×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

House to House: An Epic Memoir of War
     

House to House: An Epic Memoir of War

4.6 64
by David Bellavia, John Bruning (With)
 

See All Formats & Editions

One of the great heroes of the Iraq War, Staff Sergeant David Bellavia captures the brutal action and raw intensity of leading his Third Platoon, Alpha Company, into a lethally choreographed kill zone: the booby-trapped, explosive-laden houses of Fallujah's militant insurgents. Bringing to searing life the terrifying intimacy of hand-to-hand infantry combat,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

House to House: An Epic Memoir of War 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 64 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Some books are well written and destined to be classics, like "Company Commander" or "Helmet For My Pillow." This is one of those books. I have read so many combat memoirs and interviewed so many soldiers in my career and hobby that I started thinking I've heard it all..Bellavia's accts are so well written you cannot stop reading and you feel as tho you are there. I've never read an account of hand to hand combat so moving, so detailed it was disturbing. Thank you Iraqi & Afgan vets, it's an eye opener for those that think this was an air war and occupation duty. Thank you David Bellavia.
Roborag More than 1 year ago
Staff Sergeant David Bellavia's account of the Fallujah War is an incredible feat of determination symbolizing the theme to not let even the worst situations get the best of you. The book features blood, gore, cussing, and banter, all of which bring the war experience to life. Rather than deny the truth of war, David Bellavia puts it on our front doorstep with an incredibly realistic description of his missions. The book features themes of courage, fear, brotherhood, and duty while staying away from politics making it an uncorrupted war experience. David Bellavia is not stuck up; he makes and recognizes his errors even as the leader of his comrades. His Silver Medal-account of the house-to-house experience brings the reader into the battle zone of David Bellavia. This book is most appropriate for high school students and adults. Even though it contains an extensive amount of cussing, the book is informative on the Iraq War-effort, and details the extreme measures these men have to take to complete their mission. The frightening missions they face from wading through human excrement to slip past detection, to stumbling across massive IED's show the fearlessness of the infantrymen. David Bellavia's memoir of the accurately reveals the truth of the War in Iraq. The house-to-house mission is the hallmark of this book and David Bellavia's career. The men are assigned a mission to clear 12 houses in Fallujah. Inside the 10th house David Bellavia and his comrades come under heavy fire and are forced to retreat amongst the tracer fire and darkness. Outside David Bellavia is furious, questioning himself "Do I have the balls? Do I have the nuts to do what my f***ing heart wants me to do?" His journey begins as he finds the strength to take back his honor and manhood alone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It starts out a little slow, about chapter 6 the action starts. It is funny, suspenseful, and sad all in one. The epilogue made me cry. If you love 1st person war accounts, this is a must read.
funrunner1977 More than 1 year ago
Wow. I just finished reading "House to House" and I am stunned. This book means so much to me as a soldier. The raw grittiness of an infantryman in combat has been captured perfectly. The language is rough and real and the portrayal of human sacrifice is touching. The book is a borderline masterpiece in my book and I'd recommend it to anyone who wants to know what its like in combat...as hard of a question as that is to answer. The book proper was perfect, but the prologue is extremely moving and really brings the work home as the author reflects on what his service means to him, his family and in particular that old lady on the streets of Fallujah. Don't understand that last part? Get the book and you will.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It's set in 2004 in Fallujah (Iraq) and takes real world accounts into the invasion of the city by the 2/2. It's a real easy read with a very down to earth, raw human element. This is a great book to gain insight on the stresses that one must face while engaging in combat while walking the fine line of being a soldier as well as a leader and the personal demons and discipline one must contend with while trying to navigate between what's real and losing one's mind. Its a powerfully gripping read that is flawless from start to finish. It gives new prospective of what our men are really faced with. Selfless even when knowing their fate is at the mercy of those they are fighting alongside and the enemy. Highly recommend!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was a great read. The book jumps right into the action, there is no long drawn out beginning. The chapters move quickly and I found myself very involved with the details. You can get a good feel of the surroundings and the authors feelings. You will have a new appreciation for those who fight for the United States.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Staff Sgt. Bellavia 'Bell' spent six years in the United states infantry. After coming home he wrote this book describing his last and costly mission of all, taking fallujah, a city deep in the heart of Iraq. Follow Staff Sgt. Bell from patrolling the streets of Baghdad to the after math of the battle. This was a outstanding book and was full of suspense all the way through. This book is not part of a series but there is a book called my men are my hero¿s which is based on the same battle only following a marine. If you like war books you will like this book. This book really reflects the gritty and realistic features of war, so there is a lot of gory details and bad language. If you have a week stomach or bad language offends you I would not read this book. This book kind of reminds me of the movie Black Hawk Down. I really enjoyed reading this book and I hope you will to.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have two brothers in Iraq. Since they have shipped out I have read many books from the war in Iraq. This is by far the best I have read. I couldnt stop reading it. Finished it in less than two days. YOU MUST READ!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
A great look inside a combat infantryman's life in Iraq. Anyone who likes non-fiction books about war, read this! It gives you the point of view from an enlisted infantryman 'S/Sgt David Bellavia, United States Army' about his time in Falluja, Iraq, one of the bloodiest battles since Veitnam. I highly suggest reading this novel. Wonderfully written to get you as close to being there as you can through a book, S/Sgt. Bellavia gives you insight into what our brave men and women go through on a daily basis. Hooah!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book shows those who don't know what is going on in Iraq the truth from a Mechanized Infantry Sqaud Leaders perspective. From the moment I picked it up I could not put it down. It is so raw and gritty it puts you right in the fight. A must read for all Military, Retired, and Civilians. Thanks SSG Bell!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I bought this book the very day it came out. If you're interested in knowing what's going on in Iraq then this is a must read. You'll truely appreciate what these men and women are doing for this country. Brilliantly written with such detail it feels like you're fighting right along side them. Once I started I couldn't put it down.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Do you talk about the Iraq War without truly knowing the facts? Then this book is a must read -- written by a very brave and dedicated infantry soldier, with John Bruning. You won't be the same after you have read it, but you will respect the US armed forces.
BigSix More than 1 year ago
Great book. Staff Sergeant Bellavia's account of fighting in Fallujah is real. The book reads like you're on patrol with him and his men going house to house looking for bad guys.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
hugothebigman More than 1 year ago
House to House is an intense dramatic read. It is incredibly exciting stuff. I couldn’t put it down and read it in one night. 
RoxyBoots More than 1 year ago
War shouldn’t be this much fun to read, but I swear, David Bellavia wrote a thrilling account of his company’s house to house clearance in Fallujah. Best thing I have read all year. 
LatteladyWA More than 1 year ago
This takes you right into the front lines. So well written you can 'smell' the smoke and... the fear. Amazing tale.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
To all my 11B brothers
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This read clearly makes one understand why our men snd women form such a bond with each other during their service . I would never ever have imagined the terror, the horrible things they have endured personally as well as what they absolutely had to do toy survive!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Arthur David Bellavia has written a GREAT book sharing his experiences in Iraq. One of the best books written on the war in Iraq form a solder who's been there. I highly recommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago