×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Healing Back Pain: The Mind-Body Connection
     

Healing Back Pain: The Mind-Body Connection

4.0 60
by John E. Sarno
 

See All Formats & Editions

Do you have back, neck, or shoulder pain that keeps recurring or won't go away? Does back pain keep you from living a full life? If so, you may be suffering from TMS (Tension Myositis Syndrome)—and you don't have to take it anymore!

Dr. John E. Sarno is a medical pioneer whose mind-body approach has helped patients overcome their back

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Healing Back Pain 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 60 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think this book will be most helpful for people who have been suffering with back pain for a long period of time (months to years). Most back pain lasts only a short time, and if it persists, you probably either have a really serious medical problem (that is usually obvious) or there are psychological factors involved.

If you've been through the conventional medical system with your back pain for a long time with no satisfaction, have had many physical treatments (such as heat, massage, manipulation, etc.) with no relief, AND have had serious back pain issues ruled out, then I say it would be well worth your while to at least check out this book. While there are true physical causes of back pain that are not psychological, this book will make you think about any stress related issues that could be a part of your pain. Other self-help books I liked include Treat Your Own Rotator Cuff. Good luck!
kgs72 More than 1 year ago
What can I say that everyone here already has? Protruding L5, couldn't sit at work, sit in the car without pain. Then the lists of couldn'ts just kept growing. This book was recommended by my doctor, read it in a couple hours and decided to change my way of thinking. It works! I sit all day at work, I drive, I ski, I go to spinning, I can do anything! If it starts to creep back in, I become aware of my stress levels, talk to myself, breathe, mediatate, and it's gone. Please have an open mind and get this book!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I had chronic lower back pain for about five years. During that time, I sought treatment from chiropractors and MD's. Additionally, my mother and brother are both disabled because of back pain. After reading this book, the pain started to subside and now I can say I'm pain free! I highly recommend this book to anyone that suffers chronic back pain.
The-Write-House More than 1 year ago
This book offers very well presented information into the "real" reasons for back pain as expressed by John Sarno. It provides solid information into the instinctive responses our body goes through during physical and/or emotional stimulus (either positive or negative)and the process into pain. Highly recommended.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Don't buy this book if you have had back pain less than a couple of months or so. Studies clearly show that the majority of people with back pain get better in a month or two- regardless of what kind of treatment they get- its just the nature of back pain. On the other hand, if you're a long-term, chronic back pain sufferer, and have tried many different kinds of back pain treatments without relief, then this book will definitely be worth your while to read. There are definitely links between back pain and psychological issues according to the literature and this is an area that could be well worth your time exploring.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think that anybody with chronic back pain should consider reading this book. The author's approach is somewhat unique, and I was a bit skeptical at first, but as I read it and considered his ideas, believe it or not, my back pain began to lessen. He talks about the mind/body link involving back pain. He attributes ongoing pain to emotional factors, rather than the initial injury. He says that these emotional factors, along with focusing on the pain all the time, keeps your back tense, which keeps it from healing. He advises against back exercises for that same reason: they make you focus too much on your back. He describes personality types that are prone to back pain, which rang a bell with me. If you have chronic back pain it's hard not to focus on it, but it becomes a vicious cycle: anticipating the pain, fearing it, dreading it. I think the basic idea is that your body will heal if you're mind would let it. It's empowering to think that you may have some control, rather than being a helpless victim. That said, old habits are hard to break, and it takes time to "retrain" your brain. I had my back pain return, and rereading parts of his book inspired me and helped to turn it around again. I think it's an ongoing process. When you consider how long it took you to get to this point, it's not going to happen overnight. But from the success I've had so far, I think there's something to be said for this approach. I will say at this point, this book had helped me more than the other books I've read for back pain.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It ia an amazing, life-changing read. Once you can open up your mind and realize that physical pain can manifest itself from unresolved psychological issues, it is quite liberating. It's not as though you need to realize some great psychological scar from childhood...it can be as simple as realizing that an issue or conflict with a co-worker or family member can be triggering physical pain becuase you subconsciously let it. You also don't need to resolve all your problems--but rather simply be open and aware that many common physical ailments can be the result of this subconscious act. It's something you may need to practice and re-read the book if pain should come back but it is quite amaazing to realize that you can control many of the pain issues you experience. Be open to the thought and you'll be very happy with the results!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dr. Sarno uses example after example to convince the reader to overcome skepticism and consider the connection between back pain and the suppression of anger and anxiety. Dr. Sarno's experiences over many years with his numerous patients provide very compelling evidence and made a believer out of me. Two years of chronic back pain ended abruptly when I was about half-way through this book. What more can one say as an endorsement?!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the journey of this book. I was looking for more info to help me with regard to my back. I found it. I will be putting it to use. I will also go back and read his other book on back pain.
Kid_LB More than 1 year ago
One must really understand the doctor’s message, which is that a lot of physical back pain comes from psychological issues, as do many other things. This is not to say that all back pain is mentally induced. About a third of the way though the book, I understood where the doctor was coming from. Two-thirds through it, I realized what was causing the pain. I am now about 70 percent better, and still healing. Applied, what the doctor says makes perfect sense, but one must understand how to handle the source of the problem, which is why reading the book is the way to go. This was so good, I am going to read the doctor’s other books.
WritermomHB More than 1 year ago
I will not tell you whether to buy this book or not. Dr. Sarno, the author, describes different character types, mentioning those particularly who are subject to what he calls TMS. His theory is that the TMS is due to suppressed anger and anxiety, and can cause other pain also. As a sufferer of many different types of pain, including daily chronic migraine, I cannot tell you if his theory and “treatment” would help you. I do not believe it will help me. So, if you are interested, go ahead and read. That can’t hurt you, but I don’t agree with his premise for everyone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ajWA More than 1 year ago
This wondrous book, originally written in the 1980's, shows how all back pain is psychosomatic - in other words, back pain is what our bodies do to distract us from other, more painful things, such as stress, worry, conflict, and so forth. In simple language, the good doctor tells us how to reconnect the mind and the body, and understand that our backs (and knees, and feet, and stomach) are fine - we are just reacting to mental overload.
sifufuow More than 1 year ago
A fantastic book! One must have a very strong, positive mind for this concept to be effective. I purchased this title, Sarno 20 years ago & it helped immensely. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who suffers from back pain, as well as the other symptoms that are sited in it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing book, brings you to a new level of living! LOVED IT
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dr. Sarno's life saving book taught me what was going on in my unconscious mind. I was laid up for 2 years before reading this book and within 2 weeks after reading it, I was finally getting better. With in a few months, I was back to doing everything without pain. Thank you Dr. Sarno.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
JD50 More than 1 year ago
My doctor told me about the book. It has been very effective in relieving my neck/back pain. I have purchased extra books for my friends and family!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A good friend of mine who had suffered back probkems, as I do, advised me to read this book. I read it, thought the premise was interesting. but it did absolutely nothing to alleviate my back pain - which confirmed my suspicion that the root cause of many back problems IS joint or disc-related, not muscular like Dr. Sarno suugests.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago