×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

His to Protect
     

His to Protect

4.3 20
by Katie Reus
 

See All Formats & Editions

From the USA Today Bestselling Red Stone Security Series, a sexy romantic suspense of reunited lovers...

No woman ever affected Red Stone Security expert Kell Malone quite like Charlotte Bastien. It's been a year since that incredibly intense night they spent together and he still can't get her out of his head. When he discovers she's in Miami-with their three-month

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

His to Protect 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 20 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
## Fantastic read. I loved, loved this hero. Where can I find a Kell of my own? Wow he was hot. The heroine was great as well. As with the other books in this series it's a little short, but it was so sweet I tend to forgive. Perfect combination of romance and suspense.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is my favorite of the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just a short story. Not enough meat to chew on.
dlsully75 More than 1 year ago
This is the 5th book in the Red Stone Security Series by Katie Reus and I loved it! Just like all of the other books before it in this series, this one if full of action and suspense with some hot and steamy romance thrown in. I absolutely loved Kellen in this story. He is the perfect male. Hot, sexy, strong, loyal, protective, and would do anything for the woman he loves. I really liked Charlotte's character, also. She went through a lot in her first marriage, but came out stronger and wiser because of it. She is a strong and independant heroine, but she also knows when to step back and listen to Kell. Katie Reus always does a great job in placing characters together that are perfect for each other. After Charlotte's husband dies, Kell and Charlotte have one hot night together. But when Kell tells her how he feels about her, Charlotte leaves him. When Charlotte moves back and tells Kell he has a son, Kell immediately moves them into his house. He has missed out on 3 months with Reece and he wants to have time with him. When Charlotte is placed in danger after witnessing a murder, Kell will stop at nothing to keep her and their son safe. If you haven't tried this series yet, I highly recommend it. You don't have to read the series in order, but I do recommend reading them all!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another great book in this action packed series. This is my second time reading the series and I love it. Enjoy!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the story yet again...cant wait for more
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this series! Would recommend reading the all together, but they work just as well by themselves.
FaeRhiannon More than 1 year ago
I had the pleasure of reading all five of the Red Stone Security books in a condensed period of time and found several themes: 1) A love for the dominant, alpha male who will also care for the ones he loves. 2) The idea that once you meet the one you’re supposed to be with, your true mate, a part of you instinctively knows it.  3) Amusing interactions; witty, strong-willed women; and intense sex scenes. In His to Protect, Reus spins a tale of intense love, past scars and a melding of two souls into one, whether the characters want it or not.  Charlotte and Kell spent one night together a year before, after the finality of Charlotte’s relationship with her husband.  Kell had loved her from afar for years but respected the sanctity of marriage and kept his distance. But that one night was one that neither of them forgot – especially when Charlotte had a daily reminder as she found out she was pregnant with Kell’s child.  She returns a year later, their son three-months-old.  Of course, Kell doesn’t know this yet, but spots her across the room at a party by first noticing her delectable derriere… and, of course, recognizing it to be hers. The story continues as he tries to convince her to live with him for a bit, so he can get to know his son, and, though he doesn’t tell her, so he can win her for life. This becomes a necessity when she witnesses a murder and needs to find a safe place to stay.  Kell steps up and protects her (hence: the title). I enjoyed in this book what I’ve enjoyed in Ms Reus’ other books, as I mentioned before.  She believes in a strong, independent female lead.  She believes in strong, alpha men who will do most anything to protect their women.  She believes in the power of family and loyalty and love.  I was swept away by the story, wishing that men like Kell (and the other men of Red Stone Security) were a daily occurrence for women everywhere… but mostly for me.  Tempers flash, wits clash and the sex scenes are HOT!  So read on, readers – I encourage you to start from book one in the series and go on from there. I, for one, intend to follow this series to its conclusion and have already begun to pick up her other books. Enjoy! I sure did! 
angelshaw54 More than 1 year ago
Really got into the story of whatt was going on with Kell and Charlotte. Keeps you on the edge wondering if they'll get their HEA or if someone is destined to keep them apart....even though its part of a series, I haven't read the others and I didn't feel lost in the story. Great book, quick and fun story 15 chapters and 98 pages on my nook color
TiDubb More than 1 year ago
I was a bit apprehensive prior to starting this story. As a general rule: I do not like my romance mixed with children, pregnant heroine, or newborns. This is my rule. Typically the romance tends to be overshadowed by the children, impending birth, or life with a newborn (too real life for me). I am happy to state the author did not fall into this trap. Yes, the baby is a part of the story but more secondary to the plot than the main focus-just the way I like it. The author does a great job of balancing all facets (the romance, the baby, and the suspense) of the story. You did not have to wait long for Kell and Charlotte to meet. I fell for them at Chapter 1. Their attraction to one another is so palpable that it nearly leaps off the pages. I liked that Kell always had feelings for Charlotte and did not shy away from them when he found out about his son. If anything, he forged full steam ahead. I also appreciated that Charlotte did not play games with Kell. She is a strong caring mother but knows and understands that Kell should be given the opportunity to be with his son. These two have an unusual back story and the author shares this with the reader at the right time in the right way. This story had all elements that I like in my romance: lost love, smexiness, and suspense. This was the right book to start off my new year. Katie Reus has found her niche in writing strong heroines. When I reach for one of her books I am guaranteed two things: strong heroine and a smexy hero.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
REALLY enjoyed this book and am glad Ms. is so generous about sharing her gift of writing with us.. Kell is perfect.
AMR0406 More than 1 year ago
I have enjoyed all of the books in the Red Stone Security series and this one is no different. Kellen (Kell for short) has been in love with Charlotte since he first met her, however, she was married to another man and one of Kell's friends, so he kept his distance. Time passes, Charlotte's husband passes away, and we learn they were headed for divorce due to his infidelity. Kell and Charlotte spend a night together that neither of them can forget. He tells her he loves her, but she runs. A year later, Charlotte shows up to tell Kell they have a son. Kell is shocked that Charlotte didn't tell him sooner about his son. Not one to waste time, he asks (insists, really) that Charlotte and their son, Reece, move in with him so he can spend time with both of them. Charlotte isn't so sure because she is worried about falling for Kell and possibly getting her heart broken (like it did with her husband), but her guilt for not telling Kell sooner causes her to agree. Shortly after that, Charlotte witnesses a murder in an alley as she is out at the park with her son. The murderers realize this and she is then on someone's hit list and it is up to Kell and Red Stone to keep her safe. Katie does a great job with this story. She writes a nice balance of suspense, romance, and some steamy passion. I love second chance stories, so this one was great. Not one to want to let go of characters from other books, I was glad that this one included several members of Red Stone and their wives/significant others including Lizzy and Noel. I also enjoy books that include kids/babies so having Reece in this one and getting to see Kell love on his three-month-old son was great! Favorite quote: "Greedy and impatient. One of the hundred things I love about you." - Kell to Charlotte. If you are looking for a romantic suspense that is a quick read, romantic, passionate, and includes a very sweet little baby that win's over tough Security experts, I highly recommend you try this story! You can read any of the Red Stone Security books on their own, so if you haven't read the others, you can still pick up this one and enjoy it.
MelissaPorter32 More than 1 year ago
Antoher awesome addition to the Red Stone Security Series. I love how some people can come back togther and piece things back to the way they should be. Reece kept a secret that I dont think I would have been ever able to keep. When it finally comes out, she witnesses something that takes her away again. Kell knew what he wanted. He had a plan to getting it. But things did not go the way he needed them to. Plans changed. Kell had to put things aside for awhile. But he was not going to give up. Kell and Reece come back together slowly but perfectly. Katie writes antoher great read that I would recommend to all my friends that love to read. She did not over do any drama. The story flowed smoothly. The story felt like it was something that could actually happen. It did not take alot of imagination. **some spoilers** As a mother I dont know If I would have been able to keep my cool like Reece. If I saw a murder while holding my child I think I would have freaked out. Reece was calm and knew what to do. She was scared but knew that she needed to stay calm and not draw too much attention to herself. Acting like she was just talking to her mother. I would never have thought of that. Kell he was something else. It seemed like he wanted to go off the handle, but he stayed calm. For that is how he was trained.