×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Hey, America, Your Roots Are Showing
     

Hey, America, Your Roots Are Showing

4.5 10
by Megan Smolenyak
 

See All Formats & Editions

You've heard of the Dog Whisperer? Meet the Ancestor Rescuer.

Part forensic scientist, part master sleuth, Megan Smolenyak has solved some of America's oldest and most fascinating genealogical mysteries. You've read the headlines; now get the inside story as the "Indiana Jones of genealogy" reveals how she cracked her news-making cases, became the face of this

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Hey, America, Your Roots Are Showing 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
52chickadees More than 1 year ago
I have always had an interest in my family’s history and Ms. Smolenyak2 ( you read it correctly--Smolenyak “squared”—you’ll find out why, if you read the book) has heightened my curiosity and has taught me, among other information, that although some paths may be difficult to follow due to misspellings, name changes, misinterpretations by those who gathered information at ports of entry, etc. decades ago—it is not impossible and you don’t always run up against the proverbial brick wall. You do, however, have to have patience and the willingness to explore avenues you had never even considered. I have been a fan of Ms. Smolenyak2’s for quite some time due to her previous book, “Who Do You Think You Are?” that serves as a guide to the fascinating NBC series of the same name. She has enlightened me in several areas of my quest and has answered questions I have pondered for quite some time while researching my Grandparents who immigrated from Scotland in 1892. For example, contrary to family beliefs, my Grandfather’s surname was not changed at his port of entry—he did it himself. I’ll never know his reasoning but it sure has made it easier to track him down! The Author has explained through several examples how DNA was one of the key investigative methods used to uncover complicated answers about some famous individuals’ heritage. I was truly mesmerized as I followed Ms. Smolenyak2 through darkened paths, misleading avenues and age-old pages of smeared ink to find the First Lady’s Great, Great, Great Grandmother. I do believe there is a tie for my particular favorites in this volume—the genealogical journey of the Paralyzed Prostitute and the spellbinding history of the first person to arrive at Ellis Island; an Irish lass by the name of Annie Moore. But those are only two of the amazing tidbits that will be revealed to you. Thank-you Ms. Smolenyak2 for such guidance and encouragement. As I close the cover on this review, I am preparing to return to the 1930 Census records to learn more about my ancestors’ journey to and life in America. If you have any interest in genealogical research, don’t miss this book! I know you will enjoy it and keep referring to it for inspiration and information as much as I have. Nancy Narma
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Aprentice den and nursery
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
NewsieQ More than 1 year ago
If there’s a “rock star” among American genealogists, Megan Smolenyak Smolenyak is it. She’s a regular on television and in newspapers – being quoted in news stories with a genealogical component -- and is herself a newsmaker. In Hey, America, Your Roots are Showing she tells the stories behind her stories. Although I was disappointed there wasn’t more about the nitty-gritty of the author’s genealogical sleuthing, I must admit each chapter was interesting and the book was, in total, a great read. She debunks myths (no, your ancestor’s name wasn’t changed by a clerk at Ellis Island), sheds light on President Obama’s Irish roots , tells how she filled in family trees for a diverse group of celebrities, and finds out who Annie Moore (the first immigrant through Ellis Island) really is. Hey, America, Your Roots are Showing is fascinating, light-weight, and fun, especially for readers who don’t know much about genealogy. This book could spark an interest in family history, even among the genealogy-resistant.
PugShihTzu More than 1 year ago
Although I already utilized many of the same genealogy techniques of the author, do read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fascinating read for genealogists, history buffs, and/or lovers of detective stories! I will be reading more of Smolenyak's books very soon! Fun and intriguing. I highly recommend this book; I could hardly put t it down!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fun, interesting read even if you aren't a genealogist! By the time you finish Megan's book, though, you will want to go "on the hunt" yourself. Yes, I do family history myself, but I would recommend this book to anyone that enjoys mysteries, too. To be a family historian, you become your family's detective in every aspect, and you put together a giant puzzle. Megan writes about various areas giving first hand information about how she goes about doing the almost impossible, and gives you ideas that you can often use yourself. The book is more like a collection of short stories so it makes it easy to carry along and finish a chapter over lunch or while you're waiting for the kids at practice. Megan writes with humor and directly to you so she becomes an "old friend" by the time you finish the book. You will enjoy reading this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I highly recommend this book. I have only been doing genealogy for my family, but this has given me the insight to branch out and help when and where I can. I signed up to help with Unclaimed Persons to help locate next of kin as I know how I felt when we were not notified of my aunt's passing by her boyfriend for several years. Once he had successfully went through her money, he notified someone else who notified us. He had her cremated and no one in the family knows where she went. She was my mother's only sister and she had only 1 child. He had separated her from her family and refused to allow her to contact us. I really related to what Mrs. Smolenyak is saying and doing. Great job.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book, it was a mix of genealogy research, humor and a behind the scenes look at how Megan can gather a lot of information in a short amount of time in order to get a segment put together for it to air on TV. If you've done some research or even none at all, reading this book might get you a little more curious than you were before.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago