×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Hidden: A Novel
     

The Hidden: A Novel

4.1 17
by Tobias Hill
 

See All Formats & Editions

From PEN/Macmillan award-winning novelist and poet Tobias Hill comes The Hidden, a gripping story of a naive newcomer whose arrival at a high-stakes archaeological dig of ancient Spartan ruins unearths long-buried secrets. Interweaving scenes of ancient Sparta with present-day events in a fascinating study of group dynamics, Hill cuts to the heart of the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Hidden 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 17 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the best books I've read in a long time. She will be marked as one of my favorite authors from now on! This was a free book and I just got Taboo as a free book! Can't wait to read it....
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can't get enough of this series, really great mysteries
DebbyJ More than 1 year ago
Loved the book. Fast paced thriller that you do not want to put down. Can not wait until the next book
Bxr4me More than 1 year ago
I read the first book in the series free on my Nook and decided I had to read the rest of the books as well. Good read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
recommend this to everyone who likes good mysteries
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Walks in
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was good and as I was reading along the next page stated The End,with several questions unanswered. Maybe I was supposed to add my ending to the story, maybe it is continued down the road.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Pages 40 - 42 are missing!
Fitxie More than 1 year ago
Great forensic series, this was my fave so far now onto the next book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hi are you talking out metimorphosis the booka the series of humans turning into morphs?
harstan More than 1 year ago
In Metamorphosis, Greece in 2004 former Oxford student Ben Mercer feels his life is over as his marriage is dead and he works at a dead end meat grill restaurant with no future beyond serving diners since his Ancient Sparta thesis is dead just not interred yet. He admires the courage of the visiting five archeologists who fearlessly dig for what they want while he mopes and serves food. One of his heroes who he knew in England, Oxford Professor Eberhard Saurer tells Ben he is going on an excavation in Laconia where they hope to uncover Spartan ruins; when Ben pleads to join him, Eberhard just leaves. Unable to resist, Ben follows Eberhard to Laconia called Lacedaemonia by the ancient Spartans who left little behind except mystery as to how so few controlled so many "Helot" slaves. Eberhard and his colleagues (Jason, Natsuko, Eleshchen and Max) perform one of the ancient Spartan rituals of the death hunt while emitting a superiority cockiness that Ben admires and would like to emulate if he was not so afraid. He soon learns of the Crypteia Hidden Ones' fanaticism killing the helots like hunters stalking game and fears he may be the modern day game of the predatory fearsome five. This is an exciting thriller that looks deeply into the amoral behavior of terrorists using an ethical cloak to defend their murderous beliefs. By bringing Sparta into focus in terms of terrorizing their neighbors through mechanisms like the Hidden hunt of the Helot and comparing this group to modern times using the five archeologists, Tobias Hill provides a profound look at a predator's mindset, in the past and present. Although the flashbacks into Ben's past enhance understanding of him, that track distracts from the bigger theme of how a stalker rationalizes in secret to him or her self the kill of the innocent. Harriet Klausner