×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Hero of Ages (Mistborn Series #3)
  • Alternative view 1 of The Hero of Ages (Mistborn Series #3)
  • Alternative view 2 of The Hero of Ages (Mistborn Series #3)
     

The Hero of Ages (Mistborn Series #3)

4.6 540
by Brandon Sanderson
 

See All Formats & Editions

The Hero of Ages is the thrilling conclusion to the epic fantasy Mistborn Trilogy for ages 13 and up by the #1 New York Times bestselling author, Brandon Sanderson. This epic fantasy adventure begins with Mistborn.

To end the Final Empire and restore freedom, Vin killed the Lord Ruler. But as a result, the Deepness---the lethal form of the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Hero of Ages (Mistborn Series #3) 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 541 reviews.
ir0nli0nzi0nzbee More than 1 year ago
I have read hundreds and hundreds of books over the years. I can honestly say, that the Mistborn trilogy stands out as one of the best series I have read. The conclusion of this trilogy literally left me with goose bumps. As Vin, Sazed, Elend, and company fight a war that seems all but over, the thrilling triumph at the end was amazingly original and powerful. I would highly recommend this series to anyone who is a fan of Science-Fiction/ Fantasy. I eagerly await more stories for the world of the Mistborn. The setting, plot, and magic system in this series are all original and well thought out and could very well be the base for a spin-off role-playing game of it's own. I give this series, and especially it's conclusion a definite 5-stars. With his Mistborn series, Sanderson joins the ranks of George R. R. Martin, Terry Brooks, Raymond Feist, and other great Fantasy authors. A definite must read!
BassmanSeidell More than 1 year ago
The title says it all. Mr. Sanderson had my jaw on the floor with this ending. He closed many of the questions I had asked in the first few books and was nice enough to hint at new ones. This is the first book series that ever left me in joy/sadness tears at the end
Jubo More than 1 year ago
A fantastic, original story that delivers in every way.

The thing I love about Sanderson's writing is that the worlds he creates (this series and Elantris) are solid and believable. His characters are rich and complex. At the first couple of references to Kelsier in this book, I was surprised to find myself getting misty (I haven't had a character do that to me since Druss the Legend, lol).

There are a couple of chapters mid-book that are kind of slow; I think this is a common pitfall that many authors fall into (those who write series), in that they have to "catch up" the new readers to the series with background information that isn't always included in the synopsis.
There were book summaries for both one and two, but they were located in the back of the book rather than in the front. Odd.

The book, overall, was a joy to read. Beautifully written, it had everything that one looks for when reading this, or any genre.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'll admit it was hard to get into the first book but after i did i couldnt put them down and for once i was caught completly by suprise at the end i never saw it coming! i can't wait to reah the 4th book and see where he takes the series next :)
Phoenix_mom More than 1 year ago
Great read. I particularly enjoyed the theological musings.
WinterRains More than 1 year ago
I just loved this entire series. Brandon Sanderson does a wonderful job clarifing everything. Although I wish certain people didn't die, I am satisfied with the way it all happened and how the Hero of Ages helps everyone! The only downfall I had in this entire series was the lack of humor. It was a very serious story thoughout. Nevertheless, wonderfully written! Does Not leave you hanging or in doubt about what happened. That is a huge plus!
Elend22 More than 1 year ago
I liked the first book very much though i wasn't completely engulfed in it..the 2nd book i was only mildly interested until the last 200 or so pages which is where it got really interesting. but The Hero of Ages literally blew me away. It was at no point predictable. everytime i thought i knew..i was wrong. from start to finish i literally could not put this book down. i found myself thinking about it when i wasnt able to read lol it was that good. Sanderson's belief's really came through in this one and whether you're a believer or not...The ending is so powerful it may just bring you to tears....
Grandpa More than 1 year ago
WOW! I have to say this was one of the best Fantasy/Adventure series I have read in a long long time. The magic system is intrigueing, the characters believable and there are contunious twists and turns to keep even the most ardent James Patterson fan hopping. Best of all the end gives you everything, sad,happy,supprised and satisfied. This is a MUST series you will read again and again. Thank you Brandon Sanderson I am off to seek out more of your writing.
Guest More than 1 year ago
As with their first success in defeating evil (see MISTBORN) Emperor Elend Venture and his mage wife Vin thought they were bringing peace to the reign, but they are proved wrong when the foreign armies invaded and opened up the WELL OF ASCENSION. Once again they thought they triumphed over evil, but they are proved wrong again. To close THE WELL OF ASCENSION, they inadvertently liberate Ruin, the malevolent spirit who simply wants to destroy the world. Elend and Vin struggle to prevent this from happening, but also must contend with other evil killers allied with Ruin. They must defeat the lethal Inquisitors, the Deepness deadly mists and the black ash inundating the land and suffocating the crops. Even more desperate than ever, the duo knows their only hope is to find the cache of Mistborn energies atium brilliantly hidden by Elend¿s late predecessor as emperor. --- For every action there is a reaction with the latter at times leading to unintended consequences is the basic underlying principal of the superb Mistborn fantasy trilogy. The story line is fast-paced, filled with stunning plausible twists and an incredible unexpected finish. Readers will appreciate the entire saga as Brandon Sanderson will have his audience applying the overarching theme to the real world. --- Harriet Klausner
Aditi-ATWAMB 4 months ago
There’s no possible way for me to say what I NEED to say about this book without spoiling the previous two, so please do excuse me. SPOILERS AHEAD. It took me a grand total of SEVEN days to finish reading this masterpiece that will leave you breathless with its beauty and brutality because you have NEVER READ ANYTHING LIKE A BRANDON SANDERSON NOVEL. EVER. A year has passed since the events that unfolded at The Wells of Ascension, a year where the Dark Force that Vin released from imprisonment has brought catastrophe to the Dominances. Ash falls all the time, thick and black. The mists come during the day and stay for longer and longer, blocking out the sun, making even the crops grow in an ashen environment die out. The mist kills people, and there’s something more sinister in the air. Something that wants nothing but complete destruction. Ruin, an omnipotent sentient being with power too vast to comprehend – one of the Gods of the world has been freed from the Wells, and the world under his rule, is ending. Elend and Vin Venture follow the trail left to them by the man they killed – the Lord Ruler. They seek answers, desperate for survival of the world and the protection of the people. Five cities in five storage caverns with a message in each are all they have to help them understand a force as old as time, a force that has had eternity to plan this game they’ve just been brought into. “There has to be a balance, Vin," he said. "Somehow, we'll find it. The balance between whom we wish to be and whom we need to be. " I LOVED THIS BOOK. There’s something SO DAMN BEAUTIFUL about this series that will creep up on you from nowhere if you just give it the chance. While breaking into the first book itself is a bit of a task, PERSEVERE and you will NOT REGRET IT. Vin and Elend are PRETTY MUCH THE BEST COUPLE OUT THERE IN THE REALM OF FICTION, and their romance isn’t even the central part of this series, although it made me flail around the most. There was something so REGAL about their relationship – pure trust despite their various quirks, powers and different upbringings. It was such a refreshing romance that was focused on being yourself while having a true companion and it made me SWOON. Another thing I LOVED about this book were the points of view that shifted seamlessly from Vin to Elend to Spook to TenSoon to Sazed to Marsh and even to Ruin. It was so well done, going deep into each character in the midst of a tense situation and letting the reader REALLY get to know the people in the book. The ONLY BAD THING about this was the plot prior to the ending - all the God stuff had me a little on edge because it took the feel away from the book, like it wasn’t a Mistborn novel but something else. Ruin felt like TOO great an enemy, the concept of Preservation and Ruin took something inexplicable away from the book. ALSO, THAT ENDING TURNED ME INTO A BLITHERING PILE OF FANGIRL. OR ASH. I DON’T EVEN KNOW. It broke my heart and attempted fixing it but it was OH SO BROKEN. A series I will never forget, a plot that is madly brilliant and characters that are painfully real. You NEED THIS IN YOUR LIFE. YESTERDAY.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Adam_Gentry More than 1 year ago
How do you fight the personification of destruction? Thieves challenged an immortal tyrant and won. They formed a new kingdom, and almost lost it when three armies besieged their city. Now the land is dying, choked by mist and ash, armies of koloss search for human settlements to destroy, and Ruin watches on. After untold centuries he may finally get his wish, the end of all things. Against such odds Vin & Elend fight on, defeating the koloss and the Inquisitors, but struggling with how to defeat Ruin. How do they fight the embodiment of destruction? Even Ruin points out, all things must come to an end. But Vin sees through Ruin’s half-truths. Recognizing what Ruin is, Vin develops a plan. But Vin is not alone. Sazed returns, weakened by grief and self-doubt over his recent tragedy. Spook steps out of the shadows to become a hero in his own right, infiltrating a city, stirring up rebellion, and inspiring many to compare him to Kelsier. Tensoon returns to his people, hoping to convince them that Ruin has returned; that their only hope is to join the fight. Individually these stories pale in comparison with chapters about Vin and Elend. They can feel disconnected but they remind the reader of the global scale on which Ruin is working, and they provide essential foundation for the ending which unites all the threads. The story begins with a strong fight, then bogs down as characters debate their next move, but once a plan is chosen the story quickly regains momentum in a series of epic fights, before drawing to a close with an ending that rivals the original in its potency. +Strong Plot +Strong Characters +Epic conclusion *Fragmented storylines -Slow at times 4.5/5
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Couldn't put it down. Imaginative, too clever, and addictive. If you like the Game of Thrones, you'll love this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was very impressed with the invenive conclusion of this series
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago