×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Hold Tight
     

Hold Tight

4.0 189
by Harlan Coben
 

See All Formats & Editions

Harlan Coben delivers a #1 New York Times bestselling novel that asks how well parents really know their children—and puts them on a technological roller coaster of their worst fears.

 

“We’re losing him.” With those words, Mike and Tia Baye decide to spy on their sixteen-year-old son Adam, who has become

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Hold Tight 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 189 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have read so many of Harlan Coben's books and I've never been disappointed! Once you get involved in the suspense and the action, it's really hard to put his books down and this book is no exception. When children are in danger, despite their ages, I'm always reading in high gear. You want to somehow help, so you're riveted. The characters are real and you buy in at the very beginning! Mr Coben has given us another page turner and the pages just don't turn fast enough!
emmi331 More than 1 year ago
You have to give Harlan Coben props - he knows how to keep the reader spellbound. There's lots going on in this high-intensity tale of suspense about a simple plea for help gone bad. Very bad. It's hard to figure out how two women beaten to death, a dedicated but frazzled teacher who loses his classroom cool one day, and a father's search for his missing son tie together, but in the end they do. In the meantime, the reader is taken on a great thrill ride with plenty of twists and turns.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In Glen Rock, New Jersey, the recent suicide of teenager Spencer Hill has sent shockwaves throughout the community as parents wonder could their offspring follow suit and teens ponder what they could have done differently to prevent the tragedy. Since Spencer killed himself, his classmate, sixteen years old Adam Bave has been acting strange as he shows no enthusiasm for anything at all. His aloofness would have been ignored as a teen thing by his parents, Tia and Mike, but with the Spencer death they fear their child could be depressed and perhaps be the next suicide. Panic stricken as they debate security vs. privacy, the Bave pair place spy ware on their son¿s hard drive.--------------- A few days after their intrusion, Tia and Mike begin feeling a bit better and silly as nothing out of ordinary has happened until a message from an unknown source menacingly states: 'Just stay quiet and all safe'. At the same time a grieving Betsy Hill, Spencer¿s mom keeps asking her self how she failed to see the signs as she goes through an on-line memorial until one photograph stuns her on the night her beloved son killed himself, neighbor Adam Bave or someone who looks similar is standing nearby her son. ----------------- Harlan Coben is at his best with this intimidating one sitting thriller that has the audience pondering on different levels security vs. privacy. Adding to the overall discomfit levels caused by this deep chiller is the knowledge the setting can be just about anywhere in the States as Glen Rock happens to be a suburb of New York City. However what makes HOLD TIGHT a strong suspense is not the menace though this culprit is frighteningly deadly and dangerous it is the Bave parents¿ dealing with the choice of to intrude or not to intrude that on a family level parallels the 9/11 to eavesdrop or not to eavesdrop. Readers will believe they could be the Bave or Hill family as Mr. Coben writes a thought-provoking timely profound thriller.----------------- Harriet Klausner
Blitsky More than 1 year ago
I am a Harlan Coben fan to begin with but this book took a new direction. Any parent of a teenager will carry the lessons in this book with you. It plants ideas that will continue to make you think long after you have finished the book. It was good read, easy to follow and it grabs you and holds you throughout. I would recommend it.
Sherri_Hunter More than 1 year ago
Through no fault of his own, Harlan Coben is an author I overlook often. That's really unfortunate and sad because he is a wonderful story-teller. His ability to create characters that a reader can connect to and really care about is exemplary. In addition, placing these unique and interesting characters into stories that weave in and out of the nooks and crannies of his mind to end up in a book that keeps the reader glued to their seat from start to finish takes extraordinary skill. I found myself so intensely focused on this story, anxiety building wondering what would happen next. The sad fact that I haven't read many of Mr. Coben's books is completely my fault. As I stated above, I overlook this author often. It's likely down to laziness on my part. I don't take the time to take a good look at what is being offered when I am in the mood for a thriller / suspense story. Fortunately, it's never too late to teach a reader new reading habits. I loved the way this author takes multiple story lines and knits them together into one book and so they are all connected. The best part is how realistic the story is. It's as if the kinds of events described in this book are taken from current day media headlines. Murder, suicide, bullying, parental spying, disobedient children, psychosis and even revenge. Whatever your reading preferences are leaning toward, this book can deliver on many levels. Don't make the same mistake I did. If you have not considered Harlan Coben when you are looking for something in the thriller / suspense genre, it's not too late to rectify that. You will be glad you did.
jocro More than 1 year ago
One of my favorite Coben's works. I just read it for the second time and enjoyed it as much as the first. He is without peer.
NurseKelley More than 1 year ago
This is my third or fourth Harlan Coben and I'm getting hooked. I really enjoyed that this book had several independent stories going on at one time and all weren't intertwined until the end. Kept you guessing. I'm not going to give too much detail on the story line as it was somewhat complicated. Basically, the main plot centered around two (slightly overprotective)parents searching for their missing teenage boy who could be in danger, only to find that he and his friends may be involved in a complex drug ring. Secondly, a connection is made between the murder of two very different women, a divorced, lousy mother and a typical suburban supermom/wife. Third, there is a couple who are seeking a kidney for their ill child. Finally, there is a father trying to help his young teenage girl get over some torment at the hands of her schoolmates due to a careless remark from a teacher. Want to know how these stories are related? Read the book! If you love suspense, you will love this one. I would recommend reading "The Woods" first, as some of the characters from that book reappear here.
Lisa_in_SoCal More than 1 year ago
An entertaining Coben. For once, a psycho torturer who doesn't have a major role and isn't that scary! Not my favorite Coben, but definitely entertaining for many hours in the car. A modern plot and overly mature teenagers made the story seem very plausible. A few plot lines quickly pulled together in the end made the ending seem a bit too convenient.
Guest More than 1 year ago
if you are looking for a book to read on the train to work, or at night before bed to unwind, you will be late. once you start it is hard to stop. this is my first and now im looking for more.
Guest More than 1 year ago
When I first started reading this book I put it down because I couldn't get into it. A week later I opened it again and finished it in two days. It was a page turner and I was anxious to see how it ended. I'll have recommeded it to my book club.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As a great fan of this author, i found this book to be very boring, wordy and didnt finish it Very disappointing
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lamar Dawson-Stewart More than 1 year ago
Another excellent Coben book. There are moments of real truth in this book, which is always the mark of a good author. Highly recommended!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
PLEASE STOP HARRIET KLAUSNER'S "REVIEWS"!!! This woman reveals the entire plot in every review she writes and unfortunately we like the same writers. I am so tired of reading reviews to decide to purchase an e-book and coming across her plot spoilers! What is the point of giving us the choice of flagging reviews if nothing is done about it? I have seen many other complaints about this same person - PLEASE MAKE HER STOP!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago