×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Honk and Holler Opening Soon
     

The Honk and Holler Opening Soon

4.3 70
by Billie Letts
 

See All Formats & Editions

Caney Paxton wanted his cafe to have the biggest and brightest sign in Eastern Oklahoma-the "opening soon" part was supposed to be just a removable, painted notice. But a fateful misunderstanding gave Vietnam vet Caney the flashiest joke in the entire state. Twelve years later, the once-busy highway is dead and the sign is as worn as Caney, who hasn't ventured

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Honk and Holler Opening Soon 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 69 reviews.
animalrights03 More than 1 year ago
I loved this book to the point that I went out and bought another Billie Letts book, but sadly none of her others compare to this one. The characters became my friends, and I really felt like I was a regular at the Honk and Holler Opening Soon. This is an awesome book with great plot twists, along with all the charm small towns have to offer. If you want a really great read, this is definately the book for you. Seriously now one of my all time favorite books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this story! Billie Letts is a fantastic author. Her stories are always original and touching. Her characters have problems and it makes them real. It's a great read and I definitely recommend it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I thought this was such a good book. I hated to finish it. The characters are all so wonderful. I will certainly read it again.
Guest More than 1 year ago
My sister gave me this book for Christmas and I wasn't too sure about it because of the title. I picked it up and gave it a chance...read it in 3 days, I couldn't put it down! Billie Letts is a very talented author, I can't wait to read 'Shoot the Moon'!
Guest More than 1 year ago
The characters in this small town story line are among the best and most intriquing in today's fiction. From the un-lucky at love newly hired waitress , to the handicapped restaurant owner, you will love these people and this glimpse at their lives. A thoughtful look at the emotional hardships that all carry around with them. Many truly funny and inventive moments too.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ToReadPerchancetoDream More than 1 year ago
Another wholesome down-home novel by Billie Letts. After reading Where the Heart Is, I started looking to read everything else she wrote. The Honk and Holler Opening Soon shows off Letts' specialty; quirky, loveable characters. They are all broken in some way, but manage to keep going. The story slows down and plods along in a few places, but never enough that I wanted to stop reading. The book teaches about perseverance and that there are blue skies after the rain.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Heartwarming Story--If you can suspend reality Simply put, this is a pleasant, heartwarming story filled with several hard  luck, often quirky, characters who make each other's lives a little better. It is  reminiscent of Fannie Flagg's novels and characters. I liked the book so much,I wanted to believe that this could really happen, and that's my only issue with the story. Where else but in fiction, can someone just walk into a diner and start working for tips? No application. No proof of citizenship. I could believe someone forced to live in an abandoned bus, maybe even being able to slip into an open window of a church to live, but the harsh realities of being homeless is that once you lose your place to live and with it a postal address, you lose your ability to work, to get assistance, to do just about anything, and this novel skirts that very serious issue. Reading the other customer reviews, however, it appears I am the only one who had a problem with that. If you can ignore that simple piece of reality, this is a wonderful , likeable story. Certainly worth the read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is another great read from down to earh author Billie Letts.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ms.Letts does an amazing job of telling her stories. You will be hooked until the end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! It's impossible not to fall in love with the characters and the entire town of Seqoyah, Oklahoma. I truly hope that Billie Letts writes a sequel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed rhe magic of this book and hated to get to the last page. Wish there was more to read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
i enjoyed the everyday gossip that took place inthis book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I picked this up in Mexico and read it in one day. It is one of the best books I have read in a long time..
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! I just fell in love with all the characters. I love stories like this. You are totally transported to Sequoyah, Oklahoma and into the Honk and Holler Opening Soon and the lives of the lovable inhabitants of this small town (much like my own) where it seems everybody knows everybody. Highly recommended if you are looking for a wonderful story that will capture your heart.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cindy Evans More than 1 year ago
I would recommend this book to anybody who enjoyed 'Where the Heart Is.'This book was an easy read without being boring.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago