×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Hose Monkey
     

Hose Monkey

3.6 27
by Reed Farrel Coleman
 

See All Formats & Editions

When former NYPD detective Joe Serpe hit bottom, he just kept on going. Having lost his career to charges of corruption, his family to divorce, his partner to suicide, and his fireman brother to the tragedy of 9/11, Serpe's world is nearly empty but for his cat, Mulligan. Living in a basement apartment in a blue collar town on Long Island, Joe spends his days filling

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Hose Monkey 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 27 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hose Monkey is a surprisingly good story. Interesting characters who are well presented and easily gain your sympathy. Several threads in the story lead to several paths of inquiry that may seem a bit disconnected. These threads are followed up by a couple of former cops who knew and disliked each other back then and who are disliked by some still in the cop business. Throw in some wives and girl friends and a couple of mentally disadvantaged people and it's a good story. HOWEVER, you must be prepared to deal with run-together paragraphs and, even worse, run-together sections. Because of the lack of paragraphing, it is at times difficult to decipher who is saying what. But more disgusting, it's very disconcerting to be reading one scene and suddenly finding yourself in the midst of an entirely different scene about other characters without so much as a space or other indicator that the scene is changing. It seems like such disrespect, such an insult, to the reader when these kinds of errors (probably from translation to E-script) are not fixed prior to offering to the public.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I like books that grab u from page one and thats just what this one did. There r some problems with no breaks between scenes where its hard to know where u r at in the story, but overall its a really good thrill ride.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
sometimes too much to take in, scenes ran together a few times. Evidently there is a second book, The Fourth Victim. It is on my wishlist. (dw)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Frogbilli More than 1 year ago
When I first started I wondered how this book could be so long and not get boring. I soon found that it was fast paced, suspenseful and kept my interest. As I neared the end I found I really didn't want it to end. Good plot, interesting variety of characters and not too predictable.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really good story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
nunna06 More than 1 year ago
Kept my interest with a few twists
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Story keeps you wondering on who done it and what's coming next.
ruthac More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed the book
mrswallygator More than 1 year ago
I tried to read this book and have deleted from my library. I don't know why authors take a good story line and have to fill it with language!!!!! I will not read a book that has this in it. I know this will never be used. Just wanted to share my thoughts. I have to give it a review- so only one star. I would rather give no stars.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
plvlrn More than 1 year ago
I picked this book of a free book offer and found a quick and easy read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It had an interesting plot and kept me reading, but it wasn't anything spectacular. The ebook can be rather confusing though because there is nothing to indicate you're jumping to another scene. It is laced with profanity, too, so I probably would not recommend it to a friend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Couldn't put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Let's see, what words come to mind immediately to describe this book? Disgusting, profane, disturbing, immature, you get where I am going with this. Story line could have held up, but the "romance" thrown in was a very poorly written aspect ofthe novel, with totally unbelievable sex scenes, seemingly written by a pubescent male teenager. Really, that awful and totally irrevulent to the story. Violence was very, very sadistic....... I don't know, I have read hundreds of books, but this one was just to freaky for me. Be forwarned....
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thanks! *walked to the warriors den.* -Runningspirit