×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Heat Seeker (Elite Ops Series)
  • Alternative view 1 of Heat Seeker (Elite Ops Series)
  • Alternative view 2 of Heat Seeker (Elite Ops Series)
     

Heat Seeker (Elite Ops Series)

4.0 205
by Lora Leigh
 

See All Formats & Editions

John Vincent has always led a life of danger, and now he has every reason to want to remain as dead as the obituary in the Australian papers had proclaimed him to be. He'd left nothing behind in the life he had once led—except for one woman, and one night of unforgettable passion. Now, both will return to haunt him…

Bailey Serborne is still tormented

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Heat Seeker (Elite Ops Series) 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 205 reviews.
SavvyReader More than 1 year ago
Basically in Heat Seeker you have billionairess ex-CIA operative pretending to be disenchanted with government Bailey Serborne hooking up with John Vincent, who is really her old partner and lover of one night former Australian Secret Intelligent Agent Trent Daylen, who like the other elite ops under Jordan Malone was "killed" and returned to life under another identity. Vincent like the rest owes Malone ten years of his life in return. If this long run on sentence has you confused, well the book was somewhat confusing with all of the ins and outs about who knew what, when, and where. Serborne and Vincent are hot on the trail of one shadowy figure known as Warbucks who has stolen a top secret weapon, Crossfire, from one of Bailey's plants. Warbucks has been a shadowy arms and terrorist for years. Everything starts to converge in Aspen, CO. Yes there are the steamy romance scenes Leigh is known for, but there were so many of them that they began to feel forced. In fact, at one point I thought perhaps the author wrote these first and then fashioned a convoluted, unbelievable plot around them. Both Serborne and Vincent seemed more like cardboard characters than real people. And the main reason I gave the book two stars is due to the unbelievably sloppy editing in the book. There were grammatical issues. Dialogue without quotes which had you going back a bit to see if someone was saying the sentence or if it was actually description. There is some math that Leigh appeared to incorrectly add with regards to Trent/John being dead--like one plus five equals five instead of six. There is at least one place where Bailey's last name goes from Serborne to Serbourne. And then the main gaffe which almost every reader most likely caught is towards the end of the book when Warbucks has Mary. Right in the middle of the scene the book starts referring to her as Jules. And I believe if I remember correctly both names occurred in either one sentence or two sentences next to each other. Like many others I'm sure, I was paging backwards to figure out if I had somehow in my boredom missed a key character. And for a minute I thought I really spaced and was in the middle of a Suzanne Brockmann novel featuring Jules Cassidy! It is just genuinely hard to believe NO ONE caught this one error at least! Not Leigh herself, whoever read the book for editing mistakes, nor the printer/publisher with the final read through. Unbelievably sloppy on everyone's part. I'll continue reading the series, but this one really fell flat in my estimation.
caramia2 More than 1 year ago
I would recommend this book to everyone, it is a great book and has a great story inside. It is thrilling and steaming and romantic.
steph789j More than 1 year ago
I love every book Lora Leigh has ever written, except this one! It is such a disappointment. I usually read her books in two or three days, but this one is still unfinished and I started it two weeks ago. The main characters are not developed, the story drones on and on about terrorist groups and weapons instead of concentrating on the characters. I have to say this is the worst book she has ever published. I feel like she may be running out of dialog with this series.
kjb192 More than 1 year ago
First of all, whoever edited this book should be fired. Secondly, the plot, if you can call it that, was convoluted and unbelievable. An heiress became a cia agent at 18 - really, in who's world? The leaps of logic we were asked to make was not possible. This book was so boring and unbelievable that I skipped whole pages. Recently, all of Ms. Leigh's books are the same book over and over with only name changes. I believe that I have read the last one from this author.
jessieLsmb More than 1 year ago
I'm a huge fan of Lora Leigh and everything she writes. I love the Elite Ops Series, but I have to say that this one didn't do it for me. It was pretty much a repeat of two books shes written in the past combined together to get a new book. It was even a bit boring. Maybe I'm being to hard, but I've waited a very long time for this book and I feel like she just was trying to reach a deadline or something. Such a disappointment. Sorry but I hope she gets back on track.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read all the Elit Ops book and Loved every one of them! I totally recommend the series. All the books blend in with the next and am looking forward to reading more of Lora Leigh's books!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another great book from Lora, just love this series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lora Leigh delivers again. If you like romance with a story, the elite ops series is for you. The story is full of suspense. The twist and turns will leave you breathless. The characters are realistic and full of life. John is a man any woman would desire. Bailey would be an example for any woman to aspire to.
Kayleen Grady More than 1 year ago
So hot. Loved this book.
LynnG More than 1 year ago
She is one of the best. I can't get enought of her books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Bailey is continuing her crusade to find the men/man responsible for her parents death. She has quit the CIA to focus on her own investigation and has gotten close enough that she will catch the killer. In comes the elite ops. John is sent in since he has had a relationship with Bailey in the past before his "death". He must work with her to bring the killer to justice. Whats different in this novel from Maverick and Wild Card is that the hero doesnt have as much baggage as Micah and Noah. He has managed to maintain his happy persona and readers are not given the emotional and traumatic issues from the prior heroes. I was more caught in the mystery and suspense aspect of this story than the romance between the heroine and hero. Not due to any fault of Leigh, the story was just that compelling because it continues the trail of Orion from Maverick. I really enjoyed Bailey's character and she had a lot more strength than Risa(obviously) and Bella, who could barely function after her husbands "death". This story was more upbeat and it didnt take long for Bailey to learn who John vincent really was although I think she fought the knowledge to avoid accepting that he walked away from her in the past. Worth the read, continues the story line and Leigh fans will enjoy. There are still a couple other "dead" agents to cover and I'm very curious to find out who Tehya was in her "past life". ...Reese
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amanda13AJ More than 1 year ago
Great read...and series!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am really enjoying this series..so enjoyable to read and keeps me interested in it all..Hard to put down
Anonymous More than 1 year ago