×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Hearts Awakening (Hearts Along the River Book #1)
     

Hearts Awakening (Hearts Along the River Book #1)

4.4 161
by Delia Parr
 

See All Formats & Editions

With no means to support herself, Ellie Kilmer agrees to work as a housekeeper for the young widower who lives on Dillon Island, hopeful she can obtain a proper reference. But Jackson Smith quickly realizes that Ellie's presence may solve his own problems--both the rearing of his young boys and the scandal that surrounds his first marriage.

When a marriage of

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Hearts Awakening 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 161 reviews.
ChristysBookBlog More than 1 year ago
Hearts Awakening by Delia Parr is a very unusual entry in Christian fiction, Ellie Kilmer knows that her dreams of having a husband and raising children of her own will never come true. At thirty-one, with an extremely plain face, she's placed her faith in God that she will find a life that will make her content. Jackson Smith has a proposition that just may fit the bill. He needs a housekeeper and caretaker for his two sons while he cares for the apple orchard on the family island just outside of town, but after just a few days, he realizes that he needs a more permanent position and proposes a marriage of convenience. Jackson is haunted by the scandal of his first wife's death, as well as by the memory of his one true love, and his suspicious nature threatens their business arrangement, but Ellie's strong faith and loving heart just may change both of their hearts. Most romance novels spend plenty of words gushing about the heroine's beauty, and the hero is often head over heels in love from the first glance. Ellie doesn't have that advantage, yet she is a heroine readers will fall in love with from the first page. Fiercely loyal and faithful, she has an beautiful heart. Parr has written a stellar romance that is truly of the heart and raises, through Jackson, the question of what true love really is.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this wonderful historical story over two evenings and just loved it! It was hard to put diwn and I would highly recomend this to anyone!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A spiritual book that uplifts.
daylily5 More than 1 year ago
I am almost finished reading this book and love it! I am not familiar with the author (Delia Parr) but this is an excellent book. I will definately look for her other books. This one is a real page turner!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great story!  Great ending too!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a unique story, well written, with good research. I enjoyed the easy read and I will recommend to my friends.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a really sweet love story. I really enjoyed it.
AAR More than 1 year ago
HEARTS AWAKENING by Delia Parr is a wonderful, touching Inspirational Historical Romance set in 1840 Harrisburg, Pennsylvania. It is fast paced, page turning written with depth and details. It has hope, despair, hurt, anger, betrayal, secrets, mistrust, misunderstanding, faith, hardship, forgiveness, courage, love and strength. The characters jump off the page, they same so real and true. What an enduring story of love and faith. This is a sweet tender love story and the hardship, and devotion two small boys, their father and their new mother endure and come out on top. The hero,Jackson, is a widow of six months, has two small boys, is ridden with scandal of his wife's affair and death.The heroine, Ellie, is a spinster, needs work, is plain, longs for a family of her own and a home of her own. Although, Ellie is plain, has no outer beauty, she has an inner beauty of faith and spirit. Jackson asks Ellie to marry him after only knowing her for two days,She was sent by her cousin to work for Jackson as penance for learning something about her cousin. She agrees to the marriage, they set rules more for her to live by than Jackson. For he has trouble trusting her, due to the scandal around his first wife. What happens is short of a miracle. Jackson sees Ellie's inner beauty and how much she loves him,what their live together could be, his children and her undeterred faith. I would highly recommend this story, especially if you enjoy a beautiful tender love story. This book was received for review and details can be found at Bethany House Publishers and My Book Addiction and More.
CherishD More than 1 year ago
Great book about faith, trust, and finding out that a beautiful heart is more to be treasured than physical beauty. Loved this!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed the characters although i thought Jackson was really self absorded good christian message!
AuntBa More than 1 year ago
Made me laugh and even cry a few times. Love a strong woman who loves the Lord.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This one evolves gtadually. Makes it more interesting. Good story and is clean reading. I like that in a book. You don,t have to skip bedroom scenes to enjoy the read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Truly a good and thought producing story. Found myself praying my own prayers for forgiveness and hope right along with the story characters. Will look for more from this author. Thank you!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldn't detached myself from this book. I found myself lost in these characters and their stories. What a wonderful read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well written. Love historical romance stories and this one did not disappoint . Beautiful story.
Anonymous 7 months ago
The cast of characters especially the heroine was outstanding, along Jackson, although I wish t h ere could have been an epilogue to give more insight as to Jackson finally loving and treasuing Ellie and the noys calking her Mama instead of Mamma Ellie. ***vrnb***
Anonymous 11 months ago
I enjoyed this book very much. &hearts
Anonymous 11 months ago
Amazing
Anonymous 11 months ago
This is an enjoyable, clean book. It moved a bit slowly for me. It has a good message and characters to fall in love with. I would have enjoyed a longer ending. It seemed rather abrupt.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very wordy
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A very heart warming and well written book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
sfsdf
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
After my first read it was so good I have picked up the book and reread several more times. An amazing ugly duckling story line with several twist and turns that keeps you read for the amazing swan story ending!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really felt pulled into the story and was happy with how things turned out.