×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

How Hitler Could Have Won World War II: The Fatal Errors That Led To Nazi Defeat
     

How Hitler Could Have Won World War II: The Fatal Errors That Led To Nazi Defeat

4.4 18
by Bevin Alexander
 

See All Formats & Editions

Most of us rally around the glory of the Allies' victory over the Nazis in World War II. The story is often told of how the good fight was won by an astonishing array of manpower and stunning tactics. However, what is often overlooked is how the intersection between Adolf Hitler's influential personality and his military strategy was critical in causing Germany to

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

How Hitler Could Have Won World War II: The Fatal Errors That Led To Nazi Defeat 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 18 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am finishing up Bevin Alexander's How Hitler Could Have Won World War II and I cant put the book down. Great detail on every key battle along with great insight on Hitler's fatal decisions. The author does a good job of showing the reader the flaws with not only Hitler's military decison making but also those of the Allies commanders. Love this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The book how hitler could have won world war two is an excellent piece of history worthy of, well, book history. It tells just how close to tright now I could be speaking German. Very good theme, but at times depressing on pondering if Hitler hadn't made those moronic mistakes!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was fascinating. I found myself shaking my head at how hard it was for Germany to LOSE the war after conquering France in 1940. Just shows that Hitler was as bad a military strategist as he was good a politician. Some of the decisions made by him were so blatently bad you wonder if there were some other forces at work. Highly recommended for both historians and military strategists. Very readable.
Anonymous 11 months ago
Great book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of my favorite books I have ever read,it is a must read for any military history buff.
K-E_Moore More than 1 year ago
It's chilling to realize how easily Hitler might have won the Second World War. Although having access to less industry, manpower, and natural resources than his principle opponents (England, USSR, and United States), the amount of military talent that Hitler had at his command was staggering. From the father of blitzkrieg Heinz Guderian to the unpredictable genius of Erwin Rommel, a Hitler that let the military talent at his disposal win the war for him could have ended the 1940s in possession of France, controlling (formerly) British North Africa, siphoning the oil wells of Persia, and holding a dagger to the underbelly of the Soviet Union, a hostage for resources and a free hand... if he didn't decide to simply take the oil and wheat that the Soviet Union so desperately needed. Bevin Alexander does a superb job outlining the dozen or so points at which Hitler, offered victory on a silver platter by his forward-thinking military men, spurned the dish and pressed forward into the disaster that befell him. What, Alexander asks, may have been the result of bagging the British Expeditionary Force instead of letting it go at Dunkirk? Allowing Goering to continue to level sector command centers, crippling Fighter Command at a critical hour? Captured Malta instead of Crete? Gave Rommel his full support and let him close the Suez Canal and squat atop the Persian oil wells, threatening Britain's reinforcement line to North Africa and her most beloved colony, India, in one fell swoop? What if Hitler had settled on one strategic objective in Barbarossa (instead of three) or held back his ideology-driven killers from murdering peasants who loathed Stalin? Allowed Manstein to relieve Paulus at Stalingrad? His generals to lure the Red Army into tactical death traps instead of demanding that they stand and fight? With an unsparing eye, and the caveat that he in no way wishes that Hitler had taken the route to victory, Alexander presents a well-researched study into the way that the man who made the German Army capable of fighting World War II made it impossible for Germany to win. This highly original proposition is sure to encourage many a conversation among minor and major historians alike into one of the most well-known modern war.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
When most people think of WWII they think of the allies' victory with there astonishing man power and there brilliant tactics. What many people don¿t see is that Adolf Hitler made key mistakes that lead to his own demise. This book shows readers just how close we where to losing the war and what Hitler could have done differently to change to outcome. The Author Bevin Alexander asks the question ¿what if¿ and goes behind the strategy of the Nazi empire to point out major mistakes and what they should have done. He asks questions like: why in 1940 did the German panzers stop there advance and let the British to regroup and retreat at Dunkirk? I enjoyed reading this book because it took a new look on WWII and how it could have turned out. The book contains vivid maps that the reader can look to for major battle locations and get a feel for what the landscape was like. I thought that in some parts of the book did drag along and made it hard to read. I would highly recommend this book to anyone that likes WWII stories, and to anyone who wants to learn more on the Nazi¿s attempt to take over the world.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is recommened to anyone who is interested in history or warfare. This book tells how close the fascist dictator came to winning WWII. It can be very disturbing at times on account of how close we came to losing. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
i have read this book about three times and each time i come across something that i missed and it was all really interesting and makes you think what if hitler would have actually won the war.