×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Henry VIII: The King and His Court
  • Alternative view 1 of Henry VIII: The King and His Court
  • Alternative view 2 of Henry VIII: The King and His Court
     

Henry VIII: The King and His Court

4.1 57
by Alison Weir
 

See All Formats & Editions

For fans of Wolf Hall, Alison Weir’s New York Times bestselling biography of Henry VIII brilliantly brings to life the king, the court, and the fascinating men and women who vied for its pleasures and rewards.

“WEIR’S BOOK OUTSHINES ALL PREVIOUS STUDIES OF HENRY. Beautifully written, exhaustive in its research, it is a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Henry VIII 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 57 reviews.
Melissa_W More than 1 year ago
No one does detailed work quite like Alison Weir. She meticulously describes clothing, interiors, architectural work, familial relationships, marriages, everything in her history of Henry VIII and his Court. Wolsey, Cromwell, and Cranmer are described, both professionally and personally, in detail as well as details of how Tudor royal households are set up and maintained (at times there are Households, too). All the intricate twists and turns of patronage, petitioning, and court life are presented in full but the result isn't tedious or boring; Weir manages to maintain a very readable style. Because Weir often alludes to certain historical facts, she tends to move forward and backward in time when describing individual persons and alludes to future events within her narrative so a basic knowledge of Tudor history is assumed. I thought this was a superbly rendered historiography, probably the best one of Weir's I've read so far, and she also provides extensive endnotes and bibliographies.
KTW More than 1 year ago
When all is said and done I enojed the book. Ms. Weir although she warns the reader in her inroduction that she will devote much time to the deatails of court life, I thought she has a tendency to cover the same ground over and over again. Anyone who wants to understand this historical period will serve themselves well by reading this book. In her notes at the back of the book Alison Weir references the BBC 1970's 6 part series. I watched it after I finished reading the book....it was a great compliment to her book. Follow the historcal period and read about Quenn Elizabeth. Back to back the two were great.
AlyoshaJI More than 1 year ago
Alison Weir is a first-rate historian of Tudor England. At the same time, she has a gift for making all of her characters and the era in which they lived come alive to the reader.
IFly2Eat More than 1 year ago
There is no doubt Alison Weir is a royalist. That in no way takes away from the historical work she is doing. As a fan of history, I believe her work on the British royal families is some of the most intriguing and provocative work I have read. The footnotes and sourcing are tremendous. The information is well organized and makes for a great read. Highly recommended.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Ms. Weir has done an excellent job in portraying the personalities, furnishings, buildings, and traits of Henry VIII's court. This book is chock-full of detail and completely covers the era of this famous king. A question amidst the detail not covered? Check the outstanding 'notes' section and your query will be answered. I have read EVERYTHING ever written about Henry Tudor's court and this book is an absolute gem. A definite 'must have' for the Tudor fan.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is a must read for anybody interested in Tudor history. Alison Weir is a wonderful author..she could make a grocery list sound intriguing. That said, read this book, then follow up with her other books on the Tudors. You won't be disappointed.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is extremely detailed and obviously painstakingly researched. I found a few chapters to be slow, but overall the book painted a vivid portrait of what court life was like in the time of Henry VIII. This book was very informative and enjoyable.
Quilterofnote More than 1 year ago
I always get a kick out of people who read a history book, and complain that there's too much history in it! Those darn "names of people and places" written by a person with a shaky grasp of the English language. Also, the book is about Henry VIII, not Henry VII!! Maybe that's where their confusion lies. This was a very well researched, with the kind of detail that I like. I would have liked a bit more on the music at court, but that's just me. Very enjoyable!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Picking up this book in hopes of becoming more familiar with a seemingly larger than life man, a reader can be dissapointed. Very few of the first one hundred pages of the book have anything to do with a chronological life history of Henry VII. I am now very well aquainted with the things he owned, the etiquette at his court, and the hundreds of names of those who surounded him, but Henry remained a mystery to me to the very end. I found myself skipping paragraphs describing the work he funded for his many properties hoping that it would become a more interesting read. Unfortunatly, it didn't. It is very well researched but as a biography, it leaves me hunting for another book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Schapps More than 1 year ago
Very interesting, thorough and easy to read account of Henry VIII
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very helpful and detailed from what was swrved at every banquet, to the way everything was celebrated, the ranks, behavior, clothes, gifts and also on every important courtier of Henry VIII's court.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Many ddetails that create a clear picture of the man and his times.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very informative but not dry. Loved the emphasis that is placed on the court.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago