×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Help
     

The Help

4.5 18477
by Kathryn Stockett
 

See All Formats & Editions

Be prepared to meet three unforgettable women:

Twenty-two-year-old Skeeter has just returned home after graduating from Ole Miss. She may have a degree, but it is 1962, Mississippi, and her mother will not be happy till Skeeter has a ring on her finger. Skeeter would normally find solace with her beloved maid Constantine, the woman who raised her, but

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Help 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 18477 reviews.
Tarasview More than 1 year ago
I absolutely LOVED this book. Kathryn Stockett did an amazing job. I loved how the story was written from the perspectives of the different women. I enjoyed seeing the world through their very different eyes and watching them develop throughout the story. The beautifully descriptive writing drew me in and made me feel like I was right there. This is an intense story of how these different women deal with the issue of racism during the civil rights movement. It is a poignant and deeply moving novel. I didn't want the book to end. I think this book would make an amazing movie as well. I would highly recommend this book to everyone.
evanescenceSE More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best books I have read. It's touching, inspirational and absolutely unforgettable. From the beginning of the book I was drawn in, felt with the characters and learnt from them. Awesome read- that will want you to put this book on your top shelf.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Download the help for free from here tiny.cc/hbvzd
1Katherine1 More than 1 year ago
Kathryn Stockett has written a marvelous book -- the southern voices are right, the stories of the women draw you in with their resourcefulness and courage. Memphis, where I grew up, was where the Delta began, and she described that world perfectly -- the maids in their uniforms, the restrictions, the distrust. I couldn't put it down, but then I was sorry when I finished because I wanted to read more about Skeeter and Minny and all the others. I hope she writes a sequel.
theReader278 More than 1 year ago
This was a fun read. I loved the story. Can only recommend.
LCH47 More than 1 year ago
Set in Mississippi in the 1960's, Stockett captured the personalities of the black maids and Southern Belles so perfectly, it read like a non-fiction biography. What an inspiration to human beings everywhere! The insight into human behavior couldn't have been done better! This book should be mandatory reading in every school curriculum! Touching! Heartfelt! Heartbreaking! Uplifting! Inspiring! Such compassion! Such strength! Such perseverance! Such courage! This is a TRUE MASTERPIECE!!! Some other books I've read that left their messages imbedded in my mind forever, I recommend...
MangoCE More than 1 year ago
I originally purchased this as an audio book for a 15 hour cross country drive. The characters fostered such a range of emotions in me that all that mental activity just kept me charged up for the entire drive. The author offers first person narration as a tool for getting the reader inside the head and heart of the books main characters. There is tension and suspense and alot of humor. Thank heaven for the humor! When I was finished with the audio book, I gave it to this friend and that friend to take on their trips, but I so missed Skeeter and the other characters that I went out and bought the book, so I can carry it with me and read the characters' narrations at different points in the book. I haven't enjoyed anything about the South this much since Credence Clearwater Revival's Southern Rock or Harper Lee's To Kill a Mockingbird.
Lastmate More than 1 year ago
I became completely immersed in the story of the 3 main characters. As a resident of a border state, I remember taking a Greyhound bus through southern states as a young teen enroute to visit my Grandfather in FLA during the early 60's, and being apalled at the "white" and "colored" signs on restrooms, drinking fountains, etc., and the shantytowns we traveled through. And I remember my own working Mom hiring a black woman to do some ironing in our home, and wondering when and how she could do that all day, 6 days a week for different families, and still take care of her own 5 young children. Later, I knew people in CA whose Mexican maids and nannies raised and loved their children, though the employees' own kids the same age or younger, had been left behind with relatives. I suppose that still goes on. This book makes you think about segregation, civil rights and the race/class divide in the south like Uncle Tom's Cabin made people think about slavery. I understand why H.B. Stowe, a white woman, had to be the one to open our eyes about slavery in 1857--but not why a gifted black author didn't beat Kathryn Stockett to the presses with an equally-well-written (as The Help) account of life as experienced by domestic servants in white southern households during the pre-civil-rights era.
mooneab More than 1 year ago
Such an amazing book. My only expectation going in was that it was on the bestsellers list, and I've heard a lot about it. I didn't realize what an addicting story these three women had me in store for. It was suspenseful at times, touching, supremely entertaining, and finally wonderfully pulled together. I haven't enjoyed a book this much in quite a few months. If you haven't read it yet, please pick up a copy and get to it!
curlyjessi More than 1 year ago
I jsut finished this book yesterday, and I was suprised that I liked it as much as I did. A friend of mine recommended it to me, and it's not typically the type of book that I usually pick. However, with that being said, I'm so glad that I gave this a chance. I felt that the author did a great job with the dialect of the maids, and that she captured the time period in the South perfectly. I will recommend this book to my family and friends.
-JACKI- More than 1 year ago
This is a wonderful portrayal of the painful, unfair bias and prejudice of the time but also about human kindness, goodwill, and fairness. I loved the different vantage points, so the reader can see into the thought process of all concerned. This is full of wonderful lessons to us human beings, some probably won't GET IT but I'm quite sure most will be brought to tears if there is a heart beating in their chests!
Love2Read68 More than 1 year ago
I have seen this book every time I went to the bookstore. But the cover never really kept me captivated enough to want to go buy it. Over Christmas my sister-in-law recommended it to me. But I was skeptical. A week later I was getting my car oil changed and another woman was reading this book. She was halfway through it and recommended it. I had just gotten a nook and decided to download the book. I could not stop reading it. It's not "thrilling" or "suspenseful". But it is by far a beautifully written novel that makes you think about the lives of the women in the south in the 60's and the huge discrepencies between people at that time. I didn't want the book to end and towards the end I was crying. The book did indeed feel as if you were watching a movie. I do hope they make this book into a movie. I would recommend this book 10 times over anyone. This is a must read!
maggieNJ More than 1 year ago
I am midway through this book and am totally involved in the story and the characters. For a first novel this is beautifully done. Others have given more detailed reviews, all I can say is, read it.
DoodlebugNC More than 1 year ago
I am a voracious reader who enjoys bestsellers, classics, poetry, all types of literature. This is one of the best books I have ever read. It is touching, inspirational, a compelling plot and characters. When I finished it, I had chills all over! Must read for anyone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I picked this book up on a whim. No previous knowledge about the book or the author. Absolutely loved reading it and in the dialect it was written, at times, was a joy to read it out loud. This was a very touching story about people and the times in which they lived. I had a few laugh out loud moments and shed a tear as well. Reminds us all to remain vigilant and keep the word of doing unto others as you would have them do unto you.
emnara_jayne More than 1 year ago
I woke up early and stayed up late to read this book! I finished it in 3 days. I enjoyed the writing style and the flow although I do feel that as it wraps up it becomes less realistic. This book sparked a debate between my husband and I regarding whether or not a white writer is capable of portraying a black woman in Jackson, Mississippi in the 1960's. I was pleased to see in the author's note (in the back of the book) she addressed this issue as something she greatly struggled with. No one can be fully put into another person's shoes but the struggle to understand each other is how we grow as a human collective. I highly recommend this book. It was an easy read, I felt I was able to connect and care about the characters, and its thought-provoking.
gazebo More than 1 year ago
I had seen this book on the bestseller lists for ages, but didn't think it was something I would be interested in. Finally I broke down and bought it and discovered a great new book! Now, I've sent the book to my mother, sister, and friends.
Saspants More than 1 year ago
I was riveted to my Nook while reading this book. I felt such attachment to the so many of the characters. We all have a "Hilly" in our lives, someone who no matter how hateful and undeserving, seem to have everything. I love Aibileen and her love for the children she cares for and how she tries to teach them to be positive about themselves and others, we are all the same no matter our color. In all honesty I think Minny is my favorite, she is a little firecracker of a woman who speaks her mind no matter the consequences. You know you are really enjoying a book when you are casting characters in your head for the movie and I hope this does get made into a movie. Wonderful story.
granbyjillo More than 1 year ago
This was recommended from several friends. Once I started reading, I couldn't wait to pick it up. Best part was the character development. Second was the subject matter. Having always lived in the Northeast, it gave me lots to think about.
MysticTravel More than 1 year ago
This was the first book I purchased for my Nook. It was so good that I went and bought a "real" copy for my daughter and sent it to her. I sat down with it for a few minutes just to get the "feel" of it and 3 hours later, I was still reading it. I read it nearly straight through and was sorry when I finished it the next day. It left me wanting to know more. The only real criticism I have is that the ending was a bit flat. I recommend this to anyone who likes to know all sides of a story. You will love the characters, even the ones you don't like!
angiej More than 1 year ago
At first I was a bit skeptical about this book since its based in 1960s Jacksonville, Mississippi but I couldn't put it down! The author did a very good job of creating a positive relationship between black and white southerners while at the same time exposing the negative effects of racism during that time. I would recommend this book to anyone!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just couldn't put this book down! I found myself reading it any spare moments I had--at the park with my kids, during my lunch hour at work, sneaking a page here and there... It read like a gossipy television soap opera, but still gave me pause to think about my life and how I choose to live it, and how we all affect those around us. I regretted reaching the last page and wish I could continue to peek into the lives of these wonderful women.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have at least one hundred books on CD and this is the best I have ever heard. Each reader does their character to perfection and the story line has everything....it's heartwarming, sad, shocking, funny and with a good ending. I got the unabridged version and, as luck would have it, I got the flu the day the package arrived so I was able to listen to the whole story almost non stop. What a treat. I'm sure I will play it many times. This book is a treasure.
AvidReader8 More than 1 year ago
I was captivated by the characters and storyline from the first page! The author maintains a delicate balance between the characters while helping the reader understand the separate worlds the characters occupied. It is very true to the South of the 1960's. The plot is not contrived and the author's style of writing keeps you intrigued. I had a hard time putting this book down once I started.
ajreinecke More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. It brought the 1960's into real life for me and made me feel the pain that blacks had to of felt during that time being treated so poorly. It's amazing how things have changed! I recommend this book to everyone, it's a great choice for a book club book...we had lots to discuss!