×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

How I Play Golf
  • Alternative view 1 of How I Play Golf
  • Alternative view 2 of How I Play Golf
     

How I Play Golf

4.2 25
by Tiger Woods
 

See All Formats & Editions

Since turning pro after a short stint at Stanford University, no one athlete has dominated their sport as Tiger Woods has dominated the world of golf. His list of achievements and championships would fill pages.

But how does he do it? In HOW I PLAY GOLF, through fabulous color photos, slow-motion photography, and plenty of text, Tiger talks about his

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

How I Play Golf 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 25 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book. Especially he mental part of the golf game. Really helped my grip and shortgame.
Jchang More than 1 year ago
I want to say that I think this is the best instructional golf book out there. I have read everything from Jack's book to Hogan's 5 lessons. I think it is very well written and you can even see Tiger's humor through the writing. I want to warn all golfer's that they should NOT try to follow everything in this book. I have somewhat ruined my game trying to swing like tiger. My advice: remember the things in your golf swing that feel good and have worked for you. Write them down. They are yours and nothing should ever make them go away. As far as everything else about your game/swing that you don't like; that's what this book is for :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
In this book, Tiger Woods tells us how to get better at the game of golf. He does this by revealing many different factors that can influence somebody's golf game, such as diet, mental strength, exercise habits, and swing thoughts. The major message of this book is that through hard work and dedication, anyone can be a good golfer. The best thing about this book is that Tiger not only reveals various factors that can affect someone's golf game, but he also teaches us how to embrace these factors and how to use them to our advantage. The only negative comment I have is that, at times, Tiger failed to address the high skilled players. It seemed like some of the book was intended just for beginning players, which is understandable, but there were times in which a skilled player would be looking for more insight on the topic being discussed. If someone legitimately wants to get better at the game of golf, they should read this book. It contains vital information that can help a dedicated player in ways he or she never would have imagined. However, someone who has no interest in playing golf should not read this book because it is an instructional book on how to play the game of golf; they would not get anything out of it. If you liked this book, I would recommend watching the golf channel because it has many different shows regarding many different aspects of the game of golf. My overall rating for the book would be five out of five stars because I am an avid golfer, and learning how to get better is something I will always jump on. I also enjoyed it because it was written in a tone that kept it very interesting; by using personal stories to describe certain concepts, Tiger kept my attention throughout the duration of the book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A well illustrated golf technique book. Appears geared to somewhat experienced golfers. Best advice is 'find out what works for you'. Most of the basics are covered, but lacks some needed advice for beginners - keep your head still and your left arm straight. Appears to be illustrations missing on page 30 if format is to be consistent. Uncomplicated text and quickly readable.
Guest More than 1 year ago
My husband and I took up golf a couple of years ago for fun, and to introduce our eight year old son to a sport we could all play together. My son is now plays in tournaments each week. The problem is he never listens to any advice I give him! Obviously I am no Earl Woods but now I have Tiger by my side! My son can read the book, look at the photos and see exactly what he should be doing. The book is easy to read and contains precise instructions. The photos are superb and guide the reader through every step of the swing. Tiger's thoughts about the game are inspiring and insightful. I also recommend you read 'Open Your Mind, Open Your Life: A Little Book of Eastern Wisdom' by Taro Gold, which contains many great quotations and inspiring messages based on the Buddhist teachings that Tiger practices.
Guest More than 1 year ago
It is an exceptional work. The awe-inspire sportsperson unveils the secrets with such an easy going demeanour. I started reading it last Friday at 7p.m. Couldn't just put it down thereafter. Went thru three fourths of the book in the first sitting itself. Golf - its physical aspects , the technical nuances and some thing that's gaining foreground - the mental resilience all are put forth lucidly . Above all they seem so easy to emulate.A must read for amateurs in golf and may be other sports too.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am a 14 year old kid with a 9 handicap. i know people say i should not have read this book because it would screw up my tournament play but i read it any way and two weeks later came in 2nd at a local tournament of guys 4 times older than i am. Thats just one example, frankly i think older fellows get jealous of Tiger because he gets the attention from kids instead of them, but thats me. This is a great book i think every one in the world even if they dont play golf should own a copy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Being a Tiger Fan, I have to say I really liked this book. It really has good photos on Tiger. Some of the technique is good if you are very flexible and agile like Tiger. If you aren't as flexible or agile like Tiger I recommend 'The Ultimate Golf Instruction Guide: Key Techniques for Becoming a Zero Handicap Golfer or Better' (ISBN;1933023090). The Ultimate Golf Instruction Guide has golf instruction like no other golf technique book. It helped me to score really low in golf. I'm now a 2 handicap. Tiger's book helped me with the short game and how to out think other golfers who I play against.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have 6 handicap and I am trying to be a scratch player. I need to practice hard to reach that goal. Sometimes I wonder about my swing mech. So, I record my swing with my miniDV and review with this book. We all know we can't swing exactly like tiger but could copy, learn and adapt some good points. Price at B & N is very good and I like the pictures and easy going story. I give 5 stars to this book. Nice Gift Item
Guest More than 1 year ago
Tiger's description of both grip and stance helped me greatly. I'm not even finished with the book and my golf game has already improved not to mention my mental game. I highly recommend this to anyone who wants a wise insight on playing golf.
Guest More than 1 year ago
GOLF is Games Of Life [F]Philosophy. And Woods show it to us ! Its a good book to read & learnt from, no matter you're begginer or whoever trying to be pro's.
Guest More than 1 year ago
It really helps my game
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ohhhhhh i know now! And by the way u are! Like really obsessed! Its ok though x)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Test
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hi im sandpaw the med cat apprentice. Whos the med cat?
Guest More than 1 year ago
Some good pointers, but nothing original in this book. Tiger's name will sell it if anything, but golf isn't rocket science. It's all about practice, no matter what Tiger says.
Guest More than 1 year ago
You sense that after reading this he spends as much time stroking his ego than getting down to instructional golf. Dont get me wrong...I think he is a joy to watch and there are some very good pointers that novice players will find interesting.

It's written in a simple-to-understand mode with plenty of photos and graphics to get most of the points that he is trying to make. But then he throws in some really odd items like: A sample series of photos for a golf magazine layout of his drive to show us that he swings so fast that the camera misses the crucial hit of the ball. Ummm, Tiger...we dont care. We'll never be able to swing that hard or fast, and nor should we even attempt it. (Just a sample of self-stroking.) There are another set of shots of him during 3 different periods in his career, all taking the same facing-the-camera-swing. He wants us to see the difference over the years. Know what, I couldnt see it. Why not point them out with a simple circle drawn over the changes so we can ALL see what you're talking about? Ok, so I get irked easily.

In fairness this is an excellent read if you want to know what goes on in Tiger's head while he is playing his game. A section on the psychology of golf competition was very good. There are some basics in here that everyone should be familiar with, but as an instructional book its not that good, and those under +18 should not buy it for that purpose.