×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Homeless Bird
     

Homeless Bird

4.5 123
by Gloria Whelan
 

See All Formats & Editions

Gloria Whelan's National Book Award–winning novel, chronicles the breathtaking story of a remarkable young woman who dares to defy fate.

Like many girls her age in India, thirteen–year–old Koly faces her arranged marriage with hope and courage. But Koly's story takes a terrible turn when in the wake of the ceremony, she discovers she's

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Homeless Bird 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 123 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book back when I was in 7th grade and I say, it is the best book I have ever read in my life! I completely recommend it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
100% Perfect....
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A heart-warming thriller that I enjoyed reading, the only draw-back is that it was so short! There should be a seaqual! (F.Y.I., for the people who get confused with the ocasional hibrew words, look in the back of the book it tells you what they mean; to be honest with you, I would put that in front, but whatever it's still the best book ever!)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was a treat to read! It was exciting and filled with love and adventure. It kept you on your toes the entire time and I was happy to read it in one sitting. An easy read and very educational. I recommend to everyone! Especially to those who have interests in different cultures.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this when I was a kid, and I have always loved it! I kept checking it out of the library! I am so glad I found it, I had to search google with the description! I recommend this book completely!
pumpkinpieCS More than 1 year ago
My daughter had to weeks to read this book for her 6th grade summer reading assignment. She thought it would be horrible and boring. Needless to say she read the book in 2days!...she couldn't put it down! She loved it and would like a Part II :-)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book sooooooooooooooooo much!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book so much! It is well writen and the plot is well developed, interesting, and very entertaining. I have read it too many times to count! I highly suggest reading this book. You are a very messed up person if ou don't like this book (sorry, but it is true).
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book so much i gave it to a friend to barrow. Of course she left it out side on a picnic table and somebody took it so my friend wants to buy me a new one so she and i can read it some more although she hadn't even read it yet. Just to say it again I LOVE THIS BOOK!! love iceFawn.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
awesome
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was recommended by a friend, and I can see why. This book is beautifully written, expressing the feeling of an actual indian girl being forced into marriage. This is a MUST READ!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
He tilted his head" ive never eaten owls or squirrels. Ar tey good?"
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dont like it at all its horrible and boring DONT GET IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Louisie More than 1 year ago
One of the best stories I've ever read.  I wish she'd write a sequel, because I felt like I really wanted the characters to go on and on!  A wonderful writer!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Here
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was such a great book! Im addicted to it. I all ready read it 20 times! Get it now!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It describes how life is in india. It describes how it was for Koly. It is sad in the beginning but then it gets so exciting and then scary and finally happy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have yet to read the book but I heard its very well written and a true masterpiece I'm very excited to read it and I will be glad to write another you on what I think by every five chapters I am very excited to share with you is my opinion on this so called lovely masterpiece of a book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book a couple months ago and like me I dont really like books at all but whrn I read this book it made me break down in tears of sadness and joy both, its very heart warming and just amazing I cant describe it just please get this book it WELL be guarented worth your money for this book you well thank me for this some day ;)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good book, easy read. Ended a little more abruptly than I was thinking it would! Overall, good book though!