×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Honey, Baby, Sweetheart
     

Honey, Baby, Sweetheart

3.9 71
by Deb Caletti
 

See All Formats & Editions

I'm not usually a reckless person. What happened the summer of my junior year was not about recklessness. It was about the way a moment, a single moment, can change things and make you decide to try to be someone different.
Ruby McQueen is a sixteen-year-old high school student with the name, she thinks, of a rodeo cowgirl porn star, or, maybe worse, a Texas

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Honey, Baby, Sweetheart 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 69 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read Honey, Baby, Sweetheart by Deb Caletti. I found the novel because a friend of mine read the novel and said that it was a good story. There are many things I liked about the book. Some things I liked were that it is a book that is easy to relate to, easy to understand, easy to read, and has humor through out the entire novel. There are also things I did not like about it. A couple of things I do not like are the beginning of the novel, and how there is a lot of unneeded facts through out.

I liked more things about Honey, Baby Sweetheart than I did not. The story being about a teenage girl who is struggling with her emotions makes it really easy to relate to. The fact that the book is based in present time also makes it easy to relate to. Even though the first chapter of the book is hard to get into because it is a slow start, the plot of the rest of the novel is very enticing. Also, The humor in the story makes it more interesting. The humor pulls you back in as a reader when you start to get bored. The embarrassing stories Ruby tells in the first chapter were the funniest to me. A lot of teenage girls in today's society, past, and present, have problems with their relationships with boys, parents, and siblings, just like Ruby McQueen does in Honey, Baby Sweetheart. Many people can relate to her nearly non-existent father-daughter relationship or her emotional mother-daughter relationship.

Deb Caletti's novel Honey, Baby, Sweetheart is a wonderful book full of drama and love. The drama, humor, and being able to relate to the story makes it a really good book. I would most certainly recommend others to read Calleti's novel. Deb Caletti did a wonderful job writing Honey, Baby, Sweetheart.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Honey, Baby, Sweetheart was a great read. It is filled with romance, yet not in the typical fashion. The message is that one must know herself, and not just be someone's 'honey, baby, sweetheart'. I felt myself directly relating to what Ruby was experiencing. The scenes with the Casserole Queens were laugh out loud funny. Albeit this book requires a modicum of suspension of belief, but I still highly recommend it!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I just finished reading Honey, Baby, Sweetheart. I loved this book! I felt like I was Ruby McQueen and that I was there going through the experiences. The first chapter was a little boring, but if you don't read it then you wouldn't be able to understand the rest of the story. Ruby McQueen is an average teenager that goes through experiences with Travis Becker (a boy she met and likes that is reckless), the Casserole Queens (a book club that Ruby's mom runs for the older people), and with her parents (who are divorced). One of the Casserole Queens is an elderly woman named Lillian who was in love with Charles Whitney, who is now a famous author. Chalres Whitney wrote a book about her and about half way through the book you see that the rest of the book club figures it out, so they decided to take her to see Charles Whitney so that they could finally be together after such a long time. I would deffinitely reccommend this book to anyone. Except for the fact that there is a good amount of swearing in it. But besides that you should read this book and go with Ruby through all of her experiences.
Guest More than 1 year ago
wow this book was great i loved it!! It gives you a sense of how crazy love makes you act and how it keeps you coming back for more even though you shouldn't. It makes you want to bond with your mother, and have an elderly crew juss like the Casserole Queens!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Wow. This was a good book. You can never go wrong with a car filled with old people and a girl with a broken heart. If you like guys that are trouble, schemeing old folk, and laught-out loud funny, then you'll love this!
SleepDreamWrite More than 1 year ago
For the most part, I liked this. When it wasn't focused on the bad boy subplot. But I liked how it got resolved at least. I found myself more interesting in the mom's book club members and helping out a fellow member. That also includes a road trip. And Ruby and her family bonding along the way, etc. Other than that, this was an okay but good in moments kind of read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Im in 8th grade i read it in 6th grade amd i loved it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I usually don't post reviews online but I wanted to save everyone the misfortune of wasting money on this book. The text went way too far into detail about unnecessary things and I got to the point where I just had to put it down because I felt like I was watching a train wreck. You know what I'm talking about. Like when you just want to yell and scream for it to stop but it won't . I have no sympathy for the main character. She has no respect for herself and the leading guy has no redeeming qualities except for his wealth and good looks. He's  a stereotypical troubled rich boy who creates his own drama. Not to mention he has no real depth as a person. The main character has no strengths and I literally had to stop reading this book shortly before half way through in order to keep my sanity. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
VioletGreen More than 1 year ago
Pretty good. The first half was a little slow but the second half was good. Very poetic and had a good ending.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Crazy_Cowgirl More than 1 year ago
I want to read this book so bad. Someone please let me borrow it!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ruby McQueen was just a normal sixteen-year-old girl until she met Travis Becker, a reckless, rich boy who begins to change her. When Ruby's librarian mother, Anne, begins to notice her new risky behaviors she decides to drag Ruby along with her to a book club at an old folks home every week called The Casserole Queens. When Ruby and Anne learn that one of their members is the long lost love of the author whose book they are reading Ruby and her mother set out on a road trip to reunite the two lovers. Honey, Baby, Sweetheart by Deb Caletti is a fantastic novel about the trials and adventures in love, and the bounds of a mother and daughter. The beginning is a little slow but once you get past the first few chapters the author keeps you wanting more and more, I myself could barely put the book down to even go outside and breath. Deb Caletti writes in such a way that you feel like you are Ruby McQueen, feeling her heartbreaks and joys and laughing along with The Casserole Queens (who by the way are hilarious and I love). As the reader she allows you to live every part of Ruby's journey right along side her. This would be a great book for you to read if you like romantic comedies filled with tragedy as well as joy I guarantee there will be at least one point where you won't be able to set this book down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Honey Baby Sweetheart is a great book; at first it seems to drag out but really captures your attention later in the book. It's easy to relate to if you ever met a boy that made you feel "fearless" or had made a good girl go bad.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Review of novel Honey, Baby, Sweetheart After reading Honey, Baby, Sweetheart I realized there were several points that stood out to me. Throughout the book Ruby and her mom are constantly being taught lessons. They both go through the same love spasm. Finally they are taught the same lesson. Later they go on a trip, which I think brings them closer together. In the end they realize that they both haven't been that supportive for each other and solve there differences. Honey, Baby, Sweetheart is an intruding book that will catch your eye. It caught mine. It's a fun read and romance novel that is made specifily for young adults. So go ahead and pick it up.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago