×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

How to Cook Everything: 2,000 Simple Recipes for Great Food (Completely Revised 10th Anniversary Edition)
  • Alternative view 1 of How to Cook Everything: 2,000 Simple Recipes for Great Food (Completely Revised 10th Anniversary Edition)
  • Alternative view 2 of How to Cook Everything: 2,000 Simple Recipes for Great Food (Completely Revised 10th Anniversary Edition)
  • Alternative view 3 of How to Cook Everything: 2,000 Simple Recipes for Great Food (Completely Revised 10th Anniversary Edition)
  • Alternative view 4 of How to Cook Everything: 2,000 Simple Recipes for Great Food (Completely Revised 10th Anniversary Edition)
<Previous >Next
     

How to Cook Everything: 2,000 Simple Recipes for Great Food (Completely Revised 10th Anniversary Edition)

3.2 95
by Mark Bittman
 

See All Formats & Editions


Today's Favorite Kitchen Companion—Revised and Better Than Ever

Mark Bittman's award-winning How to Cook Everything has helped countless home cooks discover the rewards of simple cooking. Now the ultimate cookbook has been revised and expanded (almost half the material is new), making it absolutely indispensable for anyone who cooks—or

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

How to Cook Everything 2,000 Simple Recipes for Great Food Completely Revised 10th Anniversary Edition) 3.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 95 reviews.
Frisbeesage More than 1 year ago
With 2,000 recipes packed onto over 1,000 pages this is a very dense and serious cookbook. No color photographs or pictures of the author to catch your eye and the recipes are packed in one after the other. Initially I had a hard time reading this cookbook and processing so much information. Then I found the lists in the back: "My Top 100 Fast Recipes" was my favorite. These lists provide a nice way to take the book in bite-sized chunks. The recipies I've tried:
Real Popcorn - My mom used to make popcorn like this (on the stove) and I had forgotten it. It is a fast and easy way to make more flavorful popcorn.
Poached Pears in red wine - holy cow these were good! Very elegant, easy to do, and light and healthy for when you mght be maxed out on rich, heavy desserts. This is a recipe I will make over and over.
Cranberry Relish with Orange and Ginger - Fresher tasting then cooked cranberry sauce and I loved the addition of ginger. This was a big hit at Thanksgiving.
Braised Potatoes with Kielbasa, Cheddar, and Beer - very tasty, one pot meal. The beer gave the whole dish a nice flavor. This is perfect comfort food for a COlorado winter!
Peanut Brittle - my only loser so far from this collection. It was such a complete failure that I think being at high altitude was the problem.

Overall a very complete collection! There are still many recipes I would like to try and I know many of the illustrations will come in handy in the future (how to clean squid, roll sushi, bone a chicken...). This cookbook would be a great gift for an avid cook.
QueenBeeSC More than 1 year ago
I got this cookbook as a gift and it has become my go to reference book. This cookbook gives information on everything related to cooking - from must have kitchen tools to cooking techniques. In addition to thousands of recipes, the cookbook provides detailed information in each chapter on choosing and preparing herbs, vegetables and meats. I particularly like the how there are basic recipes with alternate ingredient suggestions. It's always easy to find something to cook because the recipes use basic ingredients that are usually in your pantry.
babaPD More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book, but many of the good recipes from the original cookbook were missing. The "original" cookbook that they were now toting as the original was about 1/3 of this book. I no longer have the original cookbook so I was hoping this cookbook would have some of the recipes I no longer had, but it didn't -- like the bread. His cookbook, however, is very good and simple and the recipes are tasty. I would recommend it to anyone; I am 66 and my daughters are in their 30's and we all refer to the recipes in it and have for years.
dkWA More than 1 year ago
Mark Bittman's How to Cook Everything has been my "go to" book for some time now. It's especially good for inspiration for good weeknight dinners. He's the "Minimalist Cook", so his philosophy is to create the best taste with the least amount of fuss. I love to cook, but there are times when I don't want to make a big project of it. That's when I turn to this book. His recipes are so approachable; you read them and think, "I could do that!" And they are GOOD! My husband didn't think he liked hummus until I made Mark's flavorful version. It's so quick and easy with a food processor! Other recent favorites have been Arroz con Pollo (Chicken with Rice--good enough for company), Roast Chicken Parts, Lentil Soup, and Roasted Carrots with Cumin. (The carrots were actually amazing, and so simple to do!) This week I tried his Shrimp Scampi; it was the easiest, and the tastiest, version I have ever made. If you like to eat well, but don't want complicated recipes, I think you will enjoy this cookbook.
littlelamm More than 1 year ago
I read this book cover to cover and loved that it introduces the variations to the recipes. If it can teach my old roommate to cook for a dinner party of ten, it can help anyone. Even without photos, it is very informative and goes through the basics that starter home chefs need to know and gives old dogs some new tricks.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Many of these recipes have appeared in the New York Times food section, or on the author's "Bitten" blog on nytimes.com. There are a lot of decent recipes in here (cooking various grains, meats, vegetables, etc.), but the book overall suffers from the way the pages are laid out. Frequently, recipes will be partially printed on both sides of a page, which makes using the tome as a cook book interesting at times. Chapters are ordered in a strange manner, too (apple pie will be at the start of the chapter, but the pie crust at the end of the chapter). Be prepared to flip around a lot. There are a few illustrations here and there in this massive (it's 1000+ pages all together), but no photos. Sometimes, more illustrations/photos would have been nice, especially with the less-familiar cooking methods/ingredients. If you live outside of a very large city, some of the ingredients called for will be tricky to find unless you buy online. This is particularly true of most of the Asian cuisine and specialty vegetables. This book is a good general cookbook, but for specific things (like say, breads and baking), you might be better off with specialty books. I'm not sure the audience for this book--many of the recipes are written to imply advanced cooking techniques and equipment, but Bittman seems to be aiming for a populist audience. It's a good reference and source of information.
LUVtoCOOK More than 1 year ago
Grew up with a mother who NEVER cooked. Needless to say, I never learned family recipes or how to cook from my mother; I learned in my adulthood. This cookbook -- HOW TO COOK EVERYTHING -- has been a godsend with the overall description of anything and everything you would need to know in order to cook anything in your kitchen. My suggestion; BUY IT!! Easy to understand recipes and basics throughout. EVERYTHING I have EVER attempted to cook or bake from this cookbook has turned out exact.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book has so much wrong with it I don't know where to start. Many recipes are just wrong! Try the free sample before you buy! Or borrow from your local library first! This guy has no clue.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Firstly the title is true! I have had this book since it was first published 15 or so years ago. It is still my favorite and few meals go by without consulting it. Yes, it is filled with all kinds of recipes, but somehow Bittman is able to show how to take whatever ingredients you have and always end up with a great dish. The emphasis in the title is HOW TO COOK-believe it! I have given this book to several brides, knowing they will have a book they can rely on basically forever.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a good starting point if you don't know much about cooking or need to relearn the basics. I find that after all these years I have started to the same dishes all the time. This is helping learn new techniques and ideas for menus.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If I had to limit myself to one cookbook, this would be it. Bittman really does have excellent recipes for almost everything one will actually cook, including variations of dishes that change flavor but not technique. His Best Food in the World is my second favorite.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
After several failed attempts at learning to cook, this was the cookbook that finally helped me through the process. It doesn't assume you know the basics, or that you have a kitchen full of standard ingredients, or that you're interested in going grocery shopping every time you want to try a new recipe. Instead, it goes through techniques, tells you what seasonings and staples you should have on hand, and offers multiple variations on recipes to allow for flexibility. Unlike a lot of other beginning cookbooks, it also offers some inspiration for a beginning cook. Although the size of the book is intimidating, paging through reveals how the simple, basic recipe cooked for dinner one night can later become a complex, modern, stylish dish that could be served to friends. Throughout, the book focuses on fresh ingredients and healthy eating, without being too strident about things overly snobby about reasonable shortcuts like frozen vegetables. I found it to be a refreshing take on the genre, and it's still the cookbook I use most frequently.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago