×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Homer's Odyssey: A Fearless Feline Tale, or How I Learned about Love and Life with a Blind Wonder Cat
     

Homer's Odyssey: A Fearless Feline Tale, or How I Learned about Love and Life with a Blind Wonder Cat

4.6 217
by Gwen Cooper
 

See All Formats & Editions

ONCE IN NINE LIVES, SOMETHING EXTRAORDINARY HAPPENS.
 
The last thing Gwen Cooper wanted was another cat. She already had two, not to mention a phenomenally underpaying job and a recently broken heart. Then Gwen’s veterinarian called with a story about a three-week-old eyeless kitten who’d been abandoned. It was love at first

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Homer's Odyssey: A Fearless Feline Tale, or How I Learned About Love and Life with a Blind Wonder Cat 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 217 reviews.
Robert_C More than 1 year ago
When I first heard of Homer's Odyssey I was thoroughly intrigued, however wary. I had been sent copies of a number of previous books about animals (herein unnamed) and read them voraciously only to discover the animal always died at the end. Because of that singular (and depressing) fact, I put out the word that I did NOT want to receive any more books about wonderful animals and how they changed people's lives only to find that as the book ended, so did the animal in question. Therefore, I was more than a little surprised to be sent a copy of Homer's Odyssey. I immediately went to put the book aside, when I saw a piece of paper stuck inside the cover. I opened the book and pulled out a small handwritten note which simply read "Don't worry. He lives." Homer is an exceptional cat, blind from an early age, and his real life adventure absolutely enthralled me. Far better written than most books in this genre, I found myself as amazed as the author as she learns that Homer is not only unencumbered by his blindness but is actually more capable in other areas because of it. The episode wherein the author discovers Homer's ability to catch flies in mid-air is worth noting. I definitely recommend this book. All in all it's a fine read and with that in mind I pass on my own note to you... "Don't worry. He lives."
Zas More than 1 year ago
Better yet, walk them first, fill the food and water bowls, gather treats near you, and share them generously as you read. This book is about the incredible abilities of pets, and while yours or mine will never be as incredible as Homer, you will look at them differently. I believe this book should be cross referenced in self improvement, for it is not only about a cat that others saw as too challenged to commit themselves. It is about a woman with the guts and intuition to risk herself, and learn that when you do you may find untold riches for your soul. Well written, it is both a book I could not put down, then delayed finishing. I simply did not wish it to end. Like "The Odyssey" by Homer, "Homer's Odyssey" will be a classic.
jackie88 More than 1 year ago
This is a wonderful book for cat lovers and any one who has adopted a rescue animal. Being blind, Homer had to overcome much more than usual but any rescued animal has special issues to deal with and I know I have learned a lot about trust, acceptance and gratitude from my own rescued cat. Even if you are not an "animal person" you should read this book. The two chapters about the World Trade Center attack is a very moving eye witness account of 9/11 and its aftermath. And hopefully you will see animals in a different light after hearing Homer's tale. Cooper is a talented journalist - open, honest, engaging and insightful. Reading her book is like sitting down with a friend and discussing life over a cup of coffee.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Her vet asked Gwen Cooper if she would be willing to adopt a one month old blind stray cat. Gwen planned to say no as she had two other adopted felines living with her while she temporarily resided in a friend's bedroom, not making much money, and her relationship with her boyfriend just ended. She especially did not want to be labeled the cat lady. However, when she picked up the kitty, he purred and she was hooked. Homer, as she called him, moved with her six times, was there for her with more breakups while each time figuring out his new area. He taught her to love as he gave her his totally. This is a terrific memoir mindful of Marley as Homer teaches Ms. Cooper what love is all about and how to live life with zest. Though I am biased as one of my cats went blind, this is an easy to read well written tale that not just cat lovers but readers who appreciate a well written inspirational autobiography will love. Harriet Klausner
kpsquirrel More than 1 year ago
I am an avid reader and I will vote this book as Best of The Year. It is extremely well written, funny, touching, and genuinely "feel good." Homer can teach us all about the joy of life and using the gifts we have been given. I think everyone should read this book as we can all learn from this triumphant little cat about how to lead a great life and make the most of it. What an amazing little guy!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very impressive and moving story. Homer is an inspiration. I would recommend to anyone with or without cats.
Tag-Along More than 1 year ago
I bought this book when I was looking for another non-fictional "cat book". I had arrived at the local B&N in search of one book but came across this one. I was instantly intrigued by the cover. I opened it up the read the inside sleeves. I was hooked! For anyone looking for a truly inspirational story about a wonderful cat with a heart of gold, this book is for you. I just couldn't put this book down. This book helped open my eyes to the fact that a blind cat is never really blind. He can see the world better than you could have ever imagined! I would most definitely recommend this book to anyone looking for a GREAT "cat book". I would even recommend this book to any hard-core dog fans.
TJ-New-Orleans More than 1 year ago
I often hesitate to read 'animal' books anymore, becoming so attached and suffering through such sad endings. But, Homer pulled me in and I was rewarded with an amazing story that was written extremely well (and bonus... Homer is still with us). Gwen Cooper has masterfully woven the touching story of Homer, the blind cat with amazing insight, and the story of her own journey, marked with all the drama of major moves, finding what you want to be when you grow up, surviving 9/11, and taking leaps of faith. Even "dog people" will find their inner-puppy with Homer's Odyssey.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I received an advance reviewer copy of this book from LibraryThing and having just finished it, I feel like I have to review it everywhere I can. Homer's Odyssey is truly an epic tale about a little cat, blind since he was two weeks old, that nobody believed in or wanted to take home. Homer is nothing short of inspirational and equally affecting is the story of how Homer changed the life of Gwen, his "mom" and the author of this book. I lost my job recently and this wonderful, joyful book reminded me how important persevearance and optimism are. The writing is also very beautiful and detailed. Parts of it will make you laugh, parts will make you cry. Homer is an amazing cat and Gwen Cooper is an amazing person. I highly recommend this book.
MAK-Attack More than 1 year ago
If you love animals, especially cats, you will find "Homer's Odyssey" to be a beautiful, enthralling story. Homer comes into Gwen's life unexpectedly, but wins her love almost immediately. Homer joins Gwen's other two cats Vashti and Scarlett and their adventures are delightful. The two chapters in the book dealing with Gwen's personal experience during 9/11 and her courage and determination to find her cats in its aftermath will touch your heart. The book describes in many ways that Homer knew how to live. Gwen was Homer's eyes and he was her heart.
retromom More than 1 year ago
I was not sure this was a book I would enjoy. I love cats and this cat sounded amazing but I still wasn't sold. Homer's story drew me in at once. How would poor Homer survive as a blind cat? A curious cat needs to see, right? Wrong! Homer has no problem getting into michief like other cats. Homer's antics really make this book worth reading. He is quite the character and is truly fearless. I can see why Gwen was so taken with him from the start. What Homer lacks in being able to see he makes up for with spunk. Together Gwen and Homer make a terrific team. Gwen is Homer's eyes but Homer teaches Gwen a thing about love and trust. It's a nice light read for cat lovers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
loved it, loved it, loved it!!! anybody who likes cats, or pets in general, or has a soul should buy and read this book immediately. this is the greatest story about an animal that I've ever read, and the only pet book I've seen that has a happy ending. I'm still laughing and crying. buy this book now!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A mixture of wonder amazement and sadness that even kids can enjoy-Coleman Hayman 11
pindian More than 1 year ago
This was so good, but you have to be a cat lover to enjoy it...this cat was unbelievable....and such a sweet story....kept my interest, fast read....cat lovers you wont be able to put down....have passed it on to other cat lovers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I cannot believe how amazing this cat is. Gwen Cooper has truly captured the essence of Homer and all that he is able to do. I feel inspired by their story and their journey together. I could not put this book down and I want everyone I know to read it. The writing is clear and crisp and wonderfully descriptive. I feel like I can "see" their world.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! It was amazing how this cat was able to adapt to every situation. I can totally relate to so much of the author's trials being a 3 cat household myself. It can be tough and for her to take on the huge responsibility of caring for a blind cat was truely heartwarming. I recommend this book to all animal lovers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I had a black cat named kiki, and so i really can connect with the authors love of cats. All three of her cats's personalities were uniquely portrayed in this novel. Cats have a special social order that's not that different from ours, minus the facebook and twitter networking. More people with special cats need to step up and write a book about their muse. I have several ordinary cats but because i love them they are special to me just like homer is to gwen. Id write a book but i am only 12. I would also recommend Huck and Dewey to all that loved Homer, i have cats and a poodle and a special miw doggie all whom i luv very much and if ur anything like me you will love these books!
Melt7 More than 1 year ago
I read this book in just a few days. As a true story, it is a real page turner. I have never read a first-hand account of someone who experienced 9/11. It really brought things home. I would recommend this book to everyone, even if they don't have a cat.
HobbesT More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! Being a cat lover, I am a little biased, but I really enjoyed it. Homer is a amazing, lovable cat. At times the parts about 9/11 were hard to read, very emotional. But what that cat could do (the flies)! Gwen is a wonderful writer and really keeps your interest.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is beautifully written! It is right up there with "Christian the Lion" and "The Cat who Came for Christmas". AN intelligent, compassionate story of a little blind kitty whom no one wanted until a special lady with a big heart consented to meet him. Gwen Cooper brings Homer into your living room and heart and I will not soon forget this story. You feel as if you are in the very room Homer is, when he goes after the intruder, this little pint size, black beauty! Homer is extraordinary - I daresay all kitties are! Read this book; you will enjoy it thoroughly!
Ruth-the-Reader More than 1 year ago
This was a most heart-warming story, without being maudlin, of a blind cat that made much of a life, affecting many others, despite obvious obstacles. It's the simple acts done by ordinary people (and animals), and the results of same, that help us remember what is important in life. This book confirms such an outlook and it's good reading from older children on up through elders (that's me!)
Nissana More than 1 year ago
A friend, who is a "born again catlover" sent me an article on this book. Something told me I had to buy it. Please note: this is not a literary review. I won't go into Ms. Cooper's writing style or anything like that. I do say this is a great read for any cat lover, not a tragedy but it could have been without Gwen Cooper being a sucker for a little cat who needed her. You will laugh out loud but you will also cry so have the tissues handy.
ChristysBookBlog More than 1 year ago
Homer's Odyssey by Gwen Cooper is a heart-breaking and hilarious look at the life of an eyeless cat. Cooper undertook the care of wee Homer when he was just a few weeks old and a life-threatening infection had already taken his eyes from him. But rather than become a fearful, cringing scaredy cat, Homer embraced every single moment of life as the blessing it is, teaching both Cooper and her friends important lessons. Cooper has a unique talent for capturing feline behavior with such perfection, every scene comes to life. This is one of those rare books that had me telling everyone around me about, and even reading scenes out loud that were absolutely too good not to share. Homer teaches Cooper to look at the people around her differently, and he changes her as well. I dare you to try and not fall in love with this bundle of energetic love. And God bless Cooper for not ending the book on the bittersweet note that so many of these pet memoirs do! It was a joy to read from the first to last page!
belindaisley More than 1 year ago
The world is full of people with good intentions, but author Gwen Cooper is the real deal. Homer, blind since he was two weeks old, luckily finds a forever home with Cooper, who takes him in, but it's Homer who takes Cooper's heart and teaches her what fearlessness really means. Homer, the kitten she saves, is 100% blind; Cooper's memoir is 100% pure inspiration. The story is funny, optimistic and heartbreaking. Yes, I cried several times, but mostly tears of joy -- knowing there are people in the world who despite potential hardship, step up and do the right thing.
books4gail More than 1 year ago
Not every cat is worthy of a book (sorry Louie & Jojo) but Homer's life story plus the author's life journey make this a captivating and sometimes thrilling read. I am a little wary of what could be a simplistic, overly sentimental read--this book is far more than that.