×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

His Robot Girlfriend
     

His Robot Girlfriend

3.4 219
by Wesley Allison
 

Mike Smith's life was crap, living all alone, years after his wife had died and his children had grown up and moved away. Then he saw the commercial for the Daffodil. Far more than other robots, the Daffodil could become anything and everything he wanted it to be. Mike's life is about to change.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

His Robot Girlfriend 3.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 219 reviews.
Molica-MakeBelieve More than 1 year ago
I was compelled to drop this story within the first page, but I figured that it was only 100 pages, so I could tough it out and see if it got better. It didn't. The whole story felt like a 40-something, sci-fi nerd's wet dream and the author could benefit from being more adventurous and explore the concepts of a larger vocabulary and longer, more complex sentences. Mike was a detestible, pig of a character, and I often felt pity for his deceased wife for ever having married him. I found the rampant use of brand names and pop-culture references incredibly annoying, as were the random made up brand names such as "vueTee". Also, the economics in the story did not seem realistic to me - Mike balked at spending $2000 on a robot (which seems extremely cheap to me considering the full range of functionality available) but had no problem spending $150 at Wal-Mart for two dresses, a package of underpants, and a candy bar, or later funding thousand-dollar shopping spree for his robot. I found the politics in the story boring and held no value towards the overall worth of the story as I had no idea who these people were nor what relationship they had to anything in the story, so I often skipped those paragraphs. Had the author actually used more descriptive words instead of writing the story like an itinerary, and had there actually been more of a plot, I might have enjoyed it. The one and only thing that I did find rewarding in the experience was how the robot girlfriend started to transform Mike into a better person. By the end of the story, I still thought he was a shallow idiot, but I hated him less, all thanks to his robot girlfriend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you want a very fast read, this is the book for you. If you're looking for character development and an engaging plotline, try something else. This book seemed to be the written by a man fantasizing about how his mid-life crisis should play out. For free it's worth a look, but for any other price, don't even waste your 99 cents.
Meli_Green More than 1 year ago
This book fell real short of my expectations. It was a shame that the author did not delve into the possible permutations of human / machine relationships. Instead we are left with teenage male fantasy of the 'perfect' woman who just happens to be a robot. All that is required of the human character is a fat bank balance or good credit. This story had very little in the way of plot. The "no robot" policies didn't faze anyone and just seemed inconvenient. Everyone is accepting of him dating his robot, the lack of real conflict lost this book for me.
Amon101 More than 1 year ago
If you are curious to know about women's fashion (and the unique names that some of their clothes are called), how without a woman (even a robotic one) a man is incapable of taking care of himself, and like to see the two biggest cliche's in robotic lore (unexpected shutdown and robots gone bad), then this is the book for you. Otherwise, search elsewhere.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A fun, easy read. I like Patience, the robot, much better than the main character. No real character development. Kinda purile.
KennaS More than 1 year ago
Is it ok to have a robot Girlfriend? Discuss amongst yourselves.
DrWms More than 1 year ago
I picked this up just for kicks and it didn't disappoint me. The main character was predictable in that he slept too much. Whereas Patience was delightful. I would have enjoyed learning more about Patience's eBay business, and the ending left me hanging.
Jaceson More than 1 year ago
A relatively short and simple story with lots of pop sci-fi references and insider techie jokes. Are the characters well developed with a deep history? Not so much -- this is, after all, a short story. It is, however, a story I just couldn't stop reading, even well into the early hours of the morning. That's my benchmark for a good read.
NickN3ro More than 1 year ago
I wish they would do a movie it fit perfectly and Im glad it was the first book to finish on my nook color
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Patience is pobably the best wife or girlfriend you could have. If the company Daffodil was real id get a male version. -Brielle
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book was off to an interesting start, exploring man's need for companionship. But what started off as a story with a main character with a compelling and complex background quickly devolved into an avatar for the author's own dissatisfactions with life. The solution? A robot that served as wife, mother, caretaker, and sex slave; the ideal misogynistic woman. I was hoping for some character development for the the main character or the robot, but the relationship was stale the entire time: she "loved" him and wanted to please him, and he "loved" her because she pleased him. What started off as an interesting piece of science fiction became some softcore piece of fanfiction that dwindled quickly and hardly resolved the conflicts and issues with the characters, who were very two-dimensional. The plot had so much potential and I was left wanting more out of it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Got this first one ,then all the rest very good fun read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was really curious about how this book would be, hoping it was a challenged romance butitwas more like that one movie about a guy that fell in love with his phone (I think the movie was called her) maybe justa tad better since it was a robot instead. Not my taste but maybe someone else will be interested.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
AWEWSOME I LOVE ROBOTS ESPECIALLY ROBOTS THAT MAKE PEOPLE FEEL BETTER
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this "what-if" of a life companion after the death of a spouse. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago