×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Horse Whisperer
     

The Horse Whisperer

4.4 136
by Nicholas Evans
 

See All Formats & Editions

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

His name is Tom Booker. His voice can calm wild horses, his touch can heal broken spirits. And Annie Graves has traveled across a continent to the Booker ranch in Montana, desperate to heal her injured daughter, the girl’s savage horse, and her own wounded heart. She comes for hope. She comes for her child.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Horse Whisperer 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 136 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Gish i noticed the curse words too! But i just ignored them cause im used to it. This book does get a little gross at times but other than that i thought this book was really great. I thinl the author did a great job in discribing, i could really picture the stuff in my head. I HIGHLY RECEMEND THIS BOOK?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I only got the sample of this book, but right away I noticed this book has a LOT of curse words. I'm a high school student, so I hear them all the time, but I prefer not to have to read five in one sentence of my book, especially when they are not even neccessary. I noticed the other reviews didn't say anything about it, so if you're younger or don't like curse words, I wouldn't read this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The story kept my interest the entire time. The characters were developed so that you can feel there emotions.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is called The Horse Whisperer by Nicholas Evans. It¿s about a girl, her horse, an accident and the recovery. The girl is Grace and her horse¿s name is Pilgrim. One morning after snow has just fallen, she and her friend go on a trail ride. While out, her friends horse slips down a slope and crashes into Grace, all four of them falling into the road. A truck coming down the road tries to stop but can¿t in time. Grace¿s friend and her friend¿s horse both die in the accident. Grace lives, is in a coma for awhile and has to get part of her leg cut off. Pilgrim is almost put down but Annie, Grace¿s mom won¿t let them. His wounds eventually heal but he is emotionally scarred. Grace has recovered enough to go home by Christmas. Pilgrim is also moved back to his stable, but lashes out at anyone who tries to go near him. He lives in a stall that is never cleaned out and they shove food and water through a small opening in the bottom of the door. Annie calls a trainer to come and see Pilgrim and help him. The trainer, Tom is disgusted with what he sees, the horse¿s living condition and the way the barn is run. He goes away without helping. He is supposedly the best and Annie is to stubborn to let him just say ¿no.¿ She drives out to Montana from New York, with the horse and her daughter Grace. Grace didn¿t want to go and wanted the horse to be sold. They come unannounced and this time Tom is forced to look at the horse. In the end he decides to help, but now it¿s more than just the horse¿s problem. Annie and Grace are having problems too. Read the book to find out how everything works out. The book was so exciting to read. There was something happening all the time. Annie was yelling at someone, Grace was having trouble with her leg or Tom was working with a horse. I definitely felt like I was in the book because I could understand just about everything that was going on. The main conflict, which was getting Pilgrim better did interest me. I wanted to know if Tom could fix him. The character¿s were very realistic. They were very normal and didn¿t have anything very odd about them or any special powers that made them not so real. The books ending was pretty satisfying although there was one part that was disappointing. I won¿t give it away but it had to do with Tom and I thought it almost ruined the story because it seemed so unreal. The author wrote the book in third person. Sometimes the author gave a characters thoughts or opinions on what was happening in the story. There weren¿t too many hard words in the story and I could understand everything that was going on, but there were a few tough words that I didn¿t know. There wasn¿t anything really unique about the author¿s writing. It was basically the same as other authors. The author used a lot of dialogue but not so much description. There was a lot of tone, when Annie got mad, when Grace was happy and when people were relieved. I would give this book a nine out of ten. It was a great book but there was one part that kinda ruined it for me and didn¿t make sense. I would recommend this book to people fourteen and up. Probably girls and people who want to read a book about a family having a hard time together and a horse who has been through a lot.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book so much
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldnt put this down excellent book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This story is dazzlingly amazing. The power of remaining positive it gives is goig to stay with you forever. Incredible
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
P
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sure! Im Pheonix. A black stallion
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Go to res3 or talk to me here
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ok
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just loved this book. Exciting, love story that has so many aspects! Makes me want to pack up and run west!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I watched the movie...WARNING NEVER WATCH THE MOVIE!EVER!IT WILL PUT YOU TO TEARS!JUST DONT!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A must read- easy and fast read. Well written and meaningful
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutly love this book. I would reccomened it to anyone. You should definetly read it!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great story for the animal lover. You can read it for free from the library :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago