×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

How Angel Peterson Got His Name: And Other Outrageous Tales about Extreme Sports
     

How Angel Peterson Got His Name: And Other Outrageous Tales about Extreme Sports

4.3 35
by Gary Paulsen
 

See All Formats & Editions

WHEN YOU GROW up in a small town in the north woods, you have to make your own excitement. High spirits, idiocy, and showing off for the girls inspire Gary Paulsen and his friends to attempt:

• Shooting waterfalls in a barrel

• The first skateboarding

• Breaking the world record for speed on skis by being towed behind a souped-up car, and

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

How Angel Peterson Got His Name: And Other Outrageous Tales about Extreme Sports 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 35 reviews.
tldew More than 1 year ago
Paulsen's books are great! My sons are dyslexic, these books have been such motivation encouragement my youngest has gone from the lower 5% to the upper 97% in reading in just 1 semester, Thanks Gary!
CheeseyBurrito110 More than 1 year ago
The book I have been reading is how Angel Peterson got his name by Gary Paulson. This book was very interesting and it was steered towards younger age group but it contained thing for older audiences as well. This book was about this kid Angel Peterson and a group of his friends that try to break world records, make names for themselves, make money, and be able to get/talk to girls. They tried to break speed records and they tried stunts that other people have already done but they wanted to do better than them at it. They also tried to jump cars with bikes and other stupid stunts. Now I would like to recommend this book to age groups that contain young kids and teenagers because this book in a way connects the two groups together. I found this book interesting because there are boys my age doing a bunch of stupid stuff that I myself probably would have or want to do like I want to jump cars with a mountain bike like they did although it will probably turn out very bad. However I think it would be fun.
Marla Spellman More than 1 year ago
If you are looking for a book about adventure this is good.Its all so good for just reading.Worth it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
How Angel Peterson Got His Name was a great book. This book tells what you could have done in the 1950¿s if you lived in the middle of nowhere. Like go to the Armey Surplus and buy an airplane or a battleship for $300. Or you could just buy clothing with bullet holes in them, or snow skies, or hangliders, and parachutes. And they used the things in the book to break records and to have fun. This book is extremely funny because it¿s based on a true story. This is a great book with action. I think anyone who likes quick books that make you laugh would really enjoy this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I like this book because it was suspenseful. I like this topic because I like how much of a mystery it is,i like the kind of books the leave you wondering what's gonna happen next.Like in chapter 2 how angel attempted his world record stunt but the author resumed it in chapter 3 to see what really happened,so the author left the reader in suspense.Or in chapter 4 when orvis fought that bear for the 25 dollars but he was suspenseful about it to see if he survived but he kept it at the same chapter.This is why I chose this topic sentence. QuentinLCHMS14
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read this book and I think that it os halarious and I also like ot because I do like the auther gary palson. If u like this book u should read his other books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesomeness best book worth reading
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Luvd it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
hockey-girl101 More than 1 year ago
easy read but hard vocabulary
Guest More than 1 year ago
How Angel Peterson Got His Name by Gary Paulsen Extreme and crazy are two words that describe Gary Paulsen and his friends in the book How Angel Peterson Got His Name. There are many insane stunts in this book. In this book Gary and his friends do many stunts including jumping a bike through a hoop of fire, wrestling a bear, breaking the world speed record on skies, and much more. One of the stunts was he wrestles a bear that weighs 800 pounds! If you like extreme then this is a book for you. I recommend this book to mature 12 year olds and up it is very funny, and packed with action, and adventure.
Guest More than 1 year ago
How Angel Peterson Got His Name by Gary Paulsen Think of all the crazy stunts you or someone else you know has done and I bet it doesn¿t compare to the stunts in Gary Paulsen¿s book How Angel Peterson Got His Name. The plot of this story would be to show that kids as young as thirteen are able to have much fun. What would be my favorite part of this book? I would have to say my favorite part of this book would have to be when one of the kids wrestled an 800-pound bear. This, as you find out in the book that it is not easy to wrestle a bear for one minute. The main idea of this story would have to be that you should to have as much fun while you can. How would I say my experience would be when I read this book? This was certainly a good book. This book like most of Gary Paulsen¿s other books had good details and was exciting. Who would I recommend this book to? I would say people who like extreme sports like jumping a hoop of fire, and shooting a waterfall in a barrel, would like this book.