×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Healing From Family Rifts
     

Healing From Family Rifts

4.5 8
by Mark Sichel
 

See All Formats & Editions

Ten steps to surviving a family rift, finding peace, and moving on

A family rift is one of the most traumatic experiences a person can face. It can have a profound effect on virtually every aspect of life, causing depression, relationship problems, and even physical illness. Healing From Family Rifts offers hope to those coping with a split in their

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Healing From Family Rifts 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A wonderful book that gave me the power to heal. My mother had cut off all contact from me and I had found myself all alone. The book allowed me to pick up the pieces of my shattered psyche and put them back together one by one. It showed me that I can move on from the anguish, letting it fall away like leaves from a tree. More than anything, the burden of losing contact with a family member is a heavy one. But this book showed me how to lighten the load and continue living my life.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you are experiencing a rupture in the family, I hope you do get Mark Sichel's book, Healing from Family Rifts. I did. I wish I had it years ago. After 11 years of learning to deal with my only child's addiction, and surviving a divorce after 24 years of marriage, Mark's book is opening up new avenues of exploration for my own life. There is great information and concrete ideas throughout Sichel's book. There are ideas to implement that help us deal with the problems involved in family estrangement. We discover ways to make meaning out of our experience - a meaning from which we can grow as individuals. Mark's ten step program gives us a way out of the trauma we have experienced. It will make you think. And thinking about our lives is always a positive good. As Socrates said, 'The unexamined life is not worth living.' Mark helps us examine our lives. I highly recommend Healing from Family Rifts for anyone dealing with family dysfunction and fracture. We've got nothing to lose but that pain we are feeling. We do have everything to gain - most importantly, our lives.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Mark Sichel's book offers practical and helpful advice from the first chapter to the last. I read about the book in the Ask Amy column in my newspaper (she replaced Ann Landers), bought it here, and have devoured it. His insight, compassion, and courage to share his personal experiences helped me to not feel crazy about the situation with my own family, and his practical suggestions for repairing a fractured family are like a Bible for the dysfunctional family. I highly recommend this book. I think other readers who have been suffering as I had will feel relieved, calmer, and saner after reading Sichel's book. If you're having estrangement issues or chronic feuding with your family, this is the book for you.
Guest More than 1 year ago
My sister has always been explosive and has had a habit since we're children of  blowing up at me and saying she's never speaking with me again. After forty plus years of taking her abuse, about a year ago I said no more and I took her up on her offer.  . I finally feel I've done the right thing by not tolerating her nastiness and yelling at me and threatening me. The author gives good and practical advice about feeling better and getting over an abusive family situation  I highly recommend it for anyone dealing with a dysfunctional family.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book really cuts to the heart of the subject of losing one's family. What I really like about the book is the author's empathic and effective approach to understanding, coping, and finally recovering from the tragedy of involuntary exile from family or relative. Step by step, he makes it possible to understand and deal with an often deeply painful life trauma. Mr. Sichel gives us all the gory details: but the book is ultimately one of hope and healing. As someone who has in some measure experienced family cutoff, I found the book to be of great comfort and usefulness; and would unconditionally recommend it to anyone who faces similar circumstances, or to those who know a friend or loved one going through such an ordeal.
Anonymous 7 months ago
A Facebook quasi-religious/spiritual poster remarked, as many do, how sad it is when families fail to reach out and forgive each other - that love is the ultimate answer which means finding a way to resolve all 'difficulties' and snuggle in for the long haul. Instead, Healing Family Rifts points out that while efforts at reconciliation are indeed useful, trying to change the aggressive behavior of a family member is not the answer. Love is not a blanket to throw over cruelty, selfishness and abuse. Instead, the book details drama-free ways to honor your own life and protect those you love. Eleanor Cowan, author of : A History of a Pedophile's Wife
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Generally well done discussion of causes and solutions for dealing with the pain of estrangement within a family. Gives many examples and stories of people's experiences with estrangement and how they handled them. Offers specific positive actions that can be taken.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago