×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Heart of Ice (Triple Threat Series #3)
     

Heart of Ice (Triple Threat Series #3)

4.2 37
by Lis Wiehl (With), April Henry (With)
 

See All Formats & Editions

Elizabeth Avery could easily be the girl next door. But what she has planned will make your blood run cold.

At first glance, the crimes appear random. Arson. Theft. Fraud. Murder. But these are more than random crimes. They’re moves in an increasingly deadly game. And the one element they have in common: a woman who is gorgeous, clever

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Heart of Ice 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 37 reviews.
TheBookwormFairy More than 1 year ago
Heart of Ice was my very first Triple Threat Novel and I can honestly say I don't intend for it to be my last. While I do tend toward young adult books more often than not lately (as my TBR pile can attest), I love a good thriller, horror, or suspense novel as well, and Heart of Ice fit the suspense novel bill nicely. Lis Wiehl and April Henry hit the nail on the head with this novel - the Triple Threat Club, Cassidy, Allison, and Nicole are perfect characters and a great way to rival another famous group of women crime solvers - the famed Women's Murder Club created by James Patterson. With Federal prosecutor Allison, FBI Agent Nicole, and crime reporter Cassidy, the only thing missing is the coroner, but I found that the lack of the fourth member of the club didn't make a bit of difference and truthfully, while I love James Patterson, I've never been able to read any of the Women's Murder Club novels in their entirety like I was this novel. I have a favorite character already - Nicole. She is tough on the outside because that is expected of her as an FBI agent. But she's still a human being and when it comes right down to it, she is just like you and me. She gets scared, she cries, she is a human being. When she gets some life-altering news, you get a taste of just how real she is. I also love Allison and her interactions with her sister Lindsay. There is another story within a story there and it is wonderful. Cassidy and her problems are another matter entirely and frankly, I love that while they are not focused on in this novel, enough background is given to let the reader know that Cassidy is definitely not without her faults. Add to the mix a charismatic villain and you have the makings of a great novel. The stories within the story are ones that can be carried on to other novels in the series and do not detract from the general story itself. I can't wait to read another Triple Threat novel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The first thing I noticed about this novel is that it has quite a misleading cover--or at least, it fooled me into believing this was going to be a fantasy novel. My own fault for being so presumptive, heh. The second one was that, it was about three women who didn't seem that much different from the characters of James Patterson's Women's Murder Club. The third one is that it is a suspense/thriller novel that has already revealed who the culprit it right from the, well, blurb. To be honest, I didn't really have much faith in this book. But when I started reading it, I found it quite easy to get hooked. The writing was good, the phasing also made for more questions as I expected, given that the culprit's identity has already been revealed. It was different to get into the mind of the criminal and know who she really is from the get-go. But the things she did and the life she lived all still made for an interesting read. Not to mention the three women that make up the "Triple Threat Club". They have been depicted just as well, with their lives efficiently woven into the web of the plot, giving them both depth of personality, and the strength to move forward. The Christian aspect of the story was added in just the right mix without having it rub itself in your face. All in all, it was an unexpected good ride. I can't wait to read this author's next novels! I got a free electronic copy of this book from Booksneeze's review program.
jebsweetpea More than 1 year ago
At first glance, the crimes appear random. Arson. Theft. Fraud. Murder. But these are more than random crimes. They're moves in an increasingly deadly game. And the one element they have in common: a woman who is gorgeous, clever . . . and lethal. Elizabeth Avery has a winsome smile and flawless figure, but underneath is a heart of ice. She's a master manipulator, convincing strangers to do the unthinkable. And she orchestrates it all without getting too close. Until now. When Elizabeth ruthlessly disposes of an inquisitive young reporter, her crime catches the attention of Federal Prosecutor Allison Pierce, FBI Special Agent Nicole Hedges, and crime reporter Cassidy Shaw. They know they're dealing with a cold-blooded murderer who could strike at any time. What they don't know is that they're already on a first-name basis with the killer. And one of them may be next on her list. The third book in A Triple Threat Novel series, this book can easily be a stand alone. This book is not for the faint of heart. Three women, who work very different careers, unite together to solve murder mysteries. With action packed drama, a fast paced storyline and some pretty graphic descriptions, this book will keep you flipping page by fast page. Some parts were a bit too descriptive and graphic for me, but overall, I would definitely read another of Lis and April's books. Book Sneeze sent me a complimentary copy of this to book to review for them. All opinions are my own.
songbirdsue More than 1 year ago
This is the first book I have read in this series. It was a bit difficult for me to read because of how well it gets into the head of the psychopathic killer. She is a master manipulator using everyone she meets to accomplish her sinister plans. She covers her tracks well (luckily not enough in the end) and lures even the most unsuspecting victims into her web with her beauty and charm. There was quite a bit of violence with a lot of death. It was very well done. It is really a suspense crime novel. I did like the way the 3 triple threat club women work together to solve the crimes. I felt however that there was a large portion of the story that was left untold. I think it ended to abruptly.
shelleyg More than 1 year ago
I had a chance to read Heart of Ice by Lis Weihl, it is the second on in the series, and I have enjoyed the series so far however I did think this was more intense and a bit more creepy. It was fast moving and kept me on the egde of my seat. If you are into intense thrillers pick this one up. You will not be able to put it down. I got this book from booksneeze, so a thank you to them for another good read!
lpcoolgirl More than 1 year ago
This was a really fantastic novel! The mystery-even thought we were told the bad guy pretty much right from the get-go-was insidious, the lies, and the people-watching it required, well, it was well crafted, and such a wonderful book! Loved it! The characters all have their various issues going on at the start, like a sister who's made a lot of bad choices, to a lump, to volunteer who doesn't do her own work in making her path, she just takes Cassidy's path and tries to run her over. And as the book goes on, the conflicts rise and rise along with the plot, adding a more personal level to the book, seeing what they're dealing with in their personal lives, and what they're dealing with in their professional lives, and how in some cases, those 2 lives intertwine. The plot, and the way she planned everything, well, Elizabeth was very smart, and conniving, and the thing that made me hate her as a person, was that she thought that she deserved the money and attention instead of a 5 year old boy. That she deserved to take money from a tip at a restaurant, from a collection of money to buy a baby stroller. Well, she certainly deserved what she she got in the end! Yeah, this was a really great book! Check it out, it has great writing, characters, and a plot!
gmtn96 More than 1 year ago
This is my first book about criminology so I was excited for the arrival of the book. Let me tell you something I got kind of scared reading this book because this is actually the third book of the Triple Threat Series and I thought I might get lost between events, even so I gave it a try and let me tell you at first I got a little lost but then I just couldn’t put the book down. This is definitely an amazing/great/well written book. Now I can’t wait until I buy the first two Triple Threat books in the series. Bottom line… YES! I would recommend this book to you.
Novel_Teen_Book_Reviews More than 1 year ago
Elizabeth Avery is a sociopath. She wants what she wants and will stop at nothing to get it. The Triple Threat ladies-Allison-federal prosecutor, Nicole-FBI agent, and Cassidy-news reporter-have no idea who Elizabeth really is and how she is playing everyone in her deadly "game." I loved the first two mysteries in this series. But this one was totally different. It read like a suspense novel, not a mystery. The Triple Threat ladies are there, and it was fun to read what was going on in their lives. But there was no mystery in this story for the reader. We knew who the criminal was from the start. And it was really tough to read her point of view scenes. They were powerfully written, but I just didn't want to. I guess I'm not so comfortable being inside the mind of a sociopath. I wanted to skim her parts but couldn't, because her scenes were the ones with the story in them, if that makes sense. So while I'm glad I read this book, because I love the Triple Threat ladies, it was a tough read and not my favorite way of telling a mystery.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Has a real bad female lead character with a hit it has the Craig List killer weaved in it too. Just got started...she's rally bad/evil too.
smallkucing More than 1 year ago
I find that this book is amazing to read. Fast pace and a page turner. The character I love the most is Elizabeth Avery. She is just so deliciously "evil". Reminds me of someone that I know but too bad that particular friend doesn't have Elizabeth's skill in manipulation and ruthless. Am rather surprised that this is classified as a Christian book. Initially when I read the synopsis, I thought this book would be just like any other thriller but it is not so. Apart from the suspense, the author also incorporated the "personal" sides of the three main characters. It makes them more real and believable to read. Nevertheless, I think some maybe put off in the beginning as each chapter introduces new person and their life. To me that might be the biggest huddle coz by the time the author go back to the story, readers may have got mixed up what happen to who and who is who. Anyway, I did enjoyed reading this. Hope to get my hands on more books by this author
gccbookworm More than 1 year ago
This thriller from Lis Wiehl, Heart of Ice, has all the ingredients for a suspenseful read: a manipulative but beautiful sociopath, arson and murder, and the Triple Threat Club. Three young professional women, friends since high school, work together to solve the murder of a young intern that worked with Cassidy. Unbeknown to them they have become acquainted with the murderer: going to lunch, going shopping, working out at the gym. At the same time each of these three women are dealing with personal issues that many readers can relate to in their own lives. As the investigation continues so do the murders. It is a fast-paced read that is hard to put down because you want to know what the murderer will do next and how our trio will respond. This is the first book I have read by Lis Wiehl. Now I must get the first two in this series to read. , "I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review"
AnAvidReaderNJ More than 1 year ago
All I can say is WOW! To me this was a true Thriller. Mystery, intrigue and a splash of romance just for fun. I don't know how many times I caught myself gasping or saying Oh No! I love the character development, I could relate to each of them Allison, Cassidy, Nic (Nicole) and even Lindsay. My favorite was Nic, she reminds me a lot of myself with not wanting to cry or to ask for help. The story lines were excellent and when they came together it was perfect. To be able to manage a thriller storyline, a health crisis, romance and issues of faith and then to make it all come together is amazing to me. It really worked here. There was mention of faith throughout the book but it was not preachy in the least, I loved it. Definitely a must read!
bookbloggerKB More than 1 year ago
Nicole Hedges, Cassidy Shaw and Allison Pierce are three friends from high school who have recently reunited. Nicole is a FBI agent, Allison is a federal prosecutor and Cassidy is a TV crime reporter. In this book they meet Elizabeth, who is a personal trainer at Cassidy¿s gym. As the story develops, the readers learn that Elizabeth is a sociopath who uses people to attain her own selfish goals. The three friends are drawn into a relationship with her while she commits murder to make sure her boyfriend is undistracted by his ex-wife and son. The three friends must stop her, but that proves to be very dangerous. Lisa Wiehl writes a story that carries the reader along. Even though this was a part of a series about the three main characters, I found it easy to follow. The author left some questions unanswered regarding Nicole, Allison and Cassidy, and I would definitely consider reading the sequel. Readers who enjoy suspense, mystery or crime novels would enjoy this one. Booksneeze provided me a copy of this book and this is my honest opinion.
Babygurl22 More than 1 year ago
This was i believe her best book yet.. I had the hardest time stopping to read. The front cover of this book was amazing and the juicy story line lead you wanting more and more. I so enjoyed this book and glad i got it.
Morgan42 More than 1 year ago
Heart of Ice, by Lis Wiehl and April Henry, is a mystery/thriller with a little bit of romance. The Triple Threat club, consisting of Federal Prosecutor Allison Pierce, FBI Special Agent Nicole Hedges, and TV crime reporter Cassidy Shaw, is just a group of three friends who are each covering the Want Ad Killer story from three different angles. This story, however, is not the plot behind Heart of Ice. Elizabeth Avery, the beautiful gym trainer, is not all she seems to be. Befriending Cassidy, she seems to be everything anybody could ever want in a best friend, but really she only sees Cassidy as someone she can manipulate in her "game". But in the end, nothing can come between the three friends, especially not Elizabeth and all the crimes she has committed. Heart of Ice is the third Triple Threat novel by Lis Wiehl and April Henry. I haven't had the opportunity to read the first two books, but luckily I didn't need to know anything about those two books to follow along with this book. The authors did a very good job with giving enough background of the characters to know enough to not be confused, but not too much so as to know that you are missing something. I would recommend this book if you like mysteries or suspense. It was surprisingly good considering that you know "who did it" the whole time. I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
dtalen More than 1 year ago
A criminal is on the loose, one who is very good at making sure no one knows she is behind everything. She will let nothing stand in her way, even people who consider her their friend. Heart of Ice by Lis Wiehl is a fast paced crime novel and part of the Triple Threat series. Allison, Nicole and Cassidy are best friends who all have high profile jobs. Cassidy starts to take a Bootcamp fitness class and is befriended by the instructor, Elizabeth Avery. Little does she know Elizabeth is a criminal and a master at getting what she wants. With the help of her friends, Cassidy learns that she and her friends could be the next victims on Elizabeth's hit list. This is an enthralling read. This fast paced action and multiple points of view the reader has make this a tough book to put down. It was gripping story and any possible offensive content was handled with care making it not offensive at all. I can see how some people would really get into this series and want to know all they can about the characters that are presented. If you like high energy, fast paced thrillers, this is the book for you. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com
amazingbookreviewsbystarr More than 1 year ago
The triple threat team is back again. Allison and Nicole are working on gathering the evidence to convict the killer dubbed as "The Want Ad Killer" by the media. Cassidy is working on covering the story of the killer. But another set of events brings them together. This time it is the link between a missing reporter, a murder for hire and personal issues that challenges the ladies. Sometimes people are not as they seem and should not be trusted. This is the first Triple Threat novel that I have read, and I have to say that I am impressed. Meeting Nicole the FBI agent for the first time, I immediately get a sense of her personality. She's tough, as a mother she's protective and as a woman she's guarded. I can empathize with her and some of the decisions that I make, even if it did make me cringe at the heartache those decisions caused. Allison, the Federal prosecutor, is doing the best that she can to recover from a brutal life blow. But it's refreshing to see her not give up on herself or her faith. You can tell that her faith is important to her, but it is not overwhelming in the story. Cassidy, the crime reporter for Channel Four news, is refreshing naive; I felt draw to her character more than the others, mainly because there is a sense of innocence in this character. She works hard for her job, but her jealousy and her sort of addictive behavior cries out for sympathy. Elizabeth is a personality to be wary of, but it's easy to find someone with her traits easier than it comfortably should. The characters were well developed and relatable. Even the situations that they find themselves in were disconcertingly real. (Only of course if you had one of these careers). The story unfolded with enough suspense to keep you moving forward and enough clues to not really know what's going to happen next. The only thing that I found too distracting was the similarities between the fictional "Want Ad Killer" and the real life "Craig's List Killer". I found myself comparing the two until the stories that had been simmering in the background took off. Overall, I enjoyed the story and look forward to more Triple Threat Novels.
hawkpierce More than 1 year ago
Allison Pierce, federal prosecutor, Nichole Hedges, FBI agent, and Cassidy Shaw, news reporter make up the Triple Threat Club. The club is humorously named after a favorite dessert, but the three of them together solve many crimes. This time however, things get personal... Elizabeth Avery loves playing The Game. Manipulation, control, and transcendence are the keys. Murder, arson - who cares? Necessary moves if you want to win. But in order to make the right moves, you must have a heart of ice. I have not read the first two books in the series, but I did not feel at all confused. The book is written fluently, and it begged me to keep reading. It is definitely a suspense novel, since you know who the killer is, but not how it will all work out. With all that in mind, I would say that this is a woman's suspense novel. Not so completely that a man couldn't read it, but all four of the main characters are women and the book deals with issues such as breast cancer. Even so,from my perspective, a great read.
Teresa_Konopka More than 1 year ago
This heart-pumping thriller will have you turning the pages until your eyes begin to droop. Wiehl weaves a clever web of characters whose lives intersect (but not immediately so as to seem forced). You have a pyromaniac with a scarred inner and outer facade, three crime fighting women (not superheroes but those whose jobs are actually to handle crime), and a psychopath who just so happens to exude perfection. All the while, there is a story going on about a killer whose story resembles the "Craig's List" killer story from real life (although those terms are not used here). Best of all, Wiehl gets deep into the mind of the disturbed.
JDyan More than 1 year ago
People are not at all what they seem in this third installment of the Triple Threat Novel series by Lis Wiehl. During the investigation of a man named Colton Foley, accused of robbery and murder, The Triple Threat Club's attention is seized by a gorgeous woman named Elizabeth Avery. Not only is she beautiful and flawless but she is also cold blooded, with a heart of ice. She lives to play "the Game" and doesn't care who she has to hurt, steal from, or worse, to get what she wants and win. In a series of seemingly random crimes will the Triple Threat Club be able to connect the dots and find a killer hiding in plain sight? This is the second Triple Threat Novel by Lis Wiehl that I've read. I will say, I liked it more than "Hand of Fate" (which was the first one I read). I believe Heart of Ice deserves a good, strong four out of five stars. The character Elizabeth was disugsting, and conniving, and therefore I loved her! Loved what she brought to the story! Elizabeth was so creepy, I am now very leery of gym trainers! LOL Knowing who the killer is and not being able to say anything is so frustrating and yet so engaging! It definitely kept me interested! The two things that kept Heart of Ice from getting five stars were, in my opinion, how fast Elizabeth was able to suck Cassidy and Clark into "the Game" because of their naivete and the ending. The way Cassidy and Clark fell head over heels for Elizabeth wasn't very believable. Also, Elizabeth is such a manipulative and dramatic person I think her fight should've been so much more dramatic to match her sociopathic personality/mentality. With nothing certain taking place, the ending left me feeling unsatisfied. No bueno! :( However, I think if you are into crime novels give Heart of Ice a go because everything, except for the ending, was pretty good with a little surprise twist thrown in. I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255
Amanda1023 More than 1 year ago
A cold-blooded killer is at work in Portland. Seemingly random acts of arson, theft, fraud and multiple murders that appear unrelated are happening around the city, orchestrated by a master criminal. This time, the threat is right under the noses of the Triple Threat Club, and they have no idea how close they are to the killer...close enough to be in danger themselves. The danger intensifies as the crimes start hitting closer to home. Add to this the life-changing medical crisis one member faces and the family crisis of another, and you have a page-turner that you can't put down until the very end. I've been reading Lis Wiehl's Triple Threat series from book one, and they just keep getting better. Lis tackles each mystery is a unique way, bringing you three different perspectives - a prosecutor, an FBI agent, and a crime reporter. As the three friends work together to solve the case, Lis also delves deeper into their personal lives and the struggles they each face. I am now a dedicated fan, and I look forward to the release of each new book. This series is a must-read for mystery fans!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hi there again- I've gotten a new book from booksneeze recently. This one was the featured book, and it's really good:) Before I get started though, I just want to let you know that, as always, due to some long legal law thing, I don't have to give this book a good review. Now, anyway, the book I got is called "Heart of Ice" by Lis Wiehl (with April Henry). It's a mystery- and I absolutely love mysteries! The whodunits, Clue, all that. When I got this, I was intrigued. It's about a female bad guy- which is something you don't get a lot. No one suspects her- this quiet woman named Elizabeth Avery. She's like the lady next door- harmless and whatnot. But secretly she's not. Not even close. Once she gets rid of a young reporter, she garners the attention of three powerful women- Federal Prosecutor Allison Pierce, FBI Agent Nicole Hedges, and crime reporter Cassidy Shaw. They go after her, but Elizabeth refuses to go down silently. She, in fact, is rather against going down at all. So who shall win? The cunning, lethal killer, or our gang of good guys- the triple threat? I won't give the end away, but you can count on a good read:)
christian_chick6 More than 1 year ago
"Heart of Ice," book three in Wiehl & Henry's Triple Threat series, picks up not long after the events in "Hand of Fate." The women--federal prosecutor Allison, FBI agent Nicole, and TV crime reporter Cassidy--are seeking to bring the Want Ad Killer (reminiscent of the Craigslist Killer) to justice. This case, however, doesn't have much to do with the plot. Instead, the story centers around Elizabeth, the titular "Heart of Ice." She is Cassidy's trainer, and in Cassidy sees someone she can manipulate, just as she manipulates everyone she has a relationship with. What she doesn't count on is the bond between Cassidy, Allison, and Nicole, or on their penchant for solving crimes ... crimes she herself has committed. Overall, I enjoyed this book. Because I knew from page one (actually from the book jacket description) that Elizabeth was this story's "Big Bad," instead of wondering who the killer was, I wondered how everything would come together for Elizabeth to be caught. I actually think the author's choice to let the reader in on the identity of the bad guy at the beginning allowed for the book to become more suspenseful, as I worried about certain characters' safety when they became closer to Elizabeth. I also enjoyed the deeper looks into Allison's and Nicole's lives. Though their stories seem to move slowly, each saw significant change in their lives during this book, and I'm excited to learn what will happen to them next! ***I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.***
VillaSyl More than 1 year ago
A story about three strong women and the real life problems and decisions they face: Crime reporter, Cassidy Shaw, and her two best friends, Federal Prosecutor Allison Pierce and FBI Special Agent Nicole Hedge comprise the triple threat fighting crime in Portland. It made me think of the TV show Criminal Minds or Law and Order; it reads more like a TV show than a novel. The story begins with revealing to the reader the murderer, Elizabeth Avery. The reader will find Elizabeth a beautiful woman who manages to hide her killer cold heart as she manipulates everyone to her own end. You see inside her head and what she is thinking as she is acting out her own form of evil that appears logical to her own mind. Elizabeth leaves a trail of bodies in her wake, The Triple Threat friends must piece together clues from seemingly unrelated crimes. Can they stop her before she reaches her unthinkable, ultimate end-game? Wiehl and Henry throughout the story give the reader clues and information to piece the puzzle with the Triple Threat Club but leave the final pieces to the very end. This is the first book from this author I have read and is the third of the series. I found it to be interesting and kept me reading to the end. I generally love stories of mystery and suspense; though reading this story gave me a huge headache, in the beginning. I don't know if the story was so well written that everything felt so real and made my head ache or that my headache kept me from enjoying the story. If you like suspense, mystery then I recommend this book. I plan on reading the first two of the series. I am not surprised that CBS plans on producing one of her stories for TV. Per the recent FTC ruling, I am required to inform you that I received a free copy of this book for my nook from Thomas Nelson as part of their Booksneeze Blogger program in return for my review.