×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Hello, Goodbye Window
  • Alternative view 1 of The Hello, Goodbye Window
  • Alternative view 2 of The Hello, Goodbye Window
  • Alternative view 3 of The Hello, Goodbye Window
<Previous >Next
     

The Hello, Goodbye Window

4.0 37
by Norton Juster, Chris Raschka (Illustrator)
 

See All Formats & Editions

This is a love song devoted to that special relationship between grandparents and grandchild.
The kitchen window at Nanna and Poppy's house is, for one little girl, a magic gateway. Everything important happens near it, through it, or beyond it. Told in her voice, her story is both a voyage of discovery and a celebration of the commonplace wonders that define

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Hello, Goodbye Window 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 36 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a wonderful story of a little girl who stays with grandma and grandpa while her parents go to work each day. My husband and I took care of our two grandchildren everyday too. I used to read this book to my granddaughter and grandson each day at nap time when they were ages 3 and 4, and for years after. Now they're ages 7 and 9 and they like to read it to me from time to time. It was definitely our favorite, and now it's an old friend we still enjoy together. In fact, I'm going to a close friend's daughter's baby shower this weekend and we're suppose to bring a children's book... I bought this one : )
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of my favorite books of All Time... I read it to my grandaughter and fell in love with the way you can make it your own and read it any 'quirky way you want. I'll have to get another as my oldest moved and took it with her so I need another for my youngest grandchildren. Sooo Fun to read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As a Nanna and Poppy we were drawn to the story. Our grandchildren - ages 2 & 3 - love the story and ask to read it again and again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I didn't really appreciate this book until I read it aloud to my three year old daughter (she JUST turned three). It is told through a child's point of view as she describes the time she spends at her grandparent's house. She describes the activities, most of which are quite ordinary, made special and extraordinary by the little quirks that make these experiences uniquely hers. It reminds me of how I perceived my experiences at my grandparents' houses when I was a small child. We've read this book many times, at my daughter's request. The illustrations are a bit abstract but didn't seem to be a turn off to my daughter. I like how she's getting exposed to a different type of illustration style. It's really a lovely book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book and I would recommend it to both children and adults. This book shows the joys of childhood. It takes you back to the creative and imaginative world of children. It illustrates the special bond and relationship between children and grandparents. It is fun and easy for children to read and understand. The pictures are beautiful and pleasurable to look at. As a teacher I would use it in my classroom as a read aloud and discussion book. This book brings up the topics of childhood, family, and growing up. Important topics for children to discuss and understand. I truly enjoyed this book and I am excited to one day share it to my students in my classroom.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Norton Juster is a retired architect, retired teacher, a grandfather, and a writer. He is the author of The Phantom Tollbooth, The dot and the Line, and The Hello, Goodbye Window. Chris Raschka has produced works that include Happy to Be Nappy, little tree, Be Boy Buzz, Skin Again, and The Hello, Goodbye Window. Raschka won the 2006 Caldecott Medal for The Hello, Goodbye Window. Nanna and Poppy live in a great big house that has lots of windows, but only one special hello, goodbye window. This window is located in the kitchen where anyone that comes to visit can be seen before they reach the door. When Nanna and Poppy are not looking, the little girl likes to play jokes on them. At night, her and Poppy use the window as a mirror. Nanna told her that the window is magic, and you never know who may come along. She wants a window just like Nanna and Poppy¿s when she grows up.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I absolutly loved this book! It is about a child who believes that the window in their parents house is a magic window! The grandmother says ' The window is a magic getaway, everything important happens buy this window'. She also tells her that ' ITs a magic window and anyone can come along when you least expect it! The girl uses her imagination and this window becomes her favorite place! IT is great in showing the relationship between grandparents and grandchildren!! IT is a great book for 2nd!Juster, Norton. The Hello, Goodbye Window. New York, NY: Text Copyright, 2005.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The 2006 Caldecott Medal Winner is an excellent book with beautiful illustrations. It is a story about a girl and the way she sees her Nanna and Poppy's house. She gazes through the kitchen window and sees that it is more than a window to view the outside, but can be used as a mirror or a way to say hello to the garden or the stars. The story shows how much the girl loves her gradparents and enjoys visiting their house. This is a great story that both my children enjoyed. They could relate to the girl because they both enjoy visits to their grandparents.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Hello, Goodbye Window is a realistic fiction story about a little girl who visits her grandparents and always stops at the kitchen window of their home before entering. She says, ¿It looks like a regular window, but it¿s not¿. She goes on to explain what makes this window so special. It was the Caldecott Award Winner in 2006. This is a heartwarming story that all kids will enjoy, especially if they spend much time with their grandparents. This book would be most appropriate for children ages 4-8. The author, Norton Juster, is a retired teacher and architect. He is a father and a grandfather. He is the author of the children¿s classic The Phantom Tollbooth. The Hello, Goodbye Window is his first picture book. The illustrator of this book is Chris Raschka. His titles include Happy to Be Nappy, little tree, Be Boy Buzz, and Skin Again. Juster, Norton. The Hello, Goodbye Window. New York: Hyperion Books for Children, 2005.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. I thought that the illustrations were captivating and told the story even without the words. This book is about a little girl that loves looking out the window of her grandparent's house to see who is coming to the house or who is leaving the house. She loves to wave when people pass. She says, 'It looks like a regular window, but it's not.' She says that she can see the pizza man when he gets there. Later in the story, she says, 'When I get tired I come in and take my nap and nothing happens until I get up.' This shows that she is a very young child and that the story would be appealing to a young audience of children. Norton Juster was born June 2, 1929. He is an architect, writer, and teacher, his architectural career being most important to him since a young child. Before he established his architectural career, he served in the United States Navy. He was a professor at Hampshire College teaching architecture and environmental from 1970 until he retired in 1992. Juster, Norton. Hello, Goodbye Window. New York: Michael Di Capua Books, 2005.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Norton Juster, born 6-2-1929, wanted to be an architect ever since he was a child. He served in the navy before he became an architect. Later he became a teacher. He taught architecture and environmental design at Hampshire College, where he retired. After his retirement he and his wife moved to Amherst, MA, where he wrote 'The Hello Goodbye Window¿. In this adorable book a young girl explains the joy and wonders that are the kitchen window. She explains how she and her grandparents communicate through the window. They play with each other through the window and build fond memories together. The book is illustrated with vibrant colorful pictures. They catch the eye and spark the imagination. I would highly recommend this book. Juster, Norton. The Hello Goodbye Window. Hyperion Books for Children, 2005. Reading Level 3.5
Guest More than 1 year ago
Caldecott Book Title: The Hello, Goodbye Window Reading Level: Third Grade Genre: Fiction About the Author: Norton Juster is an architect, a retired teacher and a grandfather, as well as a writer. He is the author of the children¿s classic The Phantom Tollbooth and the mathematical romance The Dot and the Line. The Hello Goodbye Window is his first picture book. Book Review: The Hello, Goodbye Window is a story about a little girl who goes to visit her grandparents. The kitchen window at her Nanna and Poppy¿s house is a special window and it¿s the ¿hello, goodbye window¿. Everything important happens near it, through it, and beyond it. When the little girl arrives at her grandparents¿ house, she greets them through the window. ¿If they see you first, they wave and make silly faces.¿ Poppy pretends to talk to the reflected images. ¿What are you doing out there? You come right in and have your dinner¿, he said. Her Nanna plays peek a boo with her through the magic window. ¿Sometimes Nanna peek-a-boos me, which always makes me laugh.¿ The little girl decides when you grows up she might be a Nanna herself and have her own special ¿hello, goodbye window¿, too. This is a heart warming story that displays the affection a little girl has for her grandparents. It was very enjoyable to read and was written in kid talk. Kids of all ages would enjoy this book. Bibliographic Information: Juster, Norton. The Hello, Goodbye Window. New York: Michael Di Capua Books, 2005.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I think this book is really cute. The text seems like it is actually coming from a child. The pictures are amazing. I love the bright and bold colors and how they look like a child has drawn them. I think that's part of what children enjoy about this book, they can connect with the illustrations because they are like their own drawings. Nothing is perfect in his drawings and this allows for children to use their imagination and have fun with the book. I also like how the ethnicity of the characters is not specified by his drawings. You really can't tell their ethnicity by the colors he uses, which is another reason that all children can make a connection with the book. In my opinion, this book was worthy of the Caldecott medal.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is a great story that I really enjoyed. The theme of the book is one that children of all ages are able to enjoy and reread over and over again. The story deals with a young girl who loves to look out the window and her grandparents house and wave hello and good-bye to all the people that passes by. Juster currently lives in Amherst, MA with his wife, Jeanne. Although he has retired from architecture, he still writes. This book is excellent for children in the third grade because the concept is something they can understand and emphasize with.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Do you have a favorite memory of visiting with your grandparnets? In the book The Hello, Goodby Window a little girl enjoys time with her Nana and Poppy, especially when they spend time in the kitchen where a window is. The book explains that 'it looks like a regular window' but guess what, 'it's a magic window.' If you want to know why you'll have to read the book! The author of this book is Norton Juster, he was born in 1929, serviced in the U.S. Navy, and was an architect and teacher. He now is retired and lives in Amhurst Massuchesetts. This is a good book for children ages 4 to 9. Juster, Norton. The Hello, Goodbye Window. New York: Hyperion Books for Children, 2005.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Hello Goodbye Window, Juster, Norton.New York: Michael Di Capua Books/Hyperion Books for Children, 2005. RL: Ages 4-8, Grades K-2. Do you have special memories with your grandparents? Maybe a special weekend filled with activity that sticks out in you mind. The Hello Goodbye Window is an awesome Caldecott winning book that captures the special memories that a little girls shares with her grandparents. The author, Norton Juster is a former architect and writes children books in his home in Amherst, MA. This book is beautifully illustrated and very appelaing to kids of all ages.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Shawna Wyatt Book Review The Hello Goodbye window Authored By: Norton Juster The Hello -Goodbye window s an excellent book to use with lower elementary school children this book has vibrant pictures that all children would enjoy. The book also will bring out children¿s imagination and creative ideas. In the book a little girl uses her grandparent¿s kitchen window as a means to say ¿Hello¿ and ¿Goodbye¿ also she uses the window for her imagination and play. EXCELLENT BOOK!!!!! Norton Juster an architect who is retired a teacher and also retired. He is a new grandfather as well as a writer.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Hello Goodbye Window The Hello, Goodbye Window is a special window that is full of imaginations and dreams. A Poppy and Nana, share a special bond with their granddaughter and this one particular window in the kitchen. The window is used for saying hello and goodbye to people who came and go. Nana sometimes watches her husband and granddaughter through the window making funny face at them as they play outside. A night time Nana and her granddaughter sit by the window counting and naming the stars. If you look close into the window sometime who can even see dinosaurs, but not often because they are extinct! It¿s great for Nana because she can keep a close watch on her garden to make sure that the neighbors¿ dog is not destroying things. The best part is when the granddaughter¿s parents come to pick her up, Nana and Poppy stand at the window waving goodbye. Norton Juster does an exceptional job of describing the relationship between the granddaughter and her grandparents. The illustrations done by Chris Raschka sparkle with bright colors and make the book come to life. Juster, Norton. The Hello, Goodbye Window. New York: Scholastic Inc, 2005
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Hello, Goodbye Window is a story about a little girl who goes to visit her grandparents. When she is at her Nana and Poppy¿s house she is always passing by the 'hello, goodbye window'. It is the window in the kitchen of Nanna and Poppy's house. 'It looks like a regular window, but it's not'. The hello, goodbye window is special. When the little girl first arrives she greets her grandparents through at the window before she goes inside. When she leaves it's where they say their last goodbyes. During the visit, they all spend a lot of time together in the kitchen looking through the window. The little girl and her Poppy look at the window one night and they see their reflections through the window like a mirror. It looks like they are outside looking in. Poppy pretends to talk to the reflected images. 'What are you doing out there? You come right in and have your dinner', he said. 'The Hello, Goodbye Window' is a heartwarming book that portrays the affection a young child has for her grandparents. It is written in kid talk. It's about being together with family and those that you love. It's about sharing what you have, in this case it was time, fun, experiences and love. The window also serves as that constant we sometimes have in our lives in a place where we can be ourselves and be safe. Something that connects us to what's around us and the people around us.