×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The House of Dead Maids
     

The House of Dead Maids

3.7 11
by Clare B. Dunkle
 

See All Formats & Editions

A chilling prelude to Wuthering Heights

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

House of Dead Maids 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
Emwilck More than 1 year ago
Not the scariest book in the world. It was a good storyline all in all, though. I loved how the main character was actually a real person. That surprised me! A very short book, though it took me a few days to read it. I wanted it to last longer, so I only read a few pages a day. Anyway, if you're into extremely scary books, look for another book. "House of Dead Maids" is nothing to fear.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Is there a book #2
SleepDreamWrite More than 1 year ago
That cover...creepy. A quick read. This one was alright, like the creepy atmosphere and all. Haven't read but heard of Wuthering Heights.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you are a fast reader then this book isnt worth almost 10 dollar. It was 95 pages long and i finished it in 3 hours. This book reminds me of the skeleton key.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lawral More than 1 year ago
This cover grabbed me. I walked past the girl with no eyes probably a dozen times before I decided I just had to have a copy of this book. That girl on the cover is so enthralling. And a little disturbing. And she doesn't disappoint. This book is enthralling. And a more than a little disturbing. Tabby's life at Seldom House is odd, creepy, and plagued by ghosts, some seemingly kind and some openly menacing. The House of Dead Maids has a wonderfully creepy and complicated set-up. It is hard to guess what is really going on at Seldom House with its old maid and young maid, neither of whom are actually maids, and its old master and young master, neither of whom act like the wealthy landowners they're supposed to be. Everything is a bit...off, from the way the house is run to the way the townspeople react to those in it. In the beginning, it's not so weird that it alarms Tabby, every town and house has its quirks, but it does make her feel vulnerable and a little off-kilter. It's in this state that she starts to encounter the ghosts, one in particular that she might have know in their lives before Seldom House. The mood ranges from a little dark to pretty darn scary. When we finally see what is really going on at Seldom House, there are a few holes left in the story, but they do not detract from the rapidly increasing creepy factor that just keeps getting higher the more things are explained. Much has been made of The Heathcliff Connection in this book. Himself, or Heathen Git, is supposed to grow up to be Brontë's Heathcliff, and Tabby, a real historical person, grows up to be the Brontës' maid and teller of late night ghost stories. While this is kind of cool, I do think that The Heathcliff Connection is being emphasized a bit too much. It didn't seem to have too much to do with the stories, The House of Dead Maids or Wuthering Heights. Tabby's real life connection to the Brontës, on the other hand, was pretty interesting, especially when an explanation involving the hauntings at Seldom House is given for why the real life sisters cared for this maid so devotedly for her entire life. The epilogue offers more information about the historical Tabby, which I found very interesting and much more related to the story in this book than the (I felt) forced Heathcliff Connection. The epilogue also contains a plug for the author's website where there is more information about the historical Brontës, Wuthering Heights, and Tabby Ackroyd. This is a very spooky, scary story that is a perfect Halloween read, and with the extra awesome cover it will be perfect for Halloween displays as well. For Brontë fans, The Heathcliff Connection will be an added bonus to a book that is a great keep-the-lights-on story for the rest of us as well. Book source: Arc picked up at ALA. PS - And there are illustrations! Little ones at the beginning of each chapter. Some of which make that cover art look as harmless as a tea party.
starlitehouse More than 1 year ago
Tabby Aykroyd is plucked from her quiet life to live at Seldom House and take care of the young master. She finds the herself surrounded by disturbing shadows and housemates who have all to hide. Little does she know that the young master has already sealed his fate and hers. Clare B. Dunkle brings us the beginning of heath cliff's life before he reaches Wuthering Heights. I received this book from Goodreads First Reads and have already passed it on to my daughter just in time for Halloween!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cool looking