×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Hero (Cat Star Chronicles Series #6)
     

Hero (Cat Star Chronicles Series #6)

4.4 88
by Cheryl Brooks
 

See All Formats & Editions

She's the last of her kind...and the only one for him.

Micayla is the last Zetithian female left in the universe. She doesn't know what's normal for her species, but she knows when she sees Trag that all she wants to do is bite him
Trag has sworn he'll never marry unless he can find a Zetithian female. But now that he's finally found Micayla

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Hero 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 88 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Since his brother Tychar found his soul mate (see Rogue), Trag the Zetithian is depressed though he feels great for his sibling as he wants the same thing for himself. An outlaw on many planets, he is careful even when he offers to pay for sex; his talent insures he never has to remit any money as women find him to be the sexual encounter of a lifetime. Still he dreams of meeting a female especially from his now destroyed species, but fears no soulmate exists for him. He is especially despondent when he is with his few surviving male brethren (including his brother) as each has found their females. Micayla leaves her home world of Earth for the first time in her life. She feels lonely but accepts a truism that men or women don't turn her on and that somehow she is different than her family and friends. That changes in an instant gut changing observation of the back of a stranger who she finds desiring. However, when she meets the hunk who she wants, instead of jumping Trag's bones as her inclination screams inside her, she rips his skin off blaming him for her unwanted desire. While the overarching story line involving the pandemic destruction of a race and their planet moves forward with insight into who committed the atrocity, the latest Zetithian science fiction romance also contains the most powerful Cat Stars Chronicles coupling to date. That says a lot as previous tales like Fugitive, Rogue, and Slave are excellent. Readers will relish this pairing of two of the universe's loneliest people; as Micayla makes Trag dance the Macarena to snare his soulmate. Harriet Klausner
Lynz_in_Love More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved this book and couldn't put it down from the moment I bought it (which was Wednesday and finished it Thursday)!!! Brooks, this series will stay in my collection for a long time; keep'em comin'!!! For those of you who have not been fortunate enough to read this series, you should consider trying it out (especially if you like a little sci-fi mixed in with your sex)! Personally, I can't wait to find me a Cat! Until then, I will spend the rest of my time trying to figure out how to make SNARD! I'm going to be rich!!! Happy reading!
LASR_Reviews More than 1 year ago
Originally posted at: www.whippedcream2.blogspot.com ***** How do you know that you are falling in love when you don't even understand what you are? Take two aliens from a destroyed planet with unknown mating rituals and watch what happens when they get together. It's a comical challenge because they have absolutely no idea what's going on. This is the story of Trag. Even if a reader has never read any of the other stories in the Cat Star Chronicles or the one about his brother, Tychar, in Rogue, this book stands alone just fine. The only reason I'd recommend reading Tychar's story is to understand the depths of loneliness that Trag endures. For this reason especially, Hero already has a certain warm spot in my heart. Micayla is away from Earth for the first time. She doesn't understand why her libido is dormant. She is just not interested in guys the way her friends are. She is awfully good at her job, however, and she takes pride in her efficiency. Sure, she's often wondered why she looks a little different than her step-mom, but she had a great time growing up and she knows she's loved. But something never felt quite right. Until one day the sighting of the back of a mysterious man sets her pulse pounding. How odd is that? For Micayla, very odd, and it's the beginning of her journey to finding out about herself and what makes a man interesting to her. Too bad when she finally meets him, she reacts to him with a vengeance. And not in a nice way. Personally, I found it very funny. His reaction is just as interesting because he's perplexed, affronted and not a little bit hurt. I liked Micayla. She's clever, thinks well on her feet and when she calls someone friend, she stands by them. Trag is a man who, by the choice of his friends, is termed an outlaw. He's not really, but to certain planets he's classified as one. So he has to be careful. He seeks solace from paid women, who never charge him because of his 'talents'. Believe it or not, it's a good thing he does, because it plays a key role later in the book. He's a lonely man who has pretty much insured he'll never get his own happily ever after because he wants what he can't have - a Zetithian woman. The planet was destroyed with all souls lost and that's pretty much how Trag feels - lost. There is a lot of heartfelt emotion in this story because of it. I wanted Trag to be happy especially when he's surrounded by all his brethren, the last remaining Zetithians. Of them, he is the only one unmated, left out. The author did a wonderful job in reaching that part of me that wants to reach out and hug him. Ms. Brooks was brilliant in her choice of conflict. Micayla and Trag both want one another but the mixed signals, the confusion, the hurt feelings stemming from so many unknowns about their innate instincts have them running around in circles. Compound the situation with mistakes and making erroneous assumptions and I wondered how in the world they'd come to realize they were falling in love. Some of their reactions and dialogue were hysterically funny, some were annoying and some just broke my heart. If that conflict isn't enough, readers finally find out who blew up the Zetithian home world in the first place. This is a major revelation with lots of intrigue, power plays and dastardly doings. The reason for it all only makes sense if the villain is crazy - which I think to be the truth. But the villain is crazy genius which makes it all the worse.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ReaderWriterLK More than 1 year ago
Sixth book in Cheryl Brooks' Cat Star Chronicles, Hero is the story of Trag. We met Trag in book number four, as the brother of Tychar. Trag is unique in that he wears his emotions on his sleeve. He's not afraid to put his feelings out there. He's also unique in that while all the other Zetithian survivors are falling for Terran women, Trag is holding out for a women of his own race, even if one no longer exists due to the destruction of his home world. There's one. Micayla was raised on Earth. When they meet under the most unusual of circumstances and find themselves together for a lengthy voyage on a spaceship, it gets VERY interesting. This couple is subject to instincts and a biological mating ritual neither understand and both mistake as dislike rather than attraction. The sparks really fly in this one. Nothing in this story will disappoint. And if you've been reading the entire series, there's a special treat for you in the ending of Hero. Satisfaction Primo!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cheryl Brooks continues to entertain and intrigue in this latest version of the Cat series. You will not be disappointed .
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago