×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

How to Be Popular
     

How to Be Popular

4.3 216
by Meg Cabot
 

See All Formats & Editions

Do you want to be popular?

Everyone wants to be popular—or at least, Stephanie Landry does. Steph's been the least popular girl in her class since a certain cherry Super Big Gulp catastrophe five years earlier.

Does being popular matter?

It matters a lot—to Steph. That's why this year, she has a plan to get in with the It Crowd in no time flat.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

How to Be Popular 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 216 reviews.
bookworm_1980s More than 1 year ago
If you love Cabot's books, you may or may not like this. It's her usual style, and, for me, it's getting to be too predictable. It's always a girl in love with one person or another but by the end of the book she's realized her true love. Sure the story was great, and I really loved the message, but the characters get a bit boring when they don't really seem to change much. Don't get me wrong. She's a great author, and all her books have a message, but I just get bored with the same basic plot. Yes she mixes it up a bit, and yes it's not the same cookie cutter version of a girl. The girls themselves are real, at least to me, but sometimes the situaion is not always. It's a great book. But if you read a lot of Cabot, then you may not enjoy it. I read this in five hours. That made it fun for me. This, even though typical Cabot, has to be one of my favourite books by her. Yes I've said some negative things, but it's still a good book. I enjoyed it.
Piano More than 1 year ago
I'm 27 years old and I literally waited till my fiance went to bed so I can stay up all night and read this. I finished it so quick. Every woman should have this book hidden in a spot where no one can find it. I felt like I found someone's diary with secrets to popularity and that's just it! I did find the secrets to popularity. And even if you're not in school, it will still help in any job, with friends or anywhere there's people. It's filled with leadership tips and the fact that it's all wrapped up in a story, illustrates by example every popularity tip there is so it's easy to understand. This is my first book by Meg Cabot, and now I'm hooked.
Book-Worm_x3 More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. It was easy for me to relate to a girl who wanted to be popular, and was willing to follow a book to become it. It wasn't a 5 star read for me, but it was definitely a worthwhile one. I found myself reading it maybe two more times after I first finished it, just to "relive" the story in my head and actually read parts that I only skimmed over. I fell in love with all the characters. They made me laugh a lot! A humorous, worthwhile book.
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
If you've ever heard the phrase "Way to pull a Steph Landry!," you wouldn't be alone. Pretty much everyone who attends Bloomville High in the heart of Greene County, Indiana, knows who Steph Landry is. Or, they at least know better than to ever, ever, ever do something that would have someone uttering the aforementioned phrase. Even kids under the age of five know what it means to "pull a Steph Landry." In that they know it means instant social doom.

So what did this girl do, you ask? Shoot someone? Rob a store? Dump the Homecoming Queen into a lake, lock the quarterback in a dungeon, lob a hand grenade into the general store? No, what Steph Landy did was much, much worse. She accidentally spilled a Big Red Super Big Gulp on Lauren Moffat's white D&G skirt. And even though they had been kind of friends up until that incident in sixth grade, and even though her father tried to remove the stain from Lauren's skirt, and even though her mother ended up buying her a new one, and even though Steph herself apologized for the incident like ten zillion times, Lauren Moffat has been making Steph pay for her mistake ever since.

They're all juniors in high school now--Steph and her best friends Jason and Becca, Lauren and her posse of popular girls and guys, most noticeably her football quarterback boyfriend, Mark Finley. Nearly five years after that accidental dousing in the middle school cafeteria, and Steph is still living down the horror of being a social outcast.

That's all about to change, though. At least if she has anything to say about it. Now that Jason's grandmother is marrying her own widowed grandfather, they've been spending a lot of time at Jason's house. It's during one of those times that Steph finds the book; the one that will shoot her to the top of the popularity totem pole, the one that will exile the social pariah Steph once and for all, and turn her into mega-popular, wonderful, everyone loves her Steph.

Kind of. Maybe. If she plays her cards right. Or she just might end up getting what she wants (popularity), and losing everything she's ever held dear (most noticeably, Jason).

With HOW TO BE POPULAR, Meg Cabot has taken the typical high school teen angst and mixed it up with an all-too-believable situation to create a wonderful, fast-paced read. I'd recommend this book to all fans of Ms. Cabot, all fans of contemporary stories, all fans of young adult literature, period. This is another winner from the queen of teen fiction. Trust me. Pick up a copy of HOW TO BE POPULAR, and you won't be disappointed.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. After i got into it i couldn't put it down! I may have been thick , but it was worth the time. Any teenage girl could relate to this book. we've all fell for guys that are phonys and friends. It doesn't matter who reads this book 7th-12th you will enjoy this book. I know we've all fell for our best friends.....its happened to me multiply times. in this book i knew i must stay true to myself..... i am guilty of trying to change this year. but after reading this book im going to stay true to me!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
OMG!!!I read this the day i got it..i started at like,11pm,then finished at 4:30 in the morning!!!It's super addicting.i never wanted to put the book down!It had a bit of humor in it.i loved it.i actually think i might read the 3rd time right now.lol.
cheer_girl101 More than 1 year ago
This is the best book ever. It gave me great advice and it was very entertaining. I recommend it to every girl.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book so much. Meg Cabot is such a great author. I love most all of her books. I couldn't put this book down for a second without picking it back up. I recommend this book to anyone who likes high school romance and friendship adventures.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good book! Another great book by meg cabot. Being popular might be your main thing you have to worry about, but i never worry about it. I'm this shy kid, but then i was this popular who was nice and get good grade. I'm love the book, I read this book for fun. Popular tips in this book is great.
Books4Tomorrow More than 1 year ago
I think this is a great book for every person to read, no matter what your age. The story is focused on Stephanie Landry wanting to be part of the popular crowd mainly because she’s in love with quarterback Mark Finley, the most popular student at Steph’s school. It doesn’t take long for Steph, an ordinary girl, to take matters into her hands and with the help of a book on how to be popular which she got in a box of old books from her best friend Jason’s grandmother, and some money she borrowed from her grandfather, to gain enough self-confidence to take on the popular crowd at school and become one of them. Although the story centers on how to become a popular person, the message isn’t exactly that. In Steph’s quest to win Mark’s attention and fit into his crowd, although she’s hated by his girlfriend, Lauren, Steph learns a few valuable lessons. Following the advice from The Book she learns that being popular is all about having self-confidence, making people around you feel like they’re the most important person to you, the value of a genuine smile, and the importance of true friends. All the lessons she learns from The Book are ones we can apply in our daily lives, whether we want to be popular or not. Actually, it has nothing to do with popularity, but simply being the best person you can be, for yourself and to others. The most important lesson Stephanie learns at the end of the story is one The Book didn’t teach her but which experience did - that being popular isn’t all it’s cut out to be.  I enjoyed the characters and their background stories, and I liked that each of them came from such interesting, somewhat dysfunctional families. Mean girl, Lauren, is rather stereotypical of mean girls portrayed in other YA books and movies, but the rest of the characters were all authentic with quirky, endearing traits. There’s really nothing new to this story than what I’ve read before, but still I enjoyed it for the positive message it sends to young girls without being too in your face about it. Lots of laughs throughout the book and an ending that leaves you smiling gets this book an easy five stars. 
sheila bender More than 1 year ago
I absolurly love this book. It was soooooo amazing! I recommend it to girls who love romance and humor and suspensful twists. Ages 11 an up had some teen content
Natalie Pretelt More than 1 year ago
When i saw this book i thought " ooooh a meg cabot book must be good" but it was way more then good it was AMAZING!!!!
Anonymous 6 months ago
Hello. My name is Jade and I'm an expert on all things popular. Just ask me on this book, and you will see an awesome answer within 24 hours! I wrote a book on school stuff like how to be popular, guy stuff, fashion, etc.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Okay thats just weird.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is sad and it is not
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was an amazing book. I finished it in less than a day! I've even reread sometimes. While it may be predictable it still is an interesting and enjoyable book. With lots of humor in it. And most girls are able to relate to the main character which is awesome. I think this may be my favorite book by Meg Cabot, beating The Princess Diaries.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am 12 and going into middle school and i bought the book and i dont read all the books i buy i know sad but i read 99.9% of my books. Plez reply and can it help me in real life
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What grade are you in? Don't you know how to underline a book? Example: __________________ that is how you underline
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Such a good book. Definitely a little predictale, but entertaining nonelrss. Well written. Definitey recommnd tp any teen girl or weird adult. Enjoy!! :)))
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. It had a great story and it was funny. The beginning is slightly boring to me, but that's just my opinion. It did get a lot better though. I would definitely recommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of my favorite books is how to be popular