×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

High-Status Characters: How The Upright Citizens Brigade Stormed A City, Started A Scene, And Changed Comedy Forever
     

High-Status Characters: How The Upright Citizens Brigade Stormed A City, Started A Scene, And Changed Comedy Forever

4.6 21
by Brian Raftery
 
By the early ‘90s, comedy was no longer cool. The stand-up bubble had burst, sitcoms had become more formulaic than ever, and Hollywood studios were pumping out soulless, star-driven schmaltz. There were signs of hope in shows like Seinfeld, The Simpsons, and The Larry Sanders Show, all of which favored cranky hard-truths and giddy pop-culture references over

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

High-Status Characters: How The Upright Citizens Brigade Stormed A City, Started A Scene, And Changed Comedy Forever 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 20 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"Never mind, I dont want to be nurse," she said then walked out.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Looking for nurse
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really wanted to read and like this book. So, I purchased this Nook book in the summer of 2013, and it downloaded with only the cover. BN customer service indicated at the time that in fact the electronic version was published that way (missing the entire text of the book) and that they would correspond with the publisher and get me a readable Nook version. Months later, no contact from BN, called and the problem with the text remained, so BN credited my card. Now normally, a review would be based on substance of the work (and I'm sure it's wonderful). However, if in any other format, a book comes with blank pages from the publisher, and no attempt is made to fix it, that's a big fail for the book imho.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Power-Pop_Pop_Pop More than 1 year ago
The results of improv comedy can be seen everywhere on television and films these days, and much of it is the result of people trained at the Upright Citizens Brigade, which only got its start a dozen years ago. This is a fascinating oral history of UCB from the people who were in on it from the beginning and those who came in later or watched it grow.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found this book very interesting. When people think of comedy groups they tend to focus on Chicago's Second City and LA's Groundlings, but UCB gives them a run for their money. The stories are all very well written and highly addictive. Highly recommended.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A definitive account that's way to easy to blow through.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago