×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Hotel Pastis
     

Hotel Pastis

3.9 10
by Peter Mayle
 

See All Formats & Editions

A beguiling novel of romance, adventure, and tongue-in-cheek suspense set in the South of France, from the beloved, best-selling author of A Year in Provence.

Simon Shaw, a rumpled, fortyish English advertising executive, has decided to leave it all behind, and heads of to France to transform an abandoned police station in the Lubéron into a small but

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Hotel Pastis 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
TLeopard More than 1 year ago
Peter Mayle has such a way with words. I loved this book. Made me want to move to France.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Peter Mayle introduced many of us to Provence through his travel books. His fiction is equally enjoyable. This book is a fun view of the Provencal lifestyle. Great reading after a boring day at the office.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have read several of Peter Mayle's books and I thought Mr. Mayle had a fun writing style until this book, Hotel Pastis. I found it offensive and written from a strong male perspective which was just boring and not interesting. I had recommended this book for our bookclub read this month and I am embarrassed that I did. I wish I would have read a true review of the book that would have at least given an R rating for language. Mr Mayle must have decided to leave his charming style for vulgarity and edge that won't appeal to his previous followers.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I HIGHLY recommend Mayle's 'travel' books such as 'A Year in Provence' and 'Encore Provence' I am not as enamored with his fiction. Yes, he includes his trademark descriptions of French villages and food, but his characters seem phony and flat. Perhaps the difficulty lies in the fact that this contrived story pales in comparison to the charm of Mayle's 'real' France.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Peter Mayle has a style all his own: clever, witty, and filled with fun! Here Mayle tells the story of how a burnt-out advertising man from London leaves it all behind to start anew in the South-of-France as the owner of a charming (renovated) hotel and the beau of a ravishing Frenchwoman. Great fun for a summer afternoon!