×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

How to Be a Proper Lady (Falcon Club Series #2)
     

How to Be a Proper Lady (Falcon Club Series #2)

4.3 29
by Katharine Ashe
 

See All Formats & Editions

“Katharine Ashe writes with eloquence and power.”
—Lisa Kleypas

“You’ll be swept away by Katharine Ashe’s evocative writing.”
—Sabrina Jeffries

Following her sensational debut novel, Swept Away by a Kiss, author Katharine Ashe was named one of the “New Stars of Historical Romance” by the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

How to Be a Proper Lady 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 29 reviews.
SailorGirl10 More than 1 year ago
I have really enjoyed Katharine Ashe's previous novels, but this one is the yummiest yet. I love the high seas setting, seeing a woman run her own ship - very differently from most captains, and how she and her presumed "rescuer" match wits. Plenty of steaminess, but to me that's not enough for a great read. Ashe has great plot, historical intrigue, and really fascinating characters to boot! Snap it up - great summer read.
Sam1219 More than 1 year ago
After being kidnapped by her father at the age of 9, Viola Carlyle became a notorious privateeer working the waters off the North American coastline. Seeking to return a lifelong debt to his friend, the Earl of Savege for rescuing him from slavery, Captain Jinan Seton hunts down Viola, the Earl's long lost sister-in-law. Through the weeks it takes for Jin to convince Viola to return to England with him, Jin and Viola discover an undeniable attraction to each other. But will Viola decide to return to her English family and become the lady she could have been, or will she decide to remain with the sea-faring family aboard ship she has gathered around her among the years? What about the feelings she and Jin have for each other? Can two hardened sea captains soften their hearts enough to allow love to grow between them? The character development in this book is phenomenal. Both Viola and Jinan are complex, well-rounded and compelling figures. Their stories drew me in and kept me rapt from start to finish. The pain and struggle Jinan and Viola both go through in their early childhood makes them uniquely well suited to each other, and Ashe does an excellent job of bringing both to life. This novel has plenty of action and witty banter as well to keep the plot moving along at a quick clip. Anyone who likes historical fiction will love this book.
red669 More than 1 year ago
I loved the whole Falcon Club series and I would definately recommend the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very different angle to historic romance. Beg to differ with review saying this was unrealistic. Jin is a strong character but conflicted with his past until he meets his equal in Viola and they fall in love. Am anxious to read other novels in this seris and Rogues of the Sea. LORRAINE
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great romantic story with a different twist.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sflakes01 More than 1 year ago
Jin is even more complicated than Leam in book 1!...another great read for this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of my favorites but you should read "Rogue of the Sea" series first.  It's not necessary but this book continues some of the same characters.
AustenStudent More than 1 year ago
I was a little disappointed in this story. I didn't really care for Viola/Violet, preferring Jin, the hero. The first half of the book was much better than the latter half, which I though dragged a bit. But the writing was lovely as always. The story just didn't grab me as much as the first book in the Falcon Club series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this historical romance! The hero and heroine are so perfect for eachother, and they're beautiful & funny, too***
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Katharine Ashe writes with a deft assurance and always with interesting knowledge of the period. Her characters embody heroism, but with healthy doses of cynism and humor. Always a pleasure.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Like this author and the series is good. This isn't my favorite of three series but worth the read. I found i it a little so getting started but keep reading it gets better.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Maybe not historically proper for a young lady, but I liked the character heroine and her love.
NavyWave62 More than 1 year ago
Give it 3.5 stars. The romance was good, but I thought the story was boring in parts. Not as good as Falcon Club 1. Liked how the character's in book 1 made it to this book. Loved the secondary character's too. Still a good read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
streetmouse More than 1 year ago
Loved it! I really like how Katharine Ashe manages to get a big, sweeping, swashbuckling pirate story, and a traditional Regency story in the same book. Amazing, hot, and lots of fun.