×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Hope to Die (Matthew Scudder Series #15)
     

Hope to Die (Matthew Scudder Series #15)

3.8 16
by Lawrence Block
 

See All Formats & Editions

The city caught its collective breath when upscale couple Byrne and Susan Hollander were slaughtered in a brutal home invasion. Now, a few days later, the killers themselves have turned up dead behind the locked door of a Brooklyn hellhole — one apparently slain by his partner in crime who then took his own life.

There's something drawing Matthew Scudder to

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Hope to Die 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 16 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best five star four negative turn off yet. A real borrow not buy
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
WOW! There is nothing more you can say about this novel than WOW! This novel is beautifully written and depicts the story so well that I felt as if I was actually there. This book was exceptional
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was pondering on weather I should read another Matthew Scudder novel, seeing as I had not enjoyed the previous one. When my friend had convinced me it was a great book I finally gave in and read it. I am still thanking him today, I couldn't put the book down. It is a must-read for all people.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I will admit, at first I was a little skeptical on weather I should read this book seeing that I didnt really enjoy the last Scudder book. Then when People called this the 'page-turner of the week,' I thought I might as well read it. And was I greatful because this is arguably the best Scudder book of them all. I absolutely loved this book. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys reading books.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Block comes back with another superb Scudder crime book! This book takes you through the eyes of a private eye on a crime that was cleverly thought up. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys reading!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the first novel of his I've read and it was VERY disappointing. I don't know if I'll read anymore of this sort. I thought this was utterly boring if I must say.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was my first Block novel and it will probably be my last. The Scudder character drove me nuts. First of all, everything he did was subject to his reviewing it in his mind and endlessly hashing it out. If I had done this then this might have happened and if that had happened then this might have happened ... and on and on and on. Secondly, I could not really see what Scudder did to solve the mystery .. if he had never existed... the result would have pretty much been the same. All he did was comment on each death scene that was revealed. I would much rather read a Ridley Pearson novel. I felt like reading this book was a chore rather than an enjoyment.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Another excellent outing from the authors reliably entertaining Matthew Scudder. hard to believe that mr. scudder is in his 60's. this is a tight storyline with suprises galore. a must for scudder fans
Guest More than 1 year ago
With "Hope to Die" Lawrence Block shows that he has not lost his touch. The prose is sharp, witty, and spectacular. The plot is plausible and highly entertaining. Matt Scudder is still one of the best heroes in contemporary mystery fiction. As you probably know, it's been a while since Lawrence Block's last Scudder novel and this one was surely a good comeback. Kudos, Mr. Block. To those who haven't read any of Lawrence Block's Matt Scudder novels, I recommend that you do so as soon as humanly possible, if not sooner. Lawrence Block is a superb writer and the Matt Scudder books are good, unforgettable reads. Amongst the best ones are A Ticket to the Boneyard, A Walk Among the Tombstones, Everybody Dies, and this, his most recent, Hope to Die. Hope this review helps and I hope you have yourself countless good reads and a good life.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I've read all the Scudder novels and found each to be enjoyable. But this one is a clunker and for only one main reason: It is improbable how Scudder gets into this thru TJ. It just doesn't work. There is a disconnect and it's jarring. It's uninspired and really not up to par.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I¿ve been a fan of the ¿Matthew Scudder¿ series by Lawrence Block for about eight years (thank you, Mark, for turning me on to Block, Robert Crais, James Lee Burke, Stuart Woods, and Jeremiah Healy¿I owe you!). The earlier books in the series were so-so, but good enough to keep me coming back. Then, I read A TICKET TO THE BONEYARD, A DANCE AT THE SLAUGHTERHOUSE, and A WALK AMONG THE TOMBSTONES and was blown away by the darkness, the violence, the intensity of the storyline, and the strong character development. In other words, I was hooked! For awhile, I began to think that maybe Andrew Vachss had taken over the series from Mr. Block, and then the novels began to gradually tone down and find a nice balance. They were never again as dark as the above three titles; but, by that time, I¿d become friends with Matthew Scudder and simply enjoyed hanging out with him whenever a new book came out. In HOPE TO DIE, the newest novel in the series, Scudder is now 62 years of age (it made me realize how old I¿m getting), but still going strong. He and Elaine are happily married and are financially set for life¿due to her investments¿so that neither of them has to work again, unless they choose to. On a particular Monday night, both the Hollanders and the Scudders are attending a dinner and concert at the Lincoln Center. After the concert is over, the Hollanders return home (they live less than a mile from Matthew and Elaine) and are brutally murdered by two burglars. The next day when the news of the murders hits the streets, the Scudders are as shocked as the other people who attended the concert that night. Both of the killers are found dead a few days later, locked in an apartment. The police rule it a murder and a suicide, and quickly close the case so that everything can return to normal. Matthew Scudder, however, is drawn to the closed case for some unknown reason, feeling the urge to dig a little and to see what he comes up with. Some of the things in the case don¿t add up for him, and it isn¿t long before he begins to suspect that there was a third person behind the scenes, controlling the crime from beginning to end. With the help of his partner, T.J., Scudder digs even deeper, trying to find someone who might¿ve profited from the death of the Hollanders. The Hollanders¿ daughter and niece are possible suspects, but it doesn¿t feel right to him. He senses that the killer is a male who¿s highly intelligent and utterly diabolical. Scudder also thinks that the killer might strike again. The only question is whether or not our New York P.I. can solve the case before the next murder takes place. HOPE TO DIE is a good, old fashion mystery with well-established characters carrying the storyline to its completion. The author gives us a detailed look at New York City, introduces us to some new characters that may be popping up again in future books, and writes part of the novel from the killer¿s point of view. Neither the killer nor the story is as dark and intense the three novels I listed above. Still, I found HOPE TO DIE to be a fun read. I liked the majority of characters in it and had a good time trying to guess whom the killer really was. With at least fifty novels to his credit, Lawrence Block has certainly mastered the art of writing fiction, and fans of Matthew Scudder will find this novel to a pleasurable addition to the series.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In Manhattan someone brutally kills Byrne and Susan Hollander in their home with their daughter Kristin finding the bodies. A few days later the Brooklyn police investigate a bad odor emanating from an apartment only to find two male Caucasian corpses and the Hollander loot. To NYPD both cases close as the apparent Brooklyn suicide-murder event resolves the Manhattan crime.

Though he knew the Hollanders and actually attended the same dinner concert as the victims did on that fatal night, Matthew Scudder has no reason to discount the police conclusion. However, his assistant TJ introduces him to the niece of the Hollanders, Columbia student and wannabe writer Lia Parkman. She believes her cousin arranged the murders of her own parents to inherit a fortune. Unable to resist, Matt begins to investigate, and quickly concludes Kristin is innocent, but someone else arranged the homicides and is not finished with the killings.

The mystery of HOPE TO DIE is as strong as any urban detective story is even though Scudder has lost some of his street edge and is showing his age as a member of the geriatric set. Still that fails to impede him from touring the town looking for clues or interfere with his ability to interpret the evidence. References to past novels add a nostalgic feeling to those long time fans of Scudder. Though the ending leaves an obvious sequel, Lawrence Block furbishes readers with a strong edition of his hard-boiled detective.

Harriet Klausner

Guest More than 1 year ago
Matthew Scudder is back in Lawrence Block¿s latest novel, Hope to Die. As is to be expected, the unlicensed private investigator finds himself drawn into the middle of a horrible and violent murder case that was considered solved and closed by the New York police.

Upon returning home from a night at the theater, a prominent and wealthy couple is surprised to find burglars ransacking their half-million dollar brownstone. The thieves viciously torture and murder the couple and flee with pillowcases full of stolen treasures. The case is immediately solved when the bodies of the burglars are discovered, in a murder-suicide fashion. Open and closed. Nice and neat.

Except what if there was a third thief, a mastermind behind the entire scheme? What if pillowcases full of stolen treasures was not the motive for the crime? What if the wealthy dead couple had a daughter who stood to inherit millions? Or a close-to-the-family niece who would be in better financial standing if an accident happened to her cousin?

What it? What if? Leave it to Lawrence Block to compile and dump on the reader an array of `what if¿s¿ to keep you guessing and keep you turning pages. Leave it to Block to come up with a well thought out and carefully plotted thriller that is nothing short of classic Scudder. The host of characters Block creates are lively and real. Dialogue is crisp and believable. As always the mystery is full of puzzle pieces to sift through. It is no wonder Lawrence Block is an award-winning novelist. Hope to Die is fast and complete and I enjoyed every chapter.
--Phillip Tomasso III, author of Third Ring and Tenth House