×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Holder of the Lightning (Cloudmages Series #1)
     

Holder of the Lightning (Cloudmages Series #1)

4.0 28
by S. L. Farrell
 

See All Formats & Editions

It had been so many generations since the mage-lights were last seen that they'd become the stuff of legend. But for seventeen-year-old Jenna Aoire legend became reality one night on Knobtop Hill when she found the stone--not much more than a large pebble yet there was something about it that drew her. And then the mage-lights filled the sky, bringing trouble and

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Holder of the Lightning (Cloudmages Series #1) 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 27 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you like Juliet Marillier, then you will enjoy this author. I have been a great fan of Patricia McKillip and Robin McKinley for years, and I have found a new author.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The stroy was good, the characters well developed, and there's definitely a Celtic feel. But it¿s the Celtic influence that held my attention more than anything else about the book. I found the book enjoyable but I will not continue the series.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was a great book. It had all of the elements. Well developed characters, a long luxurious plot line, and a world in which anything can happen. Jenna is just a kind girl who is content with life. But that life is changed forever when she is chosen to weild a power that ushers in a new age for her world. A story full of mystery, political intrigue, and magic. An instant classic.
Guest More than 1 year ago
One of the best reads I have found in fantasy since Lord of the Rings! S.L Farell makes the characters come alive and you feel drawn to them. I read it in a couple of days because I just couldn't put it down. I now have to go back to the bookstore to get the sequel.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I found this on accident when the library didn't have the book that I wanted. But I read this and was /very/ glad that I found it instead. It is amazingly detailed and there are many undercurrents in the more obvious plots. Definatly a great find for anyone who enjoys a good fantasy read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
When i first read this book i couldnt stop reading it over and over and over.And i cant wait for the next book to come out.Unlike many other books i read i liked this one alot and i couldnt stop thinking about it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I couldn't put down Holder of Lightning. I read it in just a couple of days--and then I wanted more. Unlike many fantasy worlds, I BELIEVED this one. Talamh An Ghlas comes alive with details both strange and familiar, but despite these rich details the action of the story doesn't get bogged down. And Jenna was a character worth caring about. Although plot twists make sense, the novel isn't predictable either. Read this one, it's a great pleasure. I'm looking forward to re-reading it soon, which for me is the best measure of how worthwhile a book is.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I just couldnt put this book down ,I finished it In about 2 or 3 days. On the title it says book 1 ,I want a sequel and I want it now.
Guest More than 1 year ago
After reading this book I felt the need to recommend it to everyone. I usually read 'Space Sci-Fi' but I thought the cover and the intro were enticing so I took a chance and bought it. I really liked how you stay with the same character through most of the book and I can't wait for the next!
harstan More than 1 year ago
Centuries have passed since the mage-lights disappeared taking all of the realm¿s magic with it. Seventeen-year old Jenna Aoire, a crofter¿s daughter living in Ballintubber, tends sheep on Knobtop Hill when the mage-lights suddenly reappear. She picks up a brightly colored shining stone not realizing that she has found Lamh Shabhala, the master stone that will reawaken the other dormant stones once it is charged up with power. Noble Tiarna Mac Ard, pledged to the high king Ri Gabair, comes to take Jenna and her mother to court so they will be protected from anyone who wants to steal Lamh Shabhala. When she gets to court she learns that everyone wants to either use her for their own end or try to take the stone from her. Every time she harnesses the power of the mage-lights it takes a painful toll on her physically but when all the other stones of power are charged up, Jenna¿s troubles begin. Magic walks the land and people will attempt to abuse Jenna, controller of the most powerful artifact of all, as a weapon if she fails to apply her magic for the greater good. HOLDER OF LIGHTNING, an epic fantasy novel, is based on ancient Celtic tradition and legend yet is set in a realm that is subtly different. The heroine goes from a naïve peasant fearing the responsibility that she has been given into a ruler in her own right, not afraid to take charge of her own destiny and that of others. Now that magic is let loose in the land, it will be interesting to see, in future installments, how mankind deals with it. Harriet Klausner