×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Heart of Darkness: The Darkest Angel\Love Me to Death\Lady of the Nile
  • Alternative view 1 of Heart of Darkness: The Darkest Angel\Love Me to Death\Lady of the Nile
  • Alternative view 2 of Heart of Darkness: The Darkest Angel\Love Me to Death\Lady of the Nile
     

Heart of Darkness: The Darkest Angel\Love Me to Death\Lady of the Nile

4.0 241
by Gena Showalter, Maggie Shayne, Susan Krinard
 

See All Formats & Editions

From the masters of paranormal romance, three brand-new tales of seduction…

The Darkest Angel by Gena Showalter

A Lords of the Underworld tale

An iron-willed demon assassin, the angel Lysander has never known lust—until he meets Bianka. Spawned from the bloodline of Lucifer, the beautiful but deadly Harpy is determined to lead the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Heart of Darkness: The Darkest Angel\Love Me to Death\Lady of the Nile 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 237 reviews.
jbailey4251 More than 1 year ago
Because this was an anthology, and I had such drastically different opninions on each story, I'm going to take them individually: Darkest Angel: This was a weird story for me. Lysander is just a little too good and Bianka (a Harpy we first met in Darkest Whisper) is just a little too bad, and it makes for an almost unbelievable match. It's not until the end that we find out that they are neither as good nor as bad as they appear, and that they just might be meant for each other. While everything was just a bit over the top, it was fun to watch continuing struggle for dominance in the relationship. And then there's a scene with Lysander and Paris (host to the demon Promiscuity) in loin cloths, wrestling in oil, so it can't be all bad. The really cool part about this story is that we are introduced to an angel, Olivia, who is going to be the female half of Aeron's story (The Darkest Passion, which will be released in May) and it set up a little of that story-line. 3 out of 5 stars Love me to Death: Another weird story for me. It's got soul mates, reincarnated lovers, shared dreams, a spirit's revenge, all of which is okay, and a plot twist you see coming a mile away. I think it tried to cover too much in too little space, and it took too long to get to the real meat of the story. Because of the soul-mate thing, Shayne didn't have to really build to relationship between Sara and David, which in a novella is probably okay. I didn't like or dislike it-I guess, in the end, it was just okay. It would have been better with less, or as a full-length novel that would have been able to better explore the story. 2 out of 5 stars Lady of the Nile: This one didn't really work for me. The plot was kind of convoluted. From what I could understand, a man occasionally possessed by a man possessed by an Egyptian god (nope, that's not a typo) must hook up with a woman occasionally possessed by an Egyptian goddess to defeat evil. There were a number of dream sequences/flashbacks that were confusing and I found myself having to re-read passages to understand what was going on at times. It was really disappointing to me because I usually enjoy Krinard's wolf stories. 1 star
MzFashionista More than 1 year ago
This book has three stories by three great authors. The authors excel in paranormal romance. Gena Showalter, one of the authors is the reason I bought the book. Showalter's books are excellent. If paranormal romance is what you're after then the "Lords of the Underworld" series is one of the best series you could ever read. Characters are amazing to follow from one book to another they grow on you. Start with (in order); The Darkest Fire, The Darkest Night,The Darkest Kiss,The Darkest Pleasure,The Darkest Whisper,The Darkest Passion,The Darkest Lie,Dark Beginnings,The Darkest Facts and ending with Into the Dark. In this book SHowalter writes about a demon assassin,Lysander who is righteous and even a little judgmental of others. Then he meets a beautiful harpy, Bianka. Her father is Lucifer, and is tempted to act like he never has before. Its a fun afternoon read.
nhomes7 More than 1 year ago
I have been a fan of Ms. Showalter since I read Jewel of Atlantis nearly four years ago. I did read the series out of order, but it was fantastic just the same. She writes beautifully and makes you believe anything is possible (even the existence of Atlantis itself and all its creatures). It's a must read. Add it to your personal library.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was brilliant. The three stories combined were short but earthshaking. It was definitely an experience--just like any of Gena's books.
Calliecat1988 More than 1 year ago
This book was amazing! I love all of Gena's books personally this book was not only an easy read but it was a great one. This book featured one of the Lords of the Underworld it was a very pleasent suprise. I was also very happy with the other short stories in the book as well. This book is a must read for any fan of paranormal romance.
kimkim More than 1 year ago
The first story is The Darkest Angel by Gena Showalter and is part of her Lords of the Underworld series. This story is what I have come to expect from the masterful Showalter. It follows Lysander a demon assassin and angel as he deals with his one temptation-Harpy Bianka Skyhawk. Both fight against each other and their growing feelings. This story grabs you from the first lines and doesn't let you put it down until the end. The only thing that I can complain about is that I have to wait until May 2010 for the Darkest Passion the next book in the LOTU series. If you are looking for great series to read LOTU is it. As always Gena Showalter delivers a passionate read with a sexy hero and a strong heroine. (5 Stars) The second story in the anthology is Love Me to Death by Maggie Shayne. This is the first time that I have read anything by Shayne and will be adding her to my list of authors to check out. The story was great. It had all of the different types of stories that I like Mystery, Thriller and Paranormal Romance rolled into one. It follows David and Sara as they deal with the past and past secrets so that they might have a future together. I will be looking for more from Shayne. (4 Stars) The final story in the anthology is Lady of the Nile by Susan Krinard. Now, full disclosure here: I am not a huge fan of historical romance and anything that has to do with Egyptian pyramids or mythology gives me the creeps so this review is going to have to be taken within those contexts. In this anthology this was the weakest story for me. It is about a reincarnated Princess and a man who is out to prove her wrong. The writing was great, but I didn't care for the story as much as the other three. If you do like historical romance and you do like things that have to do with Egyptian pyramids or mythology then you will like this story better then I did. (3 Stars)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good books
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
She ran back in and sang quickly," Lava hot and lava bright hide me from thr enemies sight. Bubble leap an hiss and burn make these people quickly turn." A thin wal of lava erupted in front of her.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Used the tip of her wing to touch the necklace on her neck,frost grew and it poped with a *clink* "There,you shal live to fight anouther day"
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not bad at all. I'm glad I made sure I gave this a chance. I only did for the G S series but the other two turned out to be authors I will like from now on, too. I will look up their other books. After I finish the hotties of the underworlds , of course.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ebony black with yellow lightning markings on all 4 legs and tail. Azure blue eyes. Shapeshifter. Wings when she wants. SPECIAL: has the ability to attack or run faster than any cat alive. Eyes glow in the dark brighter than any other cats. Also glow during the day when she is having a history problem. STORY: parents killed. Grew up alone. Siblings need rpers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Darknessstar- Black shecat with black wings and orange eyes. She has the power to burst into flames and create fires. No mate or kits. She is the leader.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Only read Lysander and Bianka's story. Love the match up. He is clueless and Bianka rocks his world. I wish that he spanked her when she was a bad girl though lol. SPOILER his proposal was sweet.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ReenaJacobs More than 1 year ago
Darkest Angel I have to say, I absolutely loved this little book. I only wished it didn't wrapped up so quickly in the end. Gena Showalter portrays Lysander as a naive angel with a very simple perspective of right and wrong. He seems absolutely clueless about the magnitude of the consequences associated with his actions. As such, watching him stumble through shades of gray amused me to no end. Experienced, worldly--Bianka only heightened my amusement. She found as much pleasure tormenting the innocent Lysander as I found watching her do it. It was quite refreshing to have the woman in charge and teaching the man for a change. I love cameo appearances, and Gena Showalter had plenty packed in this novella. Two particular characters caught my attention. First Aeron had a small, but significant role in this novel hinting at his romance to come. It makes me wonder if his book is next. Then there was Paris. One of those things that make me go hmmm... My gloomy Gus friend was not the same bummed out guy I'd come to expect. One special mention given was a reminder of Ashyln's pregnancy. I hope Ashyln has her baby in the next novel. All in all, this read was awesome! I am so looking forward to the next installment of Lords of the Underworld series. Love Me to Dead The premise behind the story was interesting with a lot of potential. However, I think this novella deserved a little more. I was a bit reluctant to give this review because I found quite a few glitches in this piece which didn't sit well with me. Still, others may feel differently. It gave me the impression of an incomplete work. The story never really addressed who the beautiful woman was in terms of her past. So I was left wondering what the connection really was. Ms. Shayne wrote the beginning of the book non-sequential. I'm not quite sure what the purpose of it was since it didn't give me the impression of two world colliding. I would have liked it to be a little more linear, but that's likely more of a style thing. Side characters who appeared within the story promised to show up later, but never returned. No explanation given. The ending also seemed a little rushed. It left me wondering how they got out of the crisis. I'm not even sure how everyone ended up in the crisis. Just a few too many unexplained happenings combined with too many unlikely coincidences. In the end, I was a bit disappointed with this novella. Lady of the Nile The novella started wonderfully--a Duchess (Lady Tameri) who believes she's a reincarnated princess and a skeptic (Leo Eskine) willing to find out the truth. The waters became muddied soon after. I found Leo mettlesome to the point he seemed to take on a busybody caricature. Other times he seemed flaky, running from place to place not knowing what the heck was going on. Tameri-I loved her; I hated her. I just couldn't make up my mind. She had great convictions in her beliefs, a quality I admired. However, her personality seemed inconsistent. Sometimes she was quite bold, other times she acted like a willow in the wind. I could never be sure if her moments of boldness were attributed to the goddess or not. Was she really weak? I don't know. Then there's this crazy weird fight scene where the main characters are having sex and reading while the bad guy is yelling at them. I don't know what was up with that. I laugh every time I read it. Anyway, the ending was okay. It reminded me a bit of a love story and less of a
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago