×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Heroes
     

Heroes

3.9 19
by Robert Cormier
 

See All Formats & Editions

Francis Joseph Cassavant is eighteen. He has just returned home from the Second World War, and he has no face. He does have a gun and a mission: to murder his childhood hero.

Francis lost most of his face when he fell on a grenade in France. He received the Silver Star for bravery, but was it really an act of heroism? Now, having survived, he is looking for a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Heroes 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 19 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I finished this book in about an hour. It wasn't much. It's an okay story, the author could have developed a little more. I could say that it is of literary value and a student should read it. In class we had read the first two chapters and practically the whole class got interested. I mean a man without a face, that's pretty cool. I waited a long time to finally read it, but then I realized that I definitely did not need to spend seven bucks on this book. But either way I guess it was worth it because now I wish that there was a sequel.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Heroes is a story told by Francis Cassavant. The novelist Robert Cormier writes this tale starting when Francis was eighteen and he already fought in a war and lost his face. He lost most of his face when he landed on a grenade to save his own soldiers. He was awarded a Silver Star of Bravery and was called a hero for doing so. His face was so horrible he kept it covered with a white scarf. He had no nose, just holes that he called ¿his caves¿. He also felt he had one last mission when he returned to his small hometown of Frenchtown. To kill Larry LaSalle, his childhood idle. Francis thinks Larry ruined his life. As a result, Francis lost his first true love, Nicole Renords. When he met her for the first time in seventh grade he described her as: ¿the most beautiful girl he had ever seen.¿ As the story unfolds, you will find yourself asking who is Larry and why must he die. While Francis waits to find Larry, he thinks about everything in the past that got him to this point. This leaves the reader to wonder who the hero really is. Francis is tortured not only by his pain from his scarred face but also by his memories from his past. Before the war Francis knew Larry LaSalle as someone who helped him and other kids feel good about themselves. Larry ran the local recreation center, which later was always referred to, as the Wreck Center. During this time, he also met his true love, Nicole Renords. Life was good but that happiness soon ended. Dec. 7, 1941, Japan attacks Pearl Harbor and this starts the war for the country. Francis remembers feeling so proud of Larry for signing up for war until the night before he is to leave, the unbelievable happens. What happens that night with Larry and Nicole will haunt him forever. Francis feels like dying so he ends up joining the war and hoping he will not return. What could be so bad? Now both heroes are back in town and Nicole is still missing. When Francis finds Larry face to face what will happen? Does he complete his last mission? Will Francis ever find Nicole? You must read the book to find out. Heroes kept me turning page after page just to see what happens next. The shocking surprises all throughout the book keeps your eyes glued to the book until the end. The ending leaves you wanting more which makes you have to think on your own about what you think happens next. It read like a good mystery and came together like a puzzle. It was easy to put yourself in the place of the characters and feel what they were feeling. I would recommend this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Don't be fooled by the title theres no super heroes in it. This book is about a war veteran named Francis who is going to kill his childhood hero who attacked his freind. I liked this book because it flashbacks to his childhood you find out how he grew up while he is trying to kill him. And the anwsers to all your questions are slowly revealed. This book has action and mystery. Will Francis get revenge? Read the book and find out!
Guest More than 1 year ago
The beginning really grabbed me and kept me into the whole thing. It made me see his torn face throughout the book and gave me a sympothy for Francis. Cormier had me feel Francis' anger towards LaSalle after what he did to his girlfriend Nicole. Heroes is a tradgic tale that kept me wanting to read more.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I think that this book was a pretty darn good book. It is about a man who went to the war and later got his face blown off. He then starts to look for the man who about took his life away...Larry LaSalle. Later in the book he finds Larry, only to not kill him. I found this to be very awkward. Thinking through the whole book that he was going to kill the man that almost took his life away. I felt sorry for this man, even though it isn't based on a true story, I now know what it would be like walking the streets by yourself and people not knowing who you are because you have to wear a ball cap and a towel over your face.
Guest More than 1 year ago
it was a good book considering some war books it was sad, romantic, and the ending makes u think a essential question find out if u read it i read this book in my class i liked it
Guest More than 1 year ago
I thought this book was great. It covered so many different aspects that could be identified with the target age. The suspense and cliff-hangers that Cormier intends are great. From the first page when the reader is given all this information on francis and his face... it leaves you wanting more and by the time you know it you've read the whole book. I wish there was a mini drama or film which could show the real true heroes.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Heroes, by Robert Cormeir, is a wonderful book. I would stay up most of the night reading it. I think that it had a lot of feelings in it, how Francis had to live his life as a stranger because his face was blown off by a grenade. This book is probably one of the most interesting ones that I've read in a while. It is so sad what happens to Francis's girlfriend, Nicole, and how one night can change the rest of your life. If anyone is looking for a great book to read, read this one.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed reading Heros. Though I thought it wasn't one of Cormiers best novels it was still a great Psycological Thriller. Short and Sweet. Good read for young adults.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is the greatest and most discriptive narrative writing I have ever read!!! I give this two thumbs up!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Heros is a fictional book written by Robert Cormier. Francis Cassavant tells his life's story. Larry LaSalle is his boyhood mentor and hero. Through Larry LaSalle Francis is able to gain confidence and self esteem. Nicole is a young woman Francis falls in love with. Larry LaSalle betrays Francis' friendship, and Francis belames himself for Larry's harms. As a result of his guilt Francis looses his newfound self esteem. He enters the Army in World War II to get himself killed. He slowly regains his self esteem after a serious war injury and an attempt to even the score with Larry LaSalle. In the end, Francis finally learns that he is his own hero. He then begins to rebuild his life. Heroes is an interesting and enjoyable story. Robert Cormier does an excellent job describing the tension and anxiety of a young man trying to fit in and be liked. Francis' feelings toward Nicole also realistically portray human emotions. A reader can very much relate to the story. I highly recommend the book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is really good. I read this for an 8th grade Lit. project, and I never put it down.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book, I chose to read this book for a 'book talk' in my english class because it was short. Well a huge story was crammed into this small book, and it was a thorough, exciting, suspense filled story as well. I am looking into reading more books by him for more 'book talks'.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Heroes was a great!! If you like to read books that have problems that u dont know what is going to happen next then u should read this book. There are many kinds of views displayed in 'Heroes'. Robert Cormier, has very good discriptions in the story with a persons feelings, emotions, actions, and reactions. I choose Robert Cormier book 'Heroes' because if has a good sence of direction toward life today.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Heroes by Robert Cormier This was a very good book, and I really liked it. And I sujest that if you have a chance to read this book you should. I don¿t want to tell you the whole book so im going to just tell you that its about a guy who went to war and when he comes back from war he wants to kill the person that sent him to war.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
yeah right.. good book, my arse!!!