×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Honor Redeemed: First Responders Book #2
     

Honor Redeemed: First Responders Book #2

3.7 32
by Loree Lough
 

See All Formats & Editions

Highly skilled Search and Rescue(SAR) team leader, Honor Mackenzie, works almost as hardat guarding the dark secrets of her pastas she does when training SAR dogs. As forwidowedSun reporter Matt Phillips, not even his former SAR workis as importantas protecting his ten-year-old twin boys.

Whenajumbo jetcrashes outsideBaltimore one cold night,their

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Honor Redeemed: First Responders Book #2 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 29 reviews.
Amish1949 More than 1 year ago
Omgosh, what a captivating read! This author is awesome in descriptions of characters' feelings, emotions, and situations taking place as they unfold. I enjoyed meeting all the dogs in the story-esp. since I am, a dog lover. I loved Rowdy and Rerun! It was interesting to learn about how dogs were trained to be first responders search and rescue team partners. Do have some tissues ready-just in case, I won't say anything more about this. Honor and Matt have been through a lot in their lives, and then they fall in love. Love happens, no matter what. Yet,they still have a few issues in their lives that still need to be resolved. Matt seems to have hope that with a little more time, things will work out between them.I am not so sure of Honor. I like that this author carries the story onto the next book in the series, while at the same time, a new story is unfolding. Super job-wonderful story, Loree! I highly recommend this book, you just gotta read it!@
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was charged for this book even though it said it was free on my nook. NOT A BOOK I WOUGH PAY FOR. I wough have choosen a different book. It will be awhile be fore i will buy any moore books on my nook.Jk
KatieLouis More than 1 year ago
Very Good Story! I grew up in Cincinnati and found a couple of "oops-es" in the geography, but still enjoyed the tale,.
Anne_M_Baxter More than 1 year ago
Book Two in the First Responders Series, Honor Redeemed by Loree Lough, takes up from where Ashes to Honor left off, resolving the dilemma with Austin and Faith at the end of Ashes to Honor. This one is a story about woman named Honor who lost her fiance to rescue operations after the towers collapsed. and hasn't been able to dig herself out of that constant soul-eating grief. Until Matt. Matt is an investigative reporter, her worst favorite type of person. He has a set of mischievous and delightful ten-year-old twin boys that capture her heart, but Matt doesn't know that. All he knows for sure is Honor seems to be his other half--she knows what is in his mind before he does. She speaks his thoughts and completes his actions. But does she love his sons? He loves his sons more than anyone or anything other than God. He won't allow them to be hurt by a woman who doesn't love them enough. So he... But wait--I don't want to tell you too much. You might not get the book if I tell you the end. Let me just say this: I just bought A Man of Honor, the third book in the series, and it is fudging in front of some others on my "to read" pile.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the story! Didn't enjoy the ending. Hope they are featured in another book
schoolmarmGG More than 1 year ago
Holly is happy doing search and rescue with her dogs that she trains, but she is not complete. Matt, a reporter and father of twin boys, is finding his life full but still empty. Will life put these two together, only time and circumstances will tell.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was good, but it bothered me that it didn't line up with the first book of the series. The first book had Austin and Mercy taking a trip to Ground Zero on the tenth anniversary of 9-11. This book had Austin and Mercy further along in their relationship at the tenth anniversary of 9-11. If you're going to write a series of books that include the same characters, the time line should add up. Also,the questions I had from the abrupt ending of From Ashes to Honor weren't really resolved. Now I read this book, get to liking Honor and Matt and then this book just ends. Honor and Matt get to the point where we think they might talk about things and then the chapter ends and the epilogue is two years down the road with no answers. Hopefully A Man of Honor doesn't end like the first two.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The people were so real! Strong story line, good people but not perfect. I would liked to have this book ties up at the end; I don't mind paying for the third book in the series, I would have anyway, but I don't want to wait to see how the story works out. While the book is not a 'twist and turn" kind of story, it not too predictable either . Thoroughly enjoyed reading it. Will read others of Lori Lough now.
Bookishqueen More than 1 year ago
Ahhhhh! The ending of the books in this series break my heart. I am going to need time to recover... What upsets me about this book is that there was little plot. Most everything that happened was only conversation. I understand that this book was more about working through the mental and emotional issues of being a first responder, but I wish there had been more responding. If there had been, I definitely would have rated it higher. Lough has this way of making her characters real, like I could sit down and have coffee with them or bump into them at the grocery store. I liked that and it kept me reading even though I often wanted the characters to stop talking and do something. Also, there was something (I wont tell you what) that was finally resolved from the first book. It was a nice turn of events. Still, I have yet to decide if I am going to read the next book. I might.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good read... a little slow but enjoyed the content! Can't wait to read Book # 3.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loree Lough always has such great premises for her books, but she can't seem to pull it all together. The whole time I read this book I kept asking myself "Why am I still reading this?" Sorry, but not worth it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nods* Right.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Rinses him off smiling softly drying him and going back after Flicka tucked himself in her arms.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Shame.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book was ok... i have read better would have liked so muxh better if the endinf wre better
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hated the ending
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read this one before I found out it was the second in the series. Reading the first now. Think Lough is a little long in the story sometimes but all in all a good book. Great for bing free.
coletto11 More than 1 year ago
The storyline was a bit choppy and hard to follow. I think a little more explanation and transitions would have helped. Then the ending, though realistic, didn't seem to redemptive (and that was the title, after all). I wouldn't recommend this one.
rhonda1111RL More than 1 year ago
Honor Redeemed by Loree Lough 4 STARS I liked the story but not the ending. This is the second book of three book series. I have not read the first. But I do want to read more of the third book. I know Honor is in that one and might tell me what I want. I liked the characters the humans and the dogs so much that I admit to crying in this book a few times. Honor is a SAR and her dog Rowdy is very good at finding the missing. Something happened that causes a bunch of rumors and gossip about Honor. Don't know if that happened in first book of the First Responeders. Honor lives alone with her two dogs. Does not want to get close to anyone. Matt is a single father raising twin boys after his wife died. Matt is a newspaper writer and used to be SAR too but gave it up when he became single father of two. He is ready to move on and wants to get closer to Honor. This book really makes you think of all the volunteers who do put thuer lives on the line for the rest of us. Does talk a little about 911 and what changes that brought to their lives. I was given this book to read in exchange of honest review from Netgalley. 02/01/2012 Abingdon Press
MollyzReviewz More than 1 year ago
Loree Lough is a wonderful author. I've been a fan of her work for sometime now, and after reading book 1, <strong>From Ashes To Honor</strong>, I fell in love with this incredible series. Often, the first responders are the unsung heroes, and Ms. Lough takes them and incorporates them in to books that will leave you in tears, and in awe by the last page. Honor Redeemed is a wonderful story of faith, hope, love, and second chances. Tragedy is often the eye opener for things we take for granted, or things we didn't realize we had before it happened. In Honor Redeemed, through Honor Mackenzie and Matt Phillips, the important lessons of forgiveness, and second chances is strong as Ms. Lough incorporates the complexity of the life of those who get the call...the call to help. The call to respond to tragedy....and safe a life. Saving lives isn't always easy, and as a SAR (Search and Rescue) trainer, Honor Mackenzie is trying to do just what her name says: honor her late fiance, who was a SAR member of the 9/11 tragedy. But, when a plane crashes and she sets out to search for any survivors, she knows that with the help of Rowdy and Rerun, she will keep that honor for him. But, someone is out to ruin her with nasty lies about her. Her life and her job are at stake and she knows it was a reporter that started it. She turns her heart against the world of reporting and focuses on the efforts of finding survivors in the midst of chaotic tragedy....until she meets Matt Phillips. Matt Phillips is a widowed father of twin boys, and is just trying to do his job. When he meets Honor Mackenzie in the SAR efforts of the downed plane, his heart reaches out to her. But, as a reporter, Honor is hesitant and Matt is willing to prove he's not unworthy. Until the rumors of the beautiful woman he's come to care about threaten his family. Taking a step back from Honor and the feelings he has for her, he sets off on vacation with his boys. What will happen when he gets the call that it's HONOR that's missing this time. The weather is turning tragic...will he find her in time? Or will his efforts fail him? I loved the way this book played out. It focuses on the unsung heroes, yet brings forth the overwhelming emotions of having faith and trust, love and honor before anything else. Second chances aren't easy to come by and through Matt and Honor's story Ms. Lough shows us that it IS possible to have them. Reading Honor's story, along with Matt, I could feel their emotions as if they were my own, I was THAT drawn into the story. When Honor was missing, Matt's pain became evident and my own heart wrenched at the thought of losing Honor. I could feel the inner turmoil of Honor's heart when she learned of Matt's questions about the rumors. I definitely give this captivating, complex novel a high 5 Book worthy rating. Though it's second in a series, it's easily read as a stand alone. If you are looking for that story that will tug your heart, and twist it, and fill you with a sense of peace by the end, look no further than the talented hands of Ms. Loree Lough and her First Responder books. You will fall in love her work instantly! This review originated at Reviews By Molly in part with a blog tour.