×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Higher Power of Lucky (Lucky Trimble Series #1)
     

The Higher Power of Lucky (Lucky Trimble Series #1)

3.9 45
by Susan Patron
 

See All Formats & Editions

Lucky, age ten, can't wait another day. The meanness gland in her heart and the crevices full of questions in her brain make running away from Hard Pan, California (population 43), the rock-bottom only choice she has.

It's all Brigitte's fault -- for wanting to go back to France. Guardians are supposed to stay put and look after girls in their care! Instead

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Higher Power of Lucky 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 45 reviews.
SBC4 More than 1 year ago
Summary: The Higher Power of Lucky by Susan Patron is about a little girl named Lucky. She lives in a small town with her Guardian who is from France named Brigitte. After Lucky's mom died, her father called Brigitte to come to America and take care of her. It has been two years since that happened and now Lucky feels that Brigitte will return to France and abandon her. Readers Response: I feel that The Higher Power of Lucky is a great book for children to read. It has a lot to do with death and acceptance. I would probably not have them read this book in the classroom because it does talk about death and some parents might have objections. Also it talks about drug use and alcoholism and again parents might have some objections to this. However I would recommend that they read it on their own time. The book is very entertaining and it has a good message that jumping to conclusions can lead to even bigger problems. Also this book deals with Brigitte, who is French, having to learn the American customs. She eventually learns our customs but wants Lucky to learn some French or learn some of her customs. At the end of the book Brigitte has her wish come true because she opens up her own restaurant. I have thoroughly enjoyed this book and I recommend that everyone should read it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It needs 10000000000000000000000000000000000000000000 Stars
megan_wv More than 1 year ago
Have you ever been lost? Well, Lucky has. This story, is about a girl named Lucky, who's mom died from electrocution. Lucky's dad didn't want her so he called up his first wife, Brigette, and told her to watch Lucky. Lucky lives in Hard Pan, California, in a trailer with Brigette. In this book, since Lucky doesn't have a mom, Brigette has to be like a guardian or mom to Lucky. Lucky is trying to find out who has her moms ashes and she finds out that her dad has her ashes. Lucky also got the feeling that Brigette wanted to go back to France. Lucky runs away and ends up in a wind storm. Lucky stays in the cave and everyone looks for her. Everyone was happy when they found her. When Lucky got back to the trailer, Brigette told Lucky that she was going to adopt Lucky. She was very excited. I liked and disliked some parts of this book. In some parts, it was boring and in some it was a good chapter. This book was a good book and I would recommend it for someone who likes to read.
Twilght4Eva More than 1 year ago
Well, maybe that's a little harsh. I don't actually think that the author is an untalented writer, I just think that this is the worst book ever written. My aunt teaches 7th and 8th grade English, and since I too am a middle schooler, she often presents me with books to read and review for her. Some have included "Jeremy Fink and the Meaning of Life", "The Dark is Rising", "Elijah of Buxton", "Kira-Kira", and "The Wednesday Wars", all of which I had greatly enjoyed reading. I was slightly wary when she gave me this book, but only because how short and thin it was. The cover illustration was interesting and the title was different from others that I have read. After finishing it that night, however, I was horrified. What children's book was THIS?! I agree with other reviewers; some topics brought up in this were completely inapproriate for kids. I mean, really. Show some judgement. A mother getting killed by lightning? A 10 year old girl, unwanted by her father, who keeps her mom's cremated remains in a special jar? Alcoholics and drug addicts? SCROTUM?!?!?!?! Even the cover seemed ridiculous now, a little girl in her guardian's dress, throwing cremated body parts into the wind. The plot was shallow and...well, stupid. Lucky(what an awful name, by the way) decides to run away in the middle of a dust storm, since she thinks her guardian is going off to France without her. Frankly, I don't blame Brigette. The characters were completely unlikable: Lucky- a brat who needs desperatly to grow a brain and stop spreading dead insects on the kitchen table. Miles- an even bigger brat who I hate beyond anyone on Earth. Lincoln- not that annoying, actually, but he likes Lucky, so he's probably not very smart. All the other inhabitants of Hard Pan- idiots. Who would live in a town with a population of 43? Anything else I need to add? Oh yeah. How does a bug fly in someone's ear and then into their BRAIN?! I read this 8 months ago, in the summer before 6th grade. Therefore, I fit the recommended age group. Don't waste your time, fellow tween people, and read something good like Twilight or a classic like Wuthering Heights. HOW DID THIS WIN THE NEWBERRY AWARD?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
THE HIGHER POWER OF LUCKY, winner of the Newbery Medal, has been causing quite a stir. Why? I honestly don't know why. The story is sensitive, heartwarming, and meaningful.

Lucky's mother met an unfortunate end when she stepped out of their desert trailer home after a storm and touched a downed electrical wire. She was electrocuted and now Lucky lives with her guardian. Brigitte, a friend of her mother and the first wife of Lucky's father, came from France to take care of Lucky. Recent events have Lucky feeling suspicious. She seems to think Brigitte may be getting ready to return to France, leaving her behind in an L.A. orphanage.

There is not much to do in the desert town of Hard Pan -- population 43. Lucky spends quite a bit of her time outside the local meeting place for what she calls the "anonymous" groups. She hears the down-and-out stories of members of Alcoholics Anonymous, Smokers Anonymous, Overeaters Anonymous, and more. Lucky hears about how these folks have hit "rock bottom" and then gone on to find their "higher power." Maybe if Lucky can find this higher power, Brigitte will see that it is necessary for her to stay in Hard Pan and take care of her.

Filled with colorful characters, innocent interpretations of the world, and unique surroundings, THE HIGHER POWER OF LUCKY takes the reader into the world of a brave little girl whose life experiences could challenge even a well-adjusted adult. Through Lucky's eyes readers will come to appreciate the wonders of the desert and the fascinating and quirky behavior of the people who touch her life.

I was reminded of the previously successful BECAUSE OF WINN DIXIE by Kate DiCamillo when I read this book. Both deal with girls who are thrust into situations we wouldn't really want to see our own children in, but with courage and determination the girls survive and even thrive as they make their way in the world. Please read Susan Patron's book and judge it for yourself.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The best book i have ever read! I thought that I wouldn't like this book, but oh my goodness! Yoi have to read this book!!!! =]
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was assigned to read The Higher Power of Lucky for a Children's Literature class at the college I'm attending. When I first started this book I was not intrigued at all and found it unusual. Lucky is a ten year old girl searching for understanding and her so called 'higher power'. The beginning of the book introduces you to Lucky eavesdropping on an alcoholics anonymous meeting. One guy by the name of Short Sammy is sharing his storing when he hit rock bottom and how he found his higher power. Lucky then goes on a journey to find her higher power. Lucky doesn't have the normal life of a ten-year-old girl. Her mother died when she was eight and since her father didn't like children he abandoned Lucky and left her with Brigitte, a woman from France whom Lucky's father was once married to. Through out the book Lucky convinces herself that Brigitte doesn't love her and that she's going to abandon her, just like her father did, and go back to France. By the end of the story everything seems to come together and Lucky finds that life isn't as horrible as it seems. This book seems to be intended for those between the ages of 10-15 but I would recommend it for adults as well. It's a touching storing and by the end you're overwhelmed with joy and relief for Lucky. Some might find it inappropriate but if you look into the deeper meaning of the story you realize the author means well. I thought it was a wonderful book and believe it could have a real impact on some children's lives.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought this book would be a somewhat "deep" book but it was pretty nine year oldish. Dissapointed but it was well written. Reccomend to nine year olds :) -A
makayla_h_wv More than 1 year ago
The title of this book is The Higher Power of Lucky. The author is Susan Patron. This book contains 134 pages. It has 23 chapters. It is a good book to read if you are around 7 or 9.Although there are some inappropriate parts. Such as a mothers death or a few disturbing words. This book is about a girl named Lucky. Her mother died when she was eight years old. Her father left her with his first wife named Bridget from France. Lucky is trying to find her higher power throughout the book.This book is a little inappropriate for kids. If you child is disturbed easily then you might not want them to read this book. If you are an adult, this book may be a little boring and childish. My conclusion is that this book is overall not a great book. Its sequence is unreliable. It is not an appropriate for some children. It is not an adult book. It is too confusing to understand.I did not really like this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Higher Power of Lucky is about a little girl 'Lucky' whose mother died when she was very young and her father abandonded her. She lives in a town of 43 people. Her legal guardian is a French women who happens to be her fathers first wife. Lucky thinks that Brigette 'her legal guardian' is going to leave her and go back to France. The book is all about her trying to find her higher power. I would recommend to middle school students. I do not think this book is appropriate for elementary school students because they talk about alcoholics and smokers. I do not think that chilren thast young should be reading about that.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I thought this book was too detailed to be a book about a ten year old girl. It did deserve the Newberry Medal Award because of the great descriptions it gave to picture as if you were there with her. The Higher Power of Lucky has sort of a deep meaning beyond what a child would normally see. I would not suggest that children read it, but I would recommend it for young adults instead. It has lots of unusual position that Lucky is in that most children do not have to go through and that might help those who have not gone through, picture how easy they might have it. It also makes children who are in situations like Lucky, recognize that they are not alone. There is someone else out there who might be in the same circumstances as them.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An intersting book but slow
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I want sex any gender!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Quick fun important
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is the best book in the world! It shows that lucky and other girls like her with no parents, can still be special. I also reccomend reading her other book, Maybe Yes Maybe No Maybe Maybe. It deserved 100,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000 stars
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I got this book and the second I finished the first chapter, I put it down. I didn't understand half the words they were saying. Overall, it was a very strange book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was really a good read... but i had to read it for school
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Im turning ten so ill like it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
you should read this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago