×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Hidden Man (Jason Kolarich Series #1)
     

The Hidden Man (Jason Kolarich Series #1)

4.1 24
by David Ellis
 

See All Formats & Editions

Jason Kolarich is a Chicago attorney with a lineman's build, a razor- sharp intellect-and the grief of a tragic personal loss. When an estranged childhood friend is charged with murder, Kolarich must create a solid defense-even while doubting his client's innocence. But it soon becomes clear that Kolarich will have to uncover long-forgotten events from their shared

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Hidden Man 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 24 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I happen to be at Barnes and Noble and Mr. Ellis was speaking to a group of people. I do not usually pick up thrillers, murder mysteries, or crime novels. I decided to give his book a try and I was pleasantly surprised. The characters are magnificent. The plot wasn't predictable. He doesn't go in to long, drawn out descriptions and really gets to the point. He created deep, powerful characters with few words. I was a bit disturbed by the premise of the story - a man murders the man who murdered his sister - but I found it to be very easy to read. I tried to get his other books, but they were not available in the store (I ordered online). This is an author to follow.
metfan More than 1 year ago
Jason Kolarich,a troubled young criminal defense lawyer,is hired to defend his boyhood best friend on a murder charge.But the case goes much deeper, and Jason,a tough former football star,finds himself caught in a web of lies,betrayal,and violence.David Ellis has crafted one of the year's best thrillers,fast-paced and suspenseful,with a strong story,well-developed characters,and some nice twists.This is a terrific debut for a great new hero.Men,action fans,and thriller addicts will love it!More Jason Kolarich,David,please!
leslielv08 More than 1 year ago
Okie let me get this out of my system while I still can, WOW!!!! That word alone basically cover's my review for this book. I had my doubts but as usual, I was wrong. This is a new series by David Ellis staring Jason Kolarich, a broken man who to top it all off is a lawyer. When Audrey, who was abducted twenty seven years ago, vanishes from her home, it left her family and close loved ones very distressed. The person who was presumably her murder was killed by non other than her older brother, Sammy, who also happens to be Jason's childhood best friend. The book was like riding a rollercoaster, each turn it took was unexpected and honestly left me in pure awe! The characters were phenomenal; you have the jock turned lawyer with the troubled past, the brother who's life is a little off balance and the oh so mysterious Smith, who's real name we don't even know. Throughout the novel I could feel myself connecting to Jason just because of his situation. All throughout high school, he was reffered as the star or the hero, when in reality he felt anything but. This novel is mostly written in Jason's point of view, with occasional shifts to third person from Smith's perspective (although it happens very little). This book was really beyond awesome! You should def check it out!
LisaTortorello More than 1 year ago
Truth be told I bought The Hidden Man by David Ellis because a local bookstore was going out of business and they were having a great sale. It is the first book I've read by David Ellis, but it won't be the last. I enjoyed both his writing style and his down-to-earth dialogue. Action-packed from the beginning, David Ellis tells an intriguing story. Little Audrey Cutler is taken from her bed one summer night and that is the beginning of a downward spiral for her big brother Sammy. Jason Kolarich, Sammy's best friend, remembers that night as any child would. Now over 20 years later, Jason, an attorney, is forced to face the truth about his friend Sammy, the truth about his memories of that horrific night, and the truth about what lengths some people will go to hide a secret. Sometimes, it is a matter of life and death, but who lives and who dies is the question!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very good, Jason is a very interesting man. I hope David Ellis writes more storys with Jason as the main character.
JodieLA More than 1 year ago
surprising ending
TWTaz More than 1 year ago
Although I didn't enjoy this book quite as much as his Eye of the Beholder, it was a great read that held my interest from beginning to end. I like this protagonist Jason and look forward to future stories featuring him. I kept wondering how he was going to get himself and his brother out of the mess they were in, not to mention his client. I really enjoy Mr. Ellis's writing style and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this book to anyone looking for a fast-paced mystery/thriller.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I came across this book by chance and glad i gave it a try. Great thriller but also witty and humorous. You get to know jason throughout the story in way that adds to the overall story without distracting from it.
Tina52 More than 1 year ago
A very good book to read, supenseful, a good plot!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An old crime, an old friend, and a new tragedy are the backdrop for a young Chicago lawyer who takes up a defense case where the past and present collide in a twisting, thrilling ride. Jason Kolaris, prosecuter turned defense attorney, takes up the cause in a search for the truth. Is his childhood friend guilty of murdering a pedophile suspected of abducting his sister many years ago? Who is the mysterious Mr. Smith with his money and explicit offers of defense strategies? Plot twists abound, legal issues are explored, relationships come into play--all making for an exciting new legal thriller about a new character who is not afraid to get his hands dirty in search for the truth and justice. You will not be disappointed and will quickly look to read the next books in this series.
KenCady More than 1 year ago
As much as I liked the plot of The Hidden Man, the writing disappointed me. The author writes in a very workmanlike fashion- one word follows another, but there is little artistry or cleverness of technique. He has an annoying habit of starting multiple sequential sentences with "I." So, my hopes are that he will produce something with the same good plot line, yet show a little more creativity in portraying it.