×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Heartburn
     

Heartburn

3.8 37
by Nora Ephron
 

See All Formats & Editions

Is it possible to write a sidesplitting novel about the breakup of the perfect marriage? If the writer is Nora Ephron, the answer is a resounding yes. For in this inspired confection of adultery, revenge, group therapy, and pot roast, the creator of Sleepless in Seattle reminds us that comedy depends on anguish as surely as a proper gravy depends on flour

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Heartburn 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 37 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Heartburn is an incredibly honest, poignant, and humorous portrayal of the breakup of a marriage. Although, the novel is based on the author's own story, it's a universal story of the demise of a marriage. You will cry. You will laugh! Enjoy...
kamknauss More than 1 year ago
I love Nora Ephron's writing. I always feel like her newer essays and books are so short and leave me wanting more. I decided to dig up this book and loved it. I watched the movie afterward, which I somehow missed as a child; both were great. Reading this book with the perspective that it is at least 30 years since these things have happened in her life (it's heavily based on true events) is highly recommended if you are a Nora Ephron fan. I've read her lists of advice and going back to this book is the beginning of how she got there. It's good to read it and know that her life has a happy ending and that she is in a good relationship now. It's also important for women to know that they can give everything of themselves and that if someone doesn't love you, it's futile. I think it's an empowering book in a sneaky way. I don't think she wanted to be empowered, but was forced into it. It was still ultimately all the more gratifying.
sand7s More than 1 year ago
Very clever and interesting. One of the better summer reads I bought this month.
Kathryn_M_Kelly More than 1 year ago
Heartburn is one of the funniest books I have ever read. At the same time, it is a very a very heart felt book. Buckle-up for a roller-coaster ride through the landscape of a marriage approaching its end; I could feel the mounting ' tension in the air' as each new revelation unfolded. By the end of the book I had heartburn. The story is peppered with Ms. Ephron's recipes. I highly recommend the recipe for vinaigrette dressing; this has been my 'go to' salad dressing recipe since I first read Heartburn in 1983. Heartburn is one darn good read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was a huge letdown! The funny parts were good but save some time and read Janet Evanovich.
grendelSC More than 1 year ago
Haven't read the book yet; it's on my Nook to read list. The movie was so great; also loved the soundtrack which I highly recommend. Norah Ephron was such a great novelist, I would also call her a satirist ; her stories are based on her own life. Highly recommend.
texangal_1 More than 1 year ago
Should not have bought this! Wasted $9.99 + tax. Only 130 pages, but guess that's ok because it is 130 pages of wasted time.
Anonymous 24 days ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
feather_lashes More than 1 year ago
"My mother taught me many things when I was growing up, but the main thing I learned from her is that everything is copy. She said it again and again, and I have quoted her saying it again and again. As a result, I knew the moment my marriage ended that someday it might make a book – if I could just stop crying. One of the things I’m proudest of is that I managed to convert an event that seemed to me hideously tragic at the time to a comedy – and if that’s not fiction, I don’t know what is." It seems our talented Nora Ephron paved the way for all the Taylor Swifts in the world who choose to artfully publicize their heartbreaks and betrayals. I get it, I really do. It's the perfect combination of coping and revenge, and apparently it worked for Ms. Ephron and resulted in the bestseller: Heartburn. I ended up really liking this book. It's brief, funny, down to earth, and it offers amazing recipes...some of which I am looking forward to trying very much. Heartburn details the demise of Ms. Ephron's marriage, much to her husband's real-life dismay. But she does not play the role of a victim or seek pity from her audience in any way. It's like sitting around the dinner table listening to a woman recount the most ridiculous experience she's ever had. The table is roaring with wine-induced laughter and she hasn't even gotten to the good part yet! That is the tone of this book...and the fact that the audio is narrated by the amazing Meryl Streep just added to the experience. I'm glad I finally read this book and I plan to watch the movie soon. My favorite quote: “Most cooking is based on elementary longstanding principles, and to say cooking is creative not only misses the point of creativity, which is that it is painful and difficult and quite unrelated to whether it is possible to come up with yet another way to cook a pork chop, but also misses the whole point of cooking which is that it is totally mindless. What I love about cooking is that after a hard day, there is something comforting about the fact that if you melt butter and add flour and then hot stock, it will get thick! It’s a sure thing! It’s sure thing in a world where nothing is sure; it has a mathematical certainty in a world where those of us who long for some kind of certainty are forced to settle for crossword puzzles.”
toniFMAMTC More than 1 year ago
This is one of those not-for-everyone books. I think it just clicks for you, or it doesn't. For me, it did. I like the main character, and love her storytelling. She's pregnant. Her husband is in love with another woman who runs in their social circle. She talks about everything and even throws in a few recipes. Everything is told with a spark and often a bit of snark. It kept me interested.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Comin outside.....
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Don't waste your money! Terrible book and an even worse ending
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Short read, the plot feels short
lambiepie More than 1 year ago
A so,so read...could have been better I think