×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Hearts That Survive
     

Hearts That Survive

4.0 80
by Yvonne Lehman
 

See All Formats & Editions

On April 15, 1912, Lydia Beaumont is on her way to a new life witha boundless hope in love and faith. Her new friendship with Caroline Chadwick is bonded even more as they plan Lydia’s wedding on board the “grandest ship ever built.” Then both women suffer tragic losses when the “unsinkable” Titanic goes down. Can each survive

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Hearts That Survive 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 79 reviews.
danilos More than 1 year ago
Awesome. Worth the money!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Long and drawn out..... The first 100 pages or so of this book were very good and I thought I was really going to enjoy the book, however the last 226 pages were so drawn out...not sure what happened....I felt the author rushed through the first 100 pages and then decided she needed to write more and didn't know how to write it. Half the time I had no idea what decade we were in and I was so lost...I hate to buy a book and not finish it however this book really had me skimming the pages just to get it finished. I enjoy reading books of the Titanic but this was just to long and drawn out.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love anything around Titanic. Bought the book as it was the book of the day. Was curious to see where the book would take me after the sinking, since many movies &books are based on the ship. Wonderful story. Very tasteful on the religion aspect, not overly done. I felt very connected with the woman. Sad to think of the reality of going through what they saw & went through during the sinking & how thet were able to start life over. Wonderful writing, did not drag on & flowed very well. Worthy book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing book! I would recommend to anybody that has ever been in love, lost somebody they loved, or lost any relationship with another person that you truly miss. This story will give you the courage to move forward and soul search your way through designing the life you want to live!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was a great read. I really didn't want to put it down. I fell in love with the characters and I really hated when it ended. It's a very touching story about love found, love lost and doing what must be done for everyone's best interest. It's about friendships begun on board the Titanic which survived the test of time and different circumstances. This is such a touching story line and I loved how a number of the characters shared their faith and certainly made an impact on others around them. Hearts that Survive turned out to be so much better than I expected and I will definitively read other books by this author. There were a few places where the story line was a bit weak but all in all.. I could not put it down and found myself reading through the night to see where it all ends.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Follow the lives of Titanic survivors. Several twists and generations later 2 Ladies have their heirs get together.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it. Would read more of this author.
Pebbles2luv More than 1 year ago
Great book!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought this was a great love story that follows the characters for years after the Titanic sinks! It did have moments that were slow, and at times could be hard to remember how the characters were related, but it was worth sticking it out to the end, at least for me!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The beginnning of the story was pretty good then began to drag in the middle. I normally enoy good historical novels....this was not one of them.
fuzzmom More than 1 year ago
We follow the youthful enthusiasm of Lydia, so in love with her John, as the Titanic sales towards history. A hidden pregnancy, The first ,and last Titanic wedding, and how fate and choices will effect all those who sailed on her maiden voyage. Caroline is not as young, married, childless and comfortable in her niche in life. She yearns for something more, some higher purpose, someone who really needs her. Each has a life shattering experience when the Titanic sinks. Each will make choices that will impact their lives in ways they could never imagine. Each find faith, and that happiness is a choice they each want to make. Life is not easy. Life is not without pain. Life with the Lord includes pain, and challenge, and joy. You will find yourself engrossed in the lives and choices of Lydia and Caroline as they remain fast friends throughout their lives.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book. Wished the ending wasn't so rushed. Would love a sequel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book had such a promising start; the story line and characters were well defined and interesting. But about 2/3 of the way through the book, I had the feeling that the author lost interest. It seemed like it became more of a junior high book report..... this happened, then this happened, and then this happened. In fact, as new generations of characters appeared there was very little character development. I found myself having trouble understanding who everyone was, how they were related, and why they were doing certain things. I finished the book, hoping that it would go back to its earlier details and descriptions, but was disappointed. Too bad.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed following the characters after the sinking of the Titanic and watching as their children grew up. It was a different spin on things. As you read the first few chapters, you may think that it is the same plot as the movie, but it is actually quite different. Keep reading, you will enjoy it.
madmaxine1 More than 1 year ago
This was a beautiful story. It was a great learning experience, as well. Caroline and Bess were my favorite characters in this wonderfully written story. I thoroughly enjoyed and have recommended to my daughter and friends.
Ausonius More than 1 year ago
HEARTS THAT SURVIVE: A NOVEL OF THE TITANIC begins Friday April 12, 1912 out on the chilly North Atlantic. Several weeks pregnant Lydia Beaumont, a 21-year old Englishwoman, stands on deck waiting for her lover, train designer John Ancell to come on deck. When he learns that Lydia is carrying his child, John sets in motion a Sunday evening shipboard marriage by the Captain. Also a poet, John is drowned below decks, having completed a sonnet to his wife and unborn child and sealed it in an empty champagne bottle. *** Decades later that bottle is found and makes it way to Lydia's new husband Craven Dowd (whom Lydia hastily marries after both survive the catastrophe). For years Dowd had assumed or at least accepted that Lydia's son Beau was his, not John's. Craven is President of a great U.S. railroad company created and owned by Lydia's father. Lydia is sole heiress. *** There are, of course, real life survivors of the real sinking of the RMS Titanic. Notable is Mrs Molly Brown, "the unsinkable." She played an active role in the shipboard marriage of socially prominent Lydia and John Ancell but is never heard of again in the novel after her rescue. Her inexplicable public silence is decidedly crucial to ambitious Craven Dowd's immediate cover up of the wedding -- for business reasons (he does not want the remaining Ancell family to claim a portion of the Beaumont railroad empire). *** Lydia's good English friend, wealthy Caroline Chadwick, survived the Titanic, with her maid Bess. Husband Sir William Chadwick, like so many men, was not permitted to find his way into the often underloaded rowboats. Much of this Christian Romance novel tells what happens over the next fifty years to Lydia Beaumont, Caroline Chadwick and Bess, their new loves, including Caroline's romance with Halifax lawyer Armand Bettencourt. Tragically widowed Bettencourt is persuaded by Craven Dowd to help with legal affairs newly widowed Caroline Chadwick. *** In her lifeboat in April 1915 Caroline had tended the shortly to be orphaned noble children Henry and Phoebe Stanton-Jones whose widowed father and grandmother, Titanic passengers would go down with the ship. Their father was a distinguished novelist. *** There is room in HEARTS THAT SURVIVE to wait patiently for the later lives of Phoebe and Henry, both raised by American relatives in Caifornia. Henry turned out badly but by novel's end his son found love with the granddaughter of another Titanic survivor. *** HEARTS THAT SURVIVE is complex, even sprawling. Its strongest passages describe the panic, courage and male cowardice (including Craven Dowd's) in the hours after the unsinkable Titanic scraped along an iceberg. The narrative's weaknesses include a general failure to indicate clearly the nationality of some of the key characters, compounded by the fact that Britons, Nova Scotians and American all sound alike. This is, nonetheless, a notably better than average effort and is a good sign that within another novel or two North Carolina novelist Yvonne Lehman may produce a long work of fiction even better. *** DISCLAIMER: Yvonne Lehman and I live in the same small town of Black Mountain, North Carolina, near Asheville. We are friends, although, in general, I am not a fan of Romance fiction, Christian or otherwise. -OOO-
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A great story of survial and love after a great tragedy. I loved the story it also gave us a glimpse of life whenn you have to go on without the ones you love. Trust in gods love.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought it was well worth the read even though it was somewhat predictable. It was nice to read a book without crude language. Nice message.