×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Heart of Fire
     

Heart of Fire

4.5 67
by Linda Howard
 

See All Formats & Editions

A fabulous lost Amazon city once inhabited by women warriors and containing a rare red diamond: it sounded like myth, but archeologist Jillian Sherwood believed it was real, and she was willing to put up with anything to find it -- even Ben Lewis. Ruffian, knock-about, and number one river guide in Brazil, Ben was all man -- over six feet of rock-hard muscles that

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Heart of Fire 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 67 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
One of the best romances I have read and this one has two amazing characters! Ben Lewis is just the kind of guy to melt female hearts and Jillian is no pushover herself. The relationship built up slowly and with a great deal of believability and the quest was fun and interesting. Great plot, great characters, descriptive writing and very enjoyable. You won't be able to put this down!
Guest More than 1 year ago
About to be the 2nd book of Linda Howard; I am just about to order this book, as it is not available at Barnes & Noble, Portage,MI; but I read the preview after I finished Touch of Fire...(I love this book, great story...I love adventure & romance, the details are incredible)I can't wait to get my copy of Heart of Fire
Guest More than 1 year ago
To continue what her father started which also caused him his death and his reputation Jillian Sherwood goes in search of a mythical city called the Amazons and the Empress in Brazil. Ben Lewis is their guide as they travel trecheriously on an unfamiliar territory to most of the ones on the quest. Linda Howard is such a gifter story teller, I love how Ben is such an alpha male and how Jillian can keep up to his every banter. The characters are so easy to care for.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you liked RAIDERS OF THE LOST ARK and ROMANCING THE STONE you will positively love HEART OF FIRE! Feisty archeologist,Jillian Sherwood,is a fabulous heroine, and she'll put up with anything...even smug, sexy I-know-what-you-look-like-naked guide, Ben Lewis to prove her late father's theory about a lost city in the depths of the Brazilian jungle. This is a book that has it all; raw adventure, pulse-pounding excitment, and sizzling sexuality...leavened with flsahes of humor as Jillian and Ben make their way toward a fabled city and a fabulous fortune in precious gems that will either make Jillian's reputation...or get her killed. I loved this book and think Ben Lewis is one of the best heroes Linda hasever created. Sexy in spades, but exactly the kind of man you can trust with your life.... My favorite of all of Linda's books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is now one of my favorite romance/ suspense novels. The author's story telling skills absorbs you into the beauty & danger of the amazon as jillian, an aercheologist , goes into the heart of the amazon in order to find the lost civilization of women warriors. Her expedition guide is ben, who when first meeting jilian, judges her to be a timid, small, stiff acadamian. True, she looks intelligent, her slight body is surprisingly strong & gracefully lean & fit. But the arrogant, dangerously handsome adventurer's taste in women is luscious curves. Well, boy, is he surprised by her courage, her abililty to give & take the humorous banter that begins to slowly develop between the two. It's like being on an indiana jones adventure, but with sizzling sexual attraction, undeniable love, & tragedy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of my favorite books. I loved the adventure, the romance, and the strong female and male lead characters. I also really enjoyed the story itself, it was original and kept me interested. There were some bittersweet moments so it was a realistic story. And the romance was hot hot hot! If you haven't read this one, it's worth the read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
To alwaysreadingNC and everyone else who's confused by Barnes and Noble's overview of this book. The overview is from a book by Roxanne St. Claire called Killer Curves that was published in 2005. The Editorial Review and first chapter read is actually about Linda Howard's book, Heart of Fire that was originally published in 1993 under Linda Howington. LInda's book is actually a very good read. Don't know why it would cost so much now if it is being re-issued.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've enjoyed escaping into this author's books for awhile now, and have typically enjoyed her characterizations as well as story lines. Certain elements of this genre are formulaic, but are part of the pure pleasure of the reading in all of her books but this one. Characters are hidebound, unbelievable, and either overbearing or boring. Amazing she got this many stereotypes under one cover. Don't waste your money or time. Her other books are better.
alwaysreadingNC More than 1 year ago
Ok I am confused - the editoral Review and trhe Read an excerpt are both of Heart of Fire which I enjoyed. But in Over view a different story is descibed with the characters of Roxanne St Clair and NASCAR Beau Lansiing. Is this a re-issue book with TWO Stories?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have loved this book for years and was so excited to be able to add it to my Nook library! 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of her best!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
He mewd
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A blue and white tabby swirl shecat padded in, her paws grey and eyes sea green. Looking around, she asked in a quiet voice," May I join? I'm Siren."
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I gtg goodnight
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Is locked out :(
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago