×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

His Mistletoe Bride
     

His Mistletoe Bride

3.9 19
by Vanessa Kelly
 

See All Formats & Editions

Blame It On The Mistletoe. . .

When Major Lucas Stanton inherited his earldom, he never dreamed his property would include the previous earl's granddaughter. Phoebe Linville is a sparkling American beauty, yes, but with a talent for getting into trouble. Witness the compromising position that forced them into wedlock. Whisked away to Mistletoe Manor, his

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

His Mistletoe Bride 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 19 reviews.
Pam_Billings More than 1 year ago
This is a wonderful story of two people who don't feel that they fit in their worlds. The story will draw you in from the very start and have you rooting for Phoebe to gain all she wishes. Lucas finds he has met his match and is willing to find all of the hidden treasure in Phoebe.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Too much sex and little story waste of time
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This story is about a lady 'lost' in a world trying to find her way and finding love along the way. And a gentleman trying to help her and doing his best to convince her to give him a chance. VK really hit a home run w/this one. Don't let the length of the book scare you it's fast passed and by the end you will want more.
LenaDiaz More than 1 year ago
I am extremely fortunate to have been given an advance copy of His Mistletoe Bride, by one of my favorite historical romance authors, Vanessa Kelly. I thoroughly believe Vanessa could write about the phone book and make it an enthralling tale. Her writing style is smart, engaging, and sexy. Her descriptions are pure poetry. And she skillfully brings her characters to life with a mastery I envy as a fellow author, and admire and enjoy as a reader. When I first began this book, and discovered the heroine was a Quaker, I admit I was worried that I wouldn't enjoy this story as much as I have enjoyed others by Vanessa Kelly. The use of 'thee' and 'thou' and the unfamiliar beliefs and mannerisms of the Quakers was off-putting at first. But the author's skill quickly drew me in and I fell in love with the characters. Phoebe, the heroine, had an English mother and a Quaker father, and she goes from America to England to live with her grandfather because her parents died. She struggles to fit in, and speaks 'proper' English except when she's upset, in which case she slips back into 'plain English' and the 'thee' and 'thou' words start cropping into her sentences. It's quite endearing seeing her struggle to belong and be accepted but to not abandon her belief system. I thoroughly enjoyed this story for the same reason that I enjoy all of Vanessa's stories--it is unique. Vanessa is not your ordinary historical romance author. She ALWAYS figures out how to makes her stories different from anything else that is out there, while still keeping enough of the typical historical romance world-building that readers expect. I particularly enjoyed how she used Mistletoe as the name of the hero's manor, and most of the servants had the surname 'Christmas'. There's even a mutt named Holly. But perhaps best of all is the sprinkling of well-loved supporting characters from Vanessa's other books. Her die-hard fans will be thrilled to see so many favorites. I loved seeing sexy Dr. John Blackmore again and the fun interplay with his wife, Bathsheba, from My Favorite Countess. I highly recommend this book. Stick with it past the 'thee' and 'thou' opening chapter. I promise the language gets easier and more familiar, and the wonderful, endearing characters are a true joy. I'll definitely be buying my own copy to put on my keeper shelf, even though I have a free electronic arc. Well-done, Vanessa. Keep them coming!
MADreaderMD 7 months ago
I enjoyed this book that was set mostly at a crumbling country estate called Mistletoe Manor during the Christmas season. The book was basically divided into two parts. First, Phoebe left her Quaker relatives in America and came to London to meet her estranged grandfather. After a disastrous debut in society, she is forced to marry, so she and her husband then retreat to the family estate at Mistletoe Manor. What I liked about the story was that the marriage occurred about halfway through, so the rest of the story explored how the heroine and hero got to know each other. They needed to find our what was important to each other and how they could help each other create a happy life together. The charming manor and all the Christmas-themed characters were a fun touch. The hero also had to learn how to deal with his newly inherited status as the lord of the manor. As they both worked to restore the manor, the farms, and the village, Phoebe and Lucas found a common purpose. They often had different ways of going about it, which of course, led to conflict, but they both had the best interests of the people at heart. The love between the two characters grew slowly because they were basically strangers when they married. I liked that we got to see that love develop. The book did seem to go slowly at times, but maybe that was just because I was interrupted several times before I could finish the book. Overall, it's a great book to read at Christmas time or anytime that digs a little deeper into the married couple's relationship than you usually get with most Regency romances.
Cynthia181 More than 1 year ago
What a wonderful historical Christmas Romance. After Phoebe loses her father to death and her mother's father, her grandfather in England wants her to come to him and get to know the family. She is his only grandchild, because of her uncle is deceased and so his mother and he regrets not making amends before she passed. Phoebe mother and her family has been in a bad place since her married a American business man who was also a Quaker. Phoebe was raised in the church but she didn't always like to follow the rules, after finally deciding to go she leaves America and when she finally gets to England she find out that her grandfather had passed and she has to decide if she wants to stay and get to know her family. But there is this little promise that was made to her grandfather from the new Earl and that was to marry her and help her. She won't marry until she get to know the family more. It is a wonderful story. Thank you Vanessa for writing a wonderful Christmas Romance.
AVoraciousReadr More than 1 year ago
Opposites Attract. *Book source ~ Many thanks to Kensington for providing a review copy in exchange for an honest review. Phoebe Linville has crossed the ocean from Philadelphia to London to meet her estranged English side of the family, the Stantons. When her mother married her Quaker father, her grandfather, the Earl of Merritt disowned his only daughter. After the Earl’s son died he tried to make amends with his daughter only to find she had died some years earlier. He does make contact with his only grandchild, Phoebe, who is unhappy in her Quaker life and wants to meet her grandfather. However, upon arriving in London she finds that her grandfather died weeks earlier and his wish was for her to marry his heir, Major Lucas Stanton. Phoebe has no intention of marrying a man she doesn’t know, but Lucas is persuasive and patient. Soon she finds herself Lady Merritt and the Mistress in charge of Mistletoe Manor. Now all she needs to do is teach her husband how to love. But it’s Christmas, a time of miracles. How hard could it be? Told from both Phoebe’s and Lucas’s POV this story is well-written with great characters. While a little over the top at times it definitely entertained me. Because of Phoebe’s upbringing she’s a complete innocent to the ways of London society. But she has strong beliefs and a personality to match when she needs to assert herself and stand her ground. She was a little too submissive at times for me to believe 100% in her personality though. Lucas is a great character, but he was also a bit too bossy for me. I’ll forgive him since he was used to leading in the Army, but he’s not in the Army anymore and running an estate is nothing like running a unit of soldiers. Anyway, I quite enjoyed the book and now I want to find the others that are loosely connected to this one.
kronan1 More than 1 year ago
Started out good............................................................................................................................... The story fell flat for me.   It was pretty good up until Penelope decides to keep the BIG SECRET from Lucas---don't want to give any spoilers here so I'll leave it at that.   Couldn't see why she would have such a huge concern over people she barely knew who were doing the wrong thing.  It made her seem disloyal to her husband who had always been nice to her .  In fact he was pretty much nice to everyone.  Anyway it was a well written book.  I would pass it on to a friend even though I though the heroine was a self righteous twit.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Your book reminds me very much of another book with the same plot. The girl's parents die, and in the mothers will a soldier gains not only the place that the girl would do anything to have. The girl is forced to marry the man, well you get the idea. Though it is a very similar story line I have no doubt your version is uniqe
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
celesteworld More than 1 year ago
This book was not bad, but I prefer more romance! This is a story about Major Lucas Stanton and Phoebe Linville. Phoebe is on her way to her new life in London. She is about to meet the English Family her mother turned her back on to marry her father. Phoebe was raised in America as a Quaker. She never felt like she really belonged and is excited to go to London. Once she arrives she is devastated to learn her grandfather has died. Lucas is now the Earl of Merritt and has promised Phoebe's grandfather that he will take care of her. Of course, Phoebe wants to marry for love and Lucas has sworn off love after a bad relationship. The story includes couples that have been featured in other books by Vanessa Kelly and had I known I would have preferred to read them first. In the end Lucas and Phoebe find true love, but getting there was a bit boring for me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MinaD1 More than 1 year ago
A scorching hot Christmas tableau An ex- soldier who won't give up his warlike manners, let alone surrender his heart to love. A virtuous and strong willed Quaker who will need to cross the ocean to connect with her passionate nature and find a place she can really call "home". An arranged marriage and a quest for love. All wrapped in vivid and accurate descriptions of the Georgian England winter season and its rituals. A colorful Christmas tableau and a hero/heroine chemistry that escalates from warm to scorching hot. One of the most distinctive qualities of this historical romance novel is the refreshingly different kind of heroine. Young Phoebe Linville lives a very singular condition of outsider among her own people. Member of a Quaker family, but subtly shunned by her community because of her deceased mother's refusal to conform to some tenets of the faith, she decides to accept his maternal grandfather's invitation to leave New Jersey and join him in England. The characterization of the female heroine is quite solid and detailed, consistent in the way she struggles to meet the rigid expectations of a religious community and gradually reveal an unsuspectedly head-strong and passionate nature. Phoebe was doomed to live a quiet spinsterhood, steeped in an austere village upbringing, but once in England she will meet her perfect half in an unexpected place. Major Lucas Stenton, distant cousin of hers and heir to her grandfather's earldom, welcomes her upon her arrival with two shocking pieces of news: her grandfather has passed away during her boat trip to England, not before asking Lucas in his final will to become Phoebe's guardian and husband. The marriage may be an arranged one, but the chemistry between the handsome and intimidating ex-soldier, and the unconventional and genuinely beautiful American is as immediate as the blink of an eye. She may be a starchy Quaker, but she can't help being affected by the large framed and hard eyed soldier. He may have spent years and years on the battle fields leading armies and defeating enemies, but he can't resist her innocent beauty and straightforward tongue. Despite his reluctance to surrender his heart to any woman after a former lover had demolished his life, Lucas is won by Phoebe's gentle manners and quick wit. A clear declaration of love won't be easily yielded by our emotionally armored soldier, "...when dealing with matters of the heart, [Phoebe's] fearless warrior husband turned tail and headed for the hills." But he tremendously enjoys his wife and while his heart lacks the eloquence, his actions will speak volumes. The author's clever choice to bring the lead characters close together from the start, sets the scene for some warm "interactions", incandescent I would say. In the cozy isolation of his country estate, and with the aid of a festive Christmas spirit, Lucas conducts a "sensual assault" that will breech Phoebe's inhibitions and his own emotional barriers. The introduction of a secondary plot thread, that doesn't really get thick except for the final pages, serves the purpose of enhancing the conflict and test the trust issues between the newly weds. With weak-in-the-knees romance, sexual chemistry a go-go, and as sumptuous as equally accurate descriptions of holiday traditions, His Mistletoe Bride will bring the winter temperatures up a notch or two.
mrsgodiva More than 1 year ago
It isn't often you come across a story that can only be described as delightful. I love that the conflict arose from Lucas's and Phoebe's different world views. It was intriguing to learn of the Quaker religion and Phoebe's use of thee's and thy's. I will be reading more from Ms. Kelly.