×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Hourglass Door (Hourglass Door Trilogy Series #1)
     

The Hourglass Door (Hourglass Door Trilogy Series #1)

4.5 70
by Lisa Mangum
 

See All Formats & Editions


His past. Her future. Can love bring them together in time?

Abby's senior year of high school is going according to plan: good friends, cute boyfriend, and college applications in the mail. But when Dante Alexander, foreign-exchange student from Italy, steps into her life, he turns it upside down. He's mysterious, and interesting, and unlike anyone

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Hourglass Door (Hourglass Door Trilogy Series #1) 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 71 reviews.
Tawni More than 1 year ago
I was excited to jump into The Hourglass Door after hearing many good things about it! I didn't figure it would be such an adventure and a truly unique story. Lisa Mangum created a whole new world where time and balance is everything. The Hourglass Door was the perfect beginning to a promising series. I dove into with high expectations and it definitely didn't let me down. Abby's life is on track. Her senior year is going well and her plans after high school seems to be unfolding in her favor. But when she meets Dante Alexander everything gets flipped around. She's drawn to Dante, as he is to her, but she's always noticed something was just not right. Especially when time seems to slow down when he's around. Abby is a strong-willed girl. She's got everything going for her and she doesn't take advantage of that. I appreciated that she was such a normal girl worrying about theater, hurting her boring boyfriend and her school plans. It was easy for me to connect to her. I loved that I was able to make an early connection to her, because it threw me into the story. After a while I was hooked (but I think Dante may have had something to do with that). Dante the gorgeous Italian exchange student. What more must I say? Well, he's sweet and caring and has a shocking past that the reader won't expect.really. He was such a puzzle to me. I couldn't figure him out, but I never wanted to give up trying to! It was easy to fall for Dante as well as other supporting characters in the book. Lisa Mangum has such a unique style of writing that it was just a foot in the door of fantasy. Well, actually it is a complete fantastical world seamlessly intertwined with the a normal girl's life. How much more can we ask for? The Hourglass Door was an amazing beginning to what seems to be a journey like no other. I suggest this book to anyone who loves a fantasy and romance story. It is everything and more that I look for in a great read. Definitely a book to add to your lists!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book a couple months after he broke up with me. Yeah i had emotional swings. It was terrible. I suggest not reading this after someone broke up with you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This. Book. Is. AMAZING!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
THIS BOOK WAS THE BEST!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. It broughtbme into tears.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was really interesting. The characters were well built a very good plot. I loved this series but warning to those who don't have a lot of patience it is somewhat slow but worth the read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Spoiler alert. Loved when Dave kissed Abby hilarious... yet awkward
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
To those anon people... you most definently do not know a good book. This is a great book!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A normal gril with ever thing she need has a spin with time. But when foreing-exchange student Dante Alexsander comes every thing changes. Abby finds out that Dante has been the one for her. But is her love doomed or may i say lost in time. Follow Abby and Dante as they strugle with friend , family and past. But beside strugle things get wierd and she get to trust more and gets to find out stuff out of the box . Honestly best book ever couldn't put it down has ever thing a great book need action,love, drama and mistery. :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is amazing! I love it soo much! Theres no confusion, plenty of details, and Dante seems HOT! (: if youre looking for a good read, its your lucky day!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Shoot_The_Moon More than 1 year ago
Lisa Mangum had an interesting concept; time travel is cool, and I love the tie in she made with Leonardo Da Vinci. I also really liked the classic literature references (except for Dante's Inferno; Mangum tried to make it seem like it was about a love story between Dante and Beatrice, and it wasn't at all. She clearly didn't read Dante's Inferno). But unfortunately she ruined her book with a really boring romance. I hate when books have the potential to be awesome and then the author ruins their awesome idea with romance. I can't even explain how dull Dante and Abby were as a couple. There was no chemistry between them at all. The author spent more time telling us why they were a cute couple, instead of SHOWING us why they were cute. There was never a moment where I understood why they liked eachother. From what I read the only reason Abby liked Dante was becease he was Italian, sexy, and mysterious. And he liked her because.....she was special? I don't know. This book was filled with two dementional characters, lazy character development, and a boring and slow plot (not that there was much of a plot). If you like stories where the romance is the main plot, then you might like this. But, if you prefer romance to be a subplot, then this deffinitely isn't for you.
bobbles918 More than 1 year ago
I liked the Hourglass Door. It's an interesting story but still was kind of confused. Even when the things I questioned were answered I still felt like they werent fully answered. I wish that the main character was stronger-she seems to depend on the guys in her life to give her a voice. The ending was a pretty good cliffhanger. Looking forward to reading the next one but not in a hurry.
AliceGrace More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved The Hourglass Door! This is, obviously, the first novel I've ever read by Lisa Mangum and I don't hesitate to say that she, along with many others, has a beautiful talent. Her writing it wonderful! Although she started the book with the writing style that I typically try to stay away from, I was instantly captivated. I had been told that this particular writing style could be quite effective when used correctly and add more emphasis to a story. This is the first time I've ever found that to be true. Lisa Mangum has crafted a beautifully, unforgettable novel full of love and mystery. This is easily one of my favorite books. The plot was wonderfully balanced between action, mystery, and love. There were times when she'd begin to reveal something and you'd be able to guess exactly what it was, but only moments before you read the revelation a few lines later. I found that so....smart. Instead of leaving the reader wondering the whole time, she'd bring something up and just as you guess what the answer is, boom. You read it. I don't know if she did that to play to her strengths or not but I think it was smart. I really enjoyed reading how Abby and Dante fall in love. For the first 200 pages or so, he comes so close but pulls away from Abby. You can literally feel how close they are to falling in love. The final moment is kept tantalizingly close yet so far at the same time. It was beautifully done. This is possibly by far, the best romance novel I've ever read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hillmax More than 1 year ago
Follow Abby during her senior year as she meets Dante. A mysterious fellow student who brings charm, and romance and a secret. Discover how Leonardo DaVinci plays into this most fascinating twist of a tale. And if you are like me you will finish it and be running out to get book #2!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MissaKatherine More than 1 year ago
I am in the middle of this book now and I am having a hard time putting it down for classes and homework! This book is amazing and is definatly one of my favorite books out of all the books I have read (which is a lot)! Dante is easy to fall in love with! I highly highly recomend this book!
undercoverwriter More than 1 year ago
I fell in love with Dante somwhere in this book. Who can't? He's an amazing, mysterious, Italian speaking,time traveler! It's a good love story with a really thrilling back story that makes it different from most teen romances. If you're a sucker for dreamy Italians then this is the book for you, and if not, you'll still love it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm a lover of literature. This book however brought about emotions deep within, that no book has ever done before. I tried my hardest to savor every word, every page, to make it last. Eloquently written, I finished it tonight at 1:33 a.m and I will purchase The Golden Spiral tomorrow afternoon.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is totally the best book ever. This is definitly an all nighter book, which is a total bummer if you have school in the morning. The characters are so real. You can't help but fall in love with the characters, especially Dante:) The plot line is amazing. The plot line is constantly changing and twisting. If you are a Twilight fan then this book is a must read.