×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

House of Mercy
     

House of Mercy

4.3 14
by Erin Healy
 

See All Formats & Editions

When Beth’s world falls apart, can she ever be whole again?

Beth has a gift of healing—which is why she wants to become a vet and help her family run their fifth-generation cattle ranch. Her father’s dream of helping men in trouble and giving them a second chance is her dream too. But it only takes one foolish decision for Beth to destroy

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

House of Mercy 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
nurse97 More than 1 year ago
This was an exceptionally good book! This is the 2nd bool of hers that i have read and already purchased another one for my nook. she is going on my favorite author's list. Read this book. Its very hard to put down! 
GodsDancerAlwayz More than 1 year ago
Erin Healy’s House of Mercy (Thomas Nelson Publishers) follows a young lady named Bethesda (Beth) whose family lives on a generationally cattle-ranch turned sanctuary to rehab troubled men. She dreams of becoming a vet, due to her easy intuition at healing animals, and is about to go off to vet school. One night she makes a quick decision that turns into a very foolish mistake. This mistake put’s her dream at stake as well as her family’s livelihood causing Beth’s relationships with her family take quite the toll. As she tries to right each wrong she continuously finds herself in more trouble and her decisions continue to have a domino effect. Mercy becomes personified and Beth discovers a spiritual gift. She starts to believe in this gift that she cannot control and follows Mercy to once again try to right her wrongs. House of Mercy turns even more tragic and the magnitude of consequence is made clear. While not all the tragedies that ensue are clearly due to Beth, it is argued that she is the cause. Her family ties continue to sever as she fights for control to fix her wrongs and she is given a task to complete that may fix almost everything. This request unravels a family secret and sets her directly on a journey toward mercy. She is given an ultimatum and flees the situation to begin her journey and attempt to fix her problems. Healy does a great job at keeping the reader on the edge of their seat; suspensefully relaying Beth’s journey. The story is heartbreakingly universal. Beth is constantly trying to fix things herself without relying on anyone else, including God. As she journeys to fulfill the request set out for her, and find her grandfather she is forced to learn to rely on Mercy or suffer even more consequences. The constant challenges that Healy’s character’s face and the extreme abruptness that it takes until they listen to God makes them incredibly relatable. House of Mercy exemplifies through Beth how decisions that may seem harmless sometimes carry negative consequences, but are not always a death sentence. Healy also quite realistically describes through Beth’s journey that the plan God lays out for us is not always easy; human pride often gets in the way of His Mercy. Beth must learn to relinquish control and let God use not only her but the people around her to turn her situation back on track. Healy also relates to the reader in the truth that these other vessels also may take some work before they are willing vessels, and that is sometimes quite the fight. Healy keeps it real; not all of the characters accept God’s mercy. The story ends on a suspenseful note, leaving room for some of the characters to change their minds. House of Mercy, released August 2012, is a riveting, fast-paced read with a redemptive lesson on what mercy truly means. It is available in paperback or e-book form and Healy includes at the end of the novel the story of when she read a real life wolf that inspired her story of Mercy.
arlenadean More than 1 year ago
Author: Erin Healy Published By: Thomas Nelson Age Recommended:5 YA - Adult Reviewed By: Arlena Dean Book Blog For: GMTA Rating: Review: "House of Mercy" by Erin Healy not only mysterious, suspenseful, adventurous, supernatural, inspirational, but also a wonderful intriguing christian fiction. This setting was from the southern Colorado area with this author giving us a beautiful full descriptions of life on a ranch. The main character in this novel, Bethesda Borzios (Beth) who had wanted to be a Vet since she was a little girl, but one night she had gotten herself in a situation that changed her life forever..."because of her decision Beth's family is about to lose their home and ranch." You will soon find out find out that Beth's family also had issues of their own (that brother, Levi ... wow)! I loved how this author was able to 'show us God's mercy and grace,' that even in bad many times because of the choices we make ..God is their and does bring us through it all. As Beth goes on a journey to the mountains to find someone she didn't know had existed, her grandfather. While maturing...she learns to put her faith and trust in God. The "House of Mercy" will also offer to the reader some 'mystical wolf' that is entered into this story offering some 'supernatural element.' Now what is that about? The main question that will be answered: "Does Beth have enough faith to follow where God is leading her?" and "Can she trust a wolf?" Get ready because it really get interesting. Now, to really get the true fill for this novel I can only say you will have to pick up this novel to see how this author brings it all together. It is truly a excellent read. "House of Mercy" was a strong, well written read with characters that seemed to come to life as you read. Would I recommend this read? YES!
jebsweetpea More than 1 year ago
Beth has a gift of healing—which is why she wants to become a vet and help her family run their fifth-generation cattle ranch. Her father’s dream of helping men in trouble and giving them a second chance is her dream too. But it only takes one foolish decision for Beth to destroy it all.Beth scrambles to redeem her mistake, pleading with God for help, even as a mystery complicates her life. The repercussions grow more unbearable—a lawsuit, a death, a divided family, and the looming loss of everything she cares about. Beth’s only hope is to find the grandfather she never knew and beg for his help. Confused, grieving, and determined to make amends, she embarks on a horseback journey across the mountains, guided by a wild, unpredictable wolf who may or may not be real.Set in the stunningly rugged terrain of Southern Colorado, House of Mercy follows Beth through the valley of the shadow of death into the unfathomable miracles of God’s goodness and mercy. This is my second Erin Healy book that I read and I was not disappointed. Healy describes her writing as supernatural suspense, and this book reflects that.  Just like in The Baker's Wife, Healy does a fantastic job setting up the story quickly and you are immersed from the first page of wanting to know what is going to happen to this person. Her characters and writing is so real. To the point that I was getting frustrated and disliked some personalities and had a breaking heart for others. Putting the fiction aspect aside, the spiritual asset was oh so rich. One part that grasped my heart was during one scene where Beth was having a little conversation with God about healing her grandfather. The gist of it was that God could've healed her grandfather Himself, but He was choosing to use Beth as a way to heal her grandfather, to show her what His mercy looks like. How many times do I miss this in my own life? Where God could so easily do something all by Himself, but instead chooses to do something by using me, to show me His character, grace, mercy and love? Still chewing, mulling and digesting this nugget that I believe is so profound. This is a fantastic read and I highly recommend it. Booksneeze sent me this complimentary book to review for them. Opinions of this book are my own.
bookbloggerKB More than 1 year ago
House of Mercy by Erin Healy Beth Borzoi lives on a ranch and loves animals, especially horses. She aspires to be a vet. Because of a freak accident involving a wolf and another rancher’s valuable horse, her family will lose their ranch and ministry. Her father believes that her estranged grandfather, Garner Remke, holds the key to rescuing their ranch. Shortly before her father’s death, he urges Beth to search out Garner and bring him home. She goes in search of him on horseback, but is followed by a mysterious wolf, perhaps the same one that caused her catastrophic accident. She manages to find Garner, but he is fighting for his life and Beth must now try to save him from probable death. Erin Healy is one of my favorite Christian writers. This book had layers of plot that kept me reading, despite the fact that I am not a fan of Western novels. The author weaves a thread of the supernatural throughout this book, and I find myself still trying to grasp the symbolism. The book ended, but left me wanting to know more of what happened after the last page. I hope there will be a sequel as many questions were left unanswered. I intend to read as many as books as Erin Healy writes. She is an excellent writer and I highly recommend her works. My thanks to Booksneeze, which provided the free e-book for me and this is my honest review
CaraPutman More than 1 year ago
Erin Healy is back with another story that takes twists and turns through the natural and supernatural worlds. This author's books tend to have a strong supernatural thread, and House of Mercy follows in that vein. The book tackles the idea of whether we believe God is good when things don't go the way we expect. It's a question I've wrestled with and imagine many of us have. The story is told through the lens of Beth, an aspiring vet who risks everything her family has worked for in a late night ride on a thoroughbred that goes very wrong. Her family is torn apart and she is determined to make things right. The plot wanders through a lot of ground, telling the story through the voice of several characters. In the end all the stories come back to the concept of mercy. Will we accept it? And will we grant it. The story does not wrap up in a neat package...instead leaving room for a sequel. This book is for those who like strong characters, don't like endings that are easy to anticipate, and want a story that doesn't fit in a neat box.
PetLover1924 More than 1 year ago
Beth has a desire to become a vet. Right now she is striving to cure horses with the touch of her hand, as well as help the family out at the cattle ranch. Her and her father's dream is to help those give a second chance. But Beth makes a foolish decision that destroys every thing. In order to redeem her mistakes she looks for God's help, even when things fall apart in the family: a death, and a lawsuit just waiting to happen. On her journey she encounters a wolf that then becomes her guide. I did enjoy this book. Beth reminded me of myself. I was able to understand what was going on in her mind, and the deep love she has for animals and God. Trusts in God that he can help guide her to make it right. The only thing that I found that I did not like about the book was it being an eBook version. I hated that it was one thousand pages on a tiny screen. I would recommend it in print if you don't have a iPad. Booksneeze supplied me with the eBook version of House of Mercy.
MaureenST More than 1 year ago
A book I never wanted to end...I felt like I was walking with my hand in Gods. Erin Healy has written a powerful book, and we experience good and evil. Bethesda Borzios has wanted to be a Vet since she was a little girl, but one night a wrong decision [or was it the right one] changes her life forever. Because of her decision her family is about to loose their home and ranch. Beth is determined to remedy what she has broke, but how. Does she have enough faith to follow where God is leading her? Can she trust a wolf? She does finally name the persistent wolf Mercy. When her brother Levi tells her he has sold her truck, she goes looking for it on the ranch. This leads to a series of events that eventually brings her to her Grandfather...maybe just in time. Here we meet evil head on, and will have to wonder who will be the winner. I see there is a sequel to the book coming next year...can't wait!! I received this book Publisher Thomas Nelson, and was not required to give a positive review.
KenzieMB More than 1 year ago
Before I began reading House of Mercy, I read reviews that said the story was interesting and others saying they didn't enjoy the magical aspects of the story. I decided I would read it anyways and decide for myself. While the author painted a picture that felt utterly surreal, her plot lacked the excitement that would urge me to speedily finish the novel. As it was, it took me a week and a half to finish it (if I to some extent like a book, it'll take me two days to finish tops). During a midnight ride, a wolf attacks Beth, scarring her...and leaving behind healing powers at her fingertips, a dead stud horse, a furious owner, and a lawsuit threatening to bring her family's ranch to its knees. Ultimately, her family is torn apart at the scenes because of a stupid decision Beth made. Feeling unwelcome and wanting to right her wrongs, Beth sets off on a journey to locate her estranged grandfather. There were many things keeping me from really liking this book. The magical, mystical thing was a little odd, weird, and hard to really enjoy. It was frustrating how Beth never seemed to have any emotions and how she didn't seem to find anything wrong with her actions. Also, there were so many sub-plots taking you away from the main one that I quickly disengaged. It was sort of like watching a movie with more commercials in between the segments than the movie itself. At the end of the book, there wasn't a lot of closure. The theme was mercy, and that's good and all, we all need it and need to show it. But the reason I wouldn't recommend this book is because it drifted so far away from the original theme, that it was more confusing than enjoying to read. It was a task to finish House of Mercy. But I've heard many things about Erin Healy, so I might try another book by her, but this one is not a book I'll ever read again. I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze® book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
Heart2Heart More than 1 year ago
The Blazing B was a 6500 acre cattle ranch that was created when Abel Borzoi and Dr. Roy Davis merged their professional passions of ranching and psychiatry and expands Blazing B's purpose. It became and outreach to functional but wounded men who needed a home and a job, like Wally, who had been at the ranch for three years, since a stroke left his body unaffected but struck his brain with a short-term memory disorder. It was called anterograde amnesia, a forgetfulness of experiences but not skills. Those who know her, call her the horse whisperer, but those who don't know her as Beth Borzoi, Abel's daughter. Now studying to gain her veterinarian's license she works at understanding the spirits of the animals she works with, something her father feels she has a true calling for. It doesn't help that she is still suffering from a crush on her father's partner's son, Jacob who also works on the ranch. He's been the Blazing B's general operations manager for more than 5 years. While working late doing a favor for a friend, Phil who worked on the Kandinsky's ranch raising thoroughbreds and Morgans, she attempted to work on his horse's inflamed eye. After realizing this infection had gone on too long, she called for the Blazing B's vet. While waiting, she was offered a ride on one of the most prized Thoroughbred, Java, Java, Go Joe! Even though it was late, she knew that the horse could see far better than she did and when she gave him full and complete control of the reins, he raced faster than she ever dreamed possible, until she sensed a change in Joe's demeanor. Beth soon realizes that the horse is now running for his life and just out of the corner of her eye, she spots it, a gray wolf. Before she knows it the wolf has anticipated her moves and launches at her from the front, knocking her from the horse and taking down the Thoroughbred as well. Luckily for Beth, the horse missed landing on her but her arm is pinned beneath him. Now she awaits for the wolf's final attack on them both. WOW is all I can say as this novel, House of Mercy by Erin Healy opens up on some exciting action just within the first couple of chapters and already has the reader breathless on the edge of their seat, you just know it's only going to intensify. I love it when a novel engages me so much that I find myself literally holding my breath waiting for the outcome and this one has plenty to suit those who crave suspense and action! But how will this outcome now affect what Beth wanted for her life? Will she be able to continue to pursue her dream of caring for animals as a veterinarian or will the accident claim the life she dreamed of in ways she couldn't imagine? You'll have to pick up House of Mercy by Erin Healy to find out. I received this novel compliments of B & B Media Group for my honest opinion and LOVED every minute of it. It was engaging and taught the lessons of what happens when God's mercy is poured out on own lives even though we feel we don't deserve it. It also teaches us that no matter how long we find ourselves in the valley of the shadow of death, we will rise to the mountaintop someday and the view will be worth the wait. I rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars!
Christianfictionaddiction More than 1 year ago
House of Mercy is one of those books where I became so absorbed in the character's lives, so worked up over the unjust treatment Beth received (especially from her brother), that I could barely sit still while reading it due to my desire to reach down into its pages and make people behave! Erin Healy is a fabulous author, seeming to effortlessly combine a unique, fast-paced plot with suspense and elements of the supernatural. She excels at creating characters who pulse with life, who are set down in situations that immediately draw upon your sympathies and have you rooting for them to succeed. Beth is a character who broke my heart after she finds herself in dire circumstances, suffering from a horrible mistake with far-reaching consequences. However, not only was Beth a well-developed character, but the rest of the cast of characters who star in this novel were equally well-fleshed out (and I must say that the villain is ever so creepy, mostly due to her normal and respectable exterior caging the mind of a delusional killer!). What I loved most about this story is Erin's portrayal of God's mercy, and the profound truth that God is good. I love where Beth is asked "Why do you follow such a God?" and answers "because I believe he is good. Not because he gives me what I want, but just because he is. He doesn't owe me any other explanation". That, indeed, is truth to live by. The conclusion is true-to-life, providing resolution while reminding that in reality not everything works out perfectly, and while the story doesn't leave you hanging per se, I for one would love to see Beth return in a future novel. There's so much to like here, from the excellent characters and the enjoyable plot, to the miracles and the unique role of the wolf, to the faith that has been woven into the book's pages. I award this book 5 out of 5 stars. Book has been provided courtesy of the publisher, Thomas Nelson, and Rick Roberson of B & B Media Group.
ebeau More than 1 year ago
House of Mercy by Erin Healy was a really good read. Not quite as absorbing as the books she has co authored with Ted Dekker. However, those books have an additional element of suspense. This book has its own element of suspense. When Beth makes a decision the repercussions show that one wrong step can set off a chain of events. She finds herself lost, ostracized from her family in the midst of great grief; and facing down the possibility that she could lose everything she loves. She searches for the answer, and pleads with God to provide the solution. “Confused, grieving and determined to make amends, she embarks on a horseback journey across the mountains, guided by a wild, unpredictable wolf who may or may not be real.” As always God is faithful to redeem even our worst mistakes. This is the beauty of His infinite mercy. This is the heart of Erin Healy's story. Even in the middle of our foolishness God reaches down and turns circumstances that seem impossible into a story that glorifies Him. This book was a great reminder of this truth.
Kellie4 More than 1 year ago
This book, House of Mercy by Erin Healy, had a lot of potential when I read the synopsis, however, it took me a long time to get into. I read this on my Kindle, and I kept thinking to myself, I'm only at 40%? And the thought continued throughout. However, once I got to about 70% (again, reading on my Kindle), I was intrigued and interested in the outcome. As I mentioned, the book had a slow start. It seemed that everything, and I mean EVERYTHING was going wrong for Beth and her family. Beth is an aspiring vet, at least this is what she wants to go to school for in order to work on a farm helping animals. She seeks to help someone out and ends up "stealing a horse" according to the horse owners, and inevitably injuring the horse and her family in the outcome. Her family is injured because they are being sued for practically eveything, but all they really have is the farm. As I was reading the opening chapters, I just kept thinking, "Wow, this book is kind of depressing". In another small town near Beth's families farm, is her grandfather whom she doesn't know because her mother and him are estranged. The characters that develop in this story are really hard to "love". I feel if I don't love the characters, it is more difficult to get into a book. The book was not all bad though. The message behind the book was great! The message that I received is that God does not always answer our prayers the way we want him to. However, he is alwasy PRESENT and he is always showing us Mercy. Thank you Booksneeze for the opportunity to read this book.
Wrangler74 More than 1 year ago
Don't have the book yet