×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Hound Dog True
     

Hound Dog True

3.8 19
by Linda Urban
 

See All Formats & Editions

“Do not let a mop sit overnight in water. Fix things before they get too big for fixing.” Fifth-grader Mattie Breen writes it all down. She has just one week to convince Uncle Potluck to take her on as his custodial apprentice before school starts. As his apprentice, she’ll have important work to do during lunch and recess . . . work that will

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Hound Dog True 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 19 reviews.
TheBumbleGirl1 More than 1 year ago
I truly wish that I had been able to read Hound Dog True as a child. Linda Urban's writing is sweet and refreshing, heartfelt and insightful - a book for all ages to read, experience and be inspired by. Mattie has one week to adjust before becoming the new kid in school again. She decides that maybe this time it won't be so bad if she can convince her Uncle Potluck, the custodian to her school, to let her become his apprentice in order to avoid any moments to where she would have to be forced to talk to her classmates. She is very observant and records all of their odd jobs in her notebook. Will her idea work? Then the neighbors niece comes into town for the week. Mattie's mother and Uncle would like them to be friends. But Mattie is awkward and doesn't know what to do with Quincy who looks to be older and outspoken, the complete opposite of what Mattie is. Will Mattie be able to trust Quincy to be her friend? Mattie's mother, although very loving and caring, is flighty and in denial. Her motto being "When the going gets tough, the tough get going." After getting some advice from Uncle Potluck, she decides that it is finally time for her and Mattie to stay put for once. That they weren't going to run anymore 'when the going gets tough'... Mattie doesn't agree at first. She is having a tough time adjusting and wants to get going... will they? Will Mattie stay "Hound Dog True"? It is a coming of age story of a painfully shy girl; a fifth grader who overcomes some of her fears by accepting what is, opening up and accepting how good things can be if she allows herself the opportunity. I truly recommend reading this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I LOVED this book!!! It was just a wonderfull story of freindship and finding were you belong! I DEFINATLU recommend this book to everyone!!!!!!!!! : )
book4children More than 1 year ago
It's official. I'm a fan of Linda Urban. What a sweet little book! I really love this story about a young girl and her seemingly insurmountable shyness. Maybe it is just the fact that I can relate so well to the story, but I love the way Ms. Urban captures the personality and thoughts of an introverted young girl. The characters in this book are fantastic. I love the way Quincy looks past Mattie's quiet demeanor and continues to befriend her. Quincy accepts Mattie the way she is, and even helps her overcome some of her fears. This is not the type of book that everyone will love, but I sure did. Linda Urban is also the author of A Crooked Kind of Perfect.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book will tell you how much the characters use love and kindness and lots more! But, I've read this book and love it. So I know you would love it too. And if you like it, please rate it. It will make the authur happy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I feel like I am in the book in some parts! I am a big I mean big book reader. And tyi
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I don't like writing bad reviews, but this book is one of the worst i've ever read. this book makes no sense, the characters are boring, so is the setting. i read this earlier this year. my teacher made the class read it. some older kids might like it, but little kids will think its awful. way too boring. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm in fifth grade and i had to read it for school. Most books we read for school are boring, but i really love it. I really think yall should read it!!!!!!;)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
WUZ HERE, GO TYPE 'MACBETH' IN THAT SEARCH BAR AND PRETEND YOUR A CAT! OR FOX! THEN GO TO 'ERIN HUNTER' OR 'WARRIORS' FOR MORE CHOICES!!!!!! THIS IS CALLED RPING!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
They only say hound dog true twice and what does it mean somebody answer me PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!!!ps not not recomended
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Linda urban is a great author i had 2 readit for school and it is better than i thought i liked the part when Quincy pretended to be the good lint and Mattie was Moe the button off of her pjs and the where against the bad lint in the washing machine -Secret book lover
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My 5th grade son has just read this book as well as myself to assist him in understanding most of it. He was completely bored with the subject matter and I felt the writing style to be very, very awkward for children. I understand the message that was trying to get out, but unfortunately it is lost in the poor writing. Maybe for an older person, but even I was bored with it as well as the charaters did not impress me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hdjydkjfdhdd
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is like the best book ever i love it it is the best
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked this book POOR MOE
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Poor moe
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Even i could write better than this . If your lookong for a good long read this is terrible.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hound Dog True iz a gud buk i likd it verri alot i tink u shud reed it it was verri gud reed it i rekomend it tu evrewun