×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Henry and the Paper Route
     

Henry and the Paper Route

4.0 42
by Beverly Cleary, Tracy Dockray (Illustrator), Louis Darling (Illustrator)
 

See All Formats & Editions

Henry Huggins was busy picking the cover off an old golf ball one afternoon when it occurred to him that was a pretty silly thing to do. Then just as he was seized by the urge to do something really important, Scooter McCarthy tossed a folded newspaper at his feet. Suddenly Henry knew that delivering papers was exactly what he wanted to do. It was important and it

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 37 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a great book read morn beverly clary books its the best
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I like beverly cleary how about you. Well i sure do she is like the awesomest author. One of her first books i ever read was mouse on the motorcycle. And then i read dear mr.henshaw. That was a really good book. And then i read mouse on the motorcycel but i only half way thourgh. I also like boxcar children my mommy gave me book one of boxcar children and then she gave me book two but i never really read it. The first book was really good
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Should I get this?
Guest More than 1 year ago
This story is about an eleven year old boy named Henry Huggins.One day Scooter, henry's friend, was throwing newspapers and Henry asked what he was doing. He said he was a paperboy and Henry wanted to do it too,but he wasn't old enough. Henry went and told the bossof the Journal Newspaper that he could fo it too. In the meantime, Henry couldn't pass up the offer of six kittens, a nickel apiece.Many other problems start coming up, but in the meantime Henry comes up with an idea to be a succesful paperboy and it involves using Ramona, alttle girl Henry hates. Henry changes ecause he has found more of himself.He also found a way to be nice to Ramona even though he hates her.He knows she can be useful. This story taks place Klickat street in a subdivsion. I think the theme of the story is that you cando things even though you are young, and people who you think are weird can be useful and aren't so bad after all.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My teacher is reading this book to our class, and it sounds so good I am buying it here!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Trains his charmeleon, cyndaquil, magicarp, pikachu, pidgey, and cranidos.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Help im locked outta everywhere
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lisa Goodkin More than 1 year ago
this book was a fun read but i just wasnt feeling it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Book_loving_mom_of_3 More than 1 year ago
Henry wants his own paper route because he wants something important to do. The action isn't gripping, but the characters are likable as always, and the sidestories are interesting: how Henry gets a kitten, how Henry succeeds (too well) with the school paper drive, how he befriends the new "genius" kid on the block, and, of course, how he deals with Ramona, whose 4-year-old ways provie an obstacle now and then. I think "Henry Huggins" and "Ribsy" are a bit better, but if you enjoy Henry and his straightforward way of looking at things, this one is worthwhile too.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This story is about an eleven year oldoy named Henry Hugins.One day Scooter,Henry's friend,was throwing newspapers and Henry asked what he was doing. He said he was a paperboy and Henry wanted to do it too,but he wsn't old enough.Henry went and told the boss of the Journal Newspaper that he could do it too.In the meantime,Henry couldn't pass up the offer of six kittens,a nickel a piece.Henry takes them home and his parents don't want them in the house,so he tries to give them away free with every newspaper,but it doesn't work.Many otheer problems start coming up,but in the meantime,Henry comes upwith an idea to be succesful paperboy and it invovles Ramona, a little girl Henry hates . henrychanges because he has found more of himself.He alsofound a way to be nice to Ramona,even though he hates her.He knows she can be useful, so he isn't as mean to her anymore. This story takes place onklickat street in a subdivison. The setting helps Henry because he has to deliver papers to to all the houses. I think the theme of the story wasthat you can do things even though you are young, and people can be useful even though you hate them.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago