn More than 1 year ago
I dont even have to read it to know that it is a book of nonsence surrounded in ignorance. Witchcraft in the sense that this book portrays it in just the discription is a pure Lie. Those whom do follow the pagan religions and or actually perform witchcraft are nothing like what is portrayed in this book. They are peace loving folk who believe in the idea of "harm none". I am sure that as with any religion their are some scicopaths that have performed a bad act or two and claimed it was witchcraft...but they are rare and far inbetween...unlike christians who throughout history have perfomed horrible acts of murder, torture, and other mortifying acts in the name of their gods. I still to often see horrid actions by "good christian folk" who then go back and ask for forgivness so they can do it again guiltfree. Jeese and they point fingers at us. How any "christian" could wright a pack of lies like this and not be fearing for thier own soul is beyond me? Remember Judge Not?
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is not meant to encourage people who are practicing witchcraft. It's meant to open your eyes up to what the Bible says about witchcraft and to guide those who wish to turn from a life ending in Hell for eternity to a life ending in everlasting life for eternity. It is in essence, an argument for why someone kept captive by Satan should instead start serving Christ and therefore God to experience freedom.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I think this book is nothing much but fiction. People dont really unnderstand the real meanings of Wicca. Its not Devil worshipping. None of that at all. So this book is mostly just based on opions and not facts about Wicca.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Ok folks... The problem with this book and the countless others like it is that, like most ideas Christians have about Pagan religions, the information isn't based on what practitioners of religions such as Wicca say about themselves, what they believe and hold true but is, rather, what Christians SAY they believe and hold true. THAT IS A HUGE HUGE DIFFERENCE. When I finally see a book where the Christian author has actually learned what Wiccans and other Pagan religions believe and base their book upon these actual facts from 'the horses mouth' so-to-speak I will have a LOT more respect for the book and the author even if I don't actually agree with the author's point of view. I won't be holding my breath, sadly. That being said...I don't have ANY respect at all for this book or the author.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book and was surprise at how little people know about Wicca and/or paganism. It also made me question why a religion (christianity) would teach its followers to cry out McCarthyism about anyone who does not believe in what christianity believes. Isn't that teaching its followers to hate, fear and pity other people for being 'below(differnt from)' them. I mean how just, and/or pure is that? I mean the creator gave us all freewill and a conscience, just because he/she didn't guide me to where he/she 'guided' you, doesn't mean that I'm not a good person, it just means he/she has different life plans for me. I think Christians/Catholics need to stop hating , fearing, and trying to control other people, because as far as I'm concerned fear, hate and control are not pure and 'holy' thoughts or actions. I'm very proud to be in a belief system that teaches me to follow my God given gut instinct, it helps me to take resposibility for my own action and to stop blaming others (who are different than me) for the worlds problems. :-)
Guest More than 1 year ago
it makes me so sad to read such a prejudice outlook on people! I feel that the Lord must be greatly saddened by all the hatred that this book holds! Witches are not Satanists... they do not believe in Satan. Though they may not accept our Lord Jesus Christ as their savior, they are peaceful people who do us no harm. (there are always exceptions - in EVERY religion)! If a person calls themself a witch and does harm to others, then he/she is not really a witch. (Any harm done to another goes against the 'wiccan rede'). not only is this book full of hate and prejudice, it is not very well written! read the bible again and try to understand the concepts of love, acceptance, and peace!
Guest More than 1 year ago
The author of this book obviously did not do their homework. Satan worshipers and Witches are NOT the same thing. The name witch refers to the Wiccans and Pagans who take oaths to help people as best they can. Witches do NOT worship the devil, they are peaceful people who only look how to make their lives as well as the lives of others better.