×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Hot Stuff
  • Alternative view 1 of Hot Stuff
  • Alternative view 2 of Hot Stuff
     

Hot Stuff

4.1 75
by Janet Evanovich
 

See All Formats & Editions

Dear Reader,

If you like hot men, hot action and hot attraction you're going to love this HOT new series! HOT STUFF introduces Cate Madigan, a Boston native from a large and crazy Irish family. Cate has far too much going on to get involved in extracurricular activities, like men and marriage. She spends all day in school, earning her

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Hot Stuff 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 75 reviews.
Cupcake247 More than 1 year ago
Sure, there were a lot of similarities between this book and the Plum series, but who cares? Janet is a great, creative author, and Hot Stuff is funny, cute, and an easy read. Irish bartender Cate Madigan gets tangled in her cross-dressing roommates problems. In the meantime, she meets the mysterious, sexy, and possibly good guy, Kellen McBride. Falling in love in a few days isn¿t the most believable, but it¿s still a good little book. Anyone looking for a quick, enjoyable book should read Hot Stuff.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Janet Evanovich has the uncanny knack of making her characters so lovable that you are rooting for them from the beginning to the end of the story. Even their flaws are endearing. Evanovich can weave a story that is depicted so well that you feel as if you are there. And you are never ready for the story to end-I always turn all the pages looking for more.
lovetoreadAR More than 1 year ago
I just finished Hot Stuff by Janet Evanovich the other day and I loved it. So funny and sweet, with a mix of action, danger and bad dates who talk in the 3rd person. Poor Cate is having a hard time fielding oddballs from her family's misplaced but well meaning attempts to find her 'The One', but she's got a pretty good life. She's bartending and sharing a room with a popular singing drag queen ala Marylin named Marty. Rent is cheap, she can take her classes, what more can a girl want? Enter Kellan, dark, mysterious and he seems to be determined to win a date with her. Then Marty disappears, a puppy the size of a pony shows up along with a note that he's to be protection. Just what is going on? Kellan kicks up his efforts and in the fashion of all good stories, all heck breaks lose. Is anyone who they appear to be? Can Cate and Kellan live long enough to get to a real date? Couldn't put it down, a rollercoaster of fun. Great read.
cloggiedownunder More than 1 year ago
Hot Stuff is the first book in the Cate Madigan series by popular American author Janet Evanovich, written with Leanne Banks (although, to date, some nine years later, no second book has appeared). Cate Madigan is working in a bar and renting a room in the luxurious condo that belongs to the bar’s entertainer, drag-queen Marty Longfellow. When ex-cop Kellen McBride walks into the Bar, the attraction on both sides is immediate, but both Cate and Kellen are wary of involvement. Then Marty disappears, sending a drooling bull mastiff named Beast to guard over Cate in his absence, perhaps something to do with the condo being ransacked on a regular basis. Socialite Kitty Bergman and her two large male sidekicks are insisting that Cate reveal Marty’s whereabouts, and a short, round, hairy tyre salesman named Patrick Pugg, who always talks in the third person, is insisting he wants to be her boyfriend. That this is the work of the author of the Stephanie Plum series is quite apparent: there are plenty of laughs and the action is almost slapstick at times. There’s a bit of romance, a bit of intrigue, a bit of cake, a mystery resident and even a budding novelist. A fun read. 3.5 stars
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love reading and reading this book was a great way to spend my saturday!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Typical Janet Evanovich Book - Quick read and funny!
Ziggey More than 1 year ago
This book is a great little book, easy reading, funny very enjoyable. Couldn't put it down till I finished it.
BABS66 More than 1 year ago
This book was great reading. Love the mystery of it but most of all it had me laughing. I have been reading all of Janet's books and there is none that I didn not like. Some of the language is a little rough. Overall it was a great book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! It was an easy read...a cute romance story and good mystery all in one! I would highly recommend it! Another great novel from Janet Evanovich.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book, not as much as the Stephanie Plum books, but it was good. The family trying to fix her up all the time, with losers, was very funny. She works for a place bartending, lives with a cross dresser, and when "she" disappears, has to take care of Beast, who is at least 150 pound dog, all baby. It gets nasty when the police start looking for her roommate, then things start to pop. Good book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was the first bookI have read from Evanovich...it was great- funny and suspenseful, I read it in 3 hours, I couldnt put it down.i cant wait to read more!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Great book. I found myself laughing out loud. Once again, Evanovich and Banks do not disappoint.
Guest More than 1 year ago
With some authors you start feeling like you are reading the same thing over and over again. Not so with Janet Evanovich. I buy all her books the minute they come out and every one is a delight. I like her writing so much because there is a little of everything in her books. This is a really fun story that any lover of mystery or romance will definitely enjoy.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I thought the collaberation between Evanovich and Banks was inspiring! Terrific humor, a twisted plot and fabulous secondary characters - Go Beast!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book starts off slow, but it's really good! It was so good, that I read it in one day. I would definitely recommend it to anyone.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I picked up this book because I'm a fan of both Janet Evanovich's Stephanie Plum books and Leanne Banks's romances. I'm glad I read the first two chapters in the bookstore and put it back on the shelf. It's a disappointment. Nowhere did I see any trace of Leanne Banks in the book and the plot and characters were boring and dull. Basically they've taken a Plum plot and re-worked it into something that well... doesn't work. Cate is TSTL. Pugg is annoying. And Kellen... I didn't get far enough into it to come to any conclusions about him. This one gets a thumbs down from me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ready for the next one!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
She nodsm
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
jgoss825 More than 1 year ago
I have been a fan of Evanovich's Stephanie Plum series for over a year now and picked this book up from a "Free" shelf at our local library.  It was a "light" read that I really enjoyed and was happy that I grabbed it.  It is a shame that it is a "stand-alone" book because I would have liked to have read more about the characters in the story.  If Evanovich and Banks write more about Cate's adventures, I would definitely purchase a copy!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
sunny46 More than 1 year ago
Ms E has always got a sense of humor in her characters which I like and always her books move right along and keep the action coming .
OrangePoppyCA More than 1 year ago
Quick and easy book with lots of laughs to get you through the weekend!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago