×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Honest-to-Goodness Truth
     

Honest-to-Goodness Truth

4.5 8
by Patricia C. McKissack, Giselle Potter (Illustrator)
 

See All Formats & Editions


If telling the truth is the right thing to do, why is the whole world mad at Libby?

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Honest-to-Goodness Truth 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you want to teach children the difference between bare-faced truth and tact, this is the book for you. My students and I love this book.
SoCal_Mami More than 1 year ago
This book was given to my daughter when she was 5 years old. I read this book to her with a southern accent, or at least what I thought was a southern accent. She loved this book and I read it to her every day. My daughter is now 18 and is disappointed that this book became lost sometime ago. I'm buying two copies; one for her, another for me.  Love the story, love the illustrations, love the message. Yes, you can be honest, but you don't have to point out things that might hurt someone's feelings.  Highly recommend!
Rusi1999 More than 1 year ago
The book has a good lesson to it. However, my daughter didn't understand the some of the expressions/slang the author used in the story. Once I explained it to her, she was fine, but it may be difficult for some that are not accustomed to southern slang/expressions.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My 3 1/2 yr old daughter loves this book and I love to read it to her. Sometimes I have to hide it or else i will have to read it all day every day. I thought she would be to young to understand but she gets it she loves when i use diffreent voices for diffrent charcters. LOVe it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
In the book The honest-to-goodness truth was a great book. Libby shows that lying is wrong, but also finds that telling the truth sometimes can really be hurtful. Libby learns a lesson by hurting others she cares about because she thought that telling the truth was the right thing to do. Libby's mom tells her 'sometimes the truth is hold at the wrong time or in the wrong way, or for the wrong reasons. And that can be hurtful.' Libby learned her lesson that the honest to goodness truth is never wrong. I really enjoyed this book and I learned a good lesson from Libby about lying and telling the truth.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Honest-to-Goodness Truth is the funniest children's book I've read in a long time. Libby is so loveable and the author does a wonderful job of bringing each character to life. Potter's art work is perfect for Libby and her world of family and friends! My four year old son LOVES this book, as do I. I look forward to reading it for a bedtime story and an in between time story as well!